We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolffanog Fawr

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tal-y-llyn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dolffanog Fawr
Tal-y-llyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Tal-y-llyn
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

By sheer chance we have found a little gem of a B&B in Dolffanog Fawr. We were blown away by the quality of the room and food. Alex & Lorraines attention to detail makes this B&B a must to revisit. There was not one thing that we could find fault with. The location is to die for too.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
67
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ashill,Norfolk.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

We have stayed at Dolffanog Faw many times. The rating has never been anything other than five star. This is the place to relax and enjoy your holiday. Nothing is too much trouble for Alex and Lorraine.

Mountains and a fab. coast are there to be discovered.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

This was the 2nd time we have stayed at this b&b (having previously tried the place next door). Very good indeed! Alex and Lorraine are good hosts, and sitting at a big table makes for convivial company. So why only **** for value? Well, Alex runs a decent wine list but, despite what he writes, the prices are much the same as all other establishments, i.e. OTT.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harryhaslem, Owner at Dolffanog Fawr, responded to this review, October 26, 2010
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

4 nights of bliss. Alex and Lorraine have really found a magical formula. Great hosts, beautiful location (you could spend a week and not go further than 5 miles and not be bored). The cleanliness and quality of the rooms is as good as any 4 * hotel we have stayed in. A must - is the evening meals, truely superb. Lorraine is an excellent cook and the choice of wines fabulous. The farmhouse table communial dining really works - a great chance to share stories of days walks and get tips from each other for the next day. definitely going back.
Gary and Theresa

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

This place is wonderful to unwind from the rush and stress of the modern world. We have stayed here several times. Dolffanog Fawr is in the Snowdinia National Park situated just under the secon highest mountain, wonderful walking country with fishing near by and many of local attractions to pass time. Lorraine and Alex are really good hosts with a fantastic home cooked menu and a wonderful wine cellar. We always leave feeling fully rested and know that on our return we will get a wonderful warm welcome for both us and our dog Sandy.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

We stayed for three nights and found Alex and Lorraine to be the warmest of hosts.

The quality of the rooms has to be seen to be believed. Our bedroom and bathroom was expansive, clean, luxurious and modern, and put many 4* hotels to shame.

The breakfasts were beautifully served , tasted fantastic, and the cooked food was served on plates that were sizzlingly hot - a critical fact in a breakfast that so many places overlook.

Alex has a fantastic collection of maps and guidebooks to borrow, and is a mine of useful information.

Our one comment was that all meals are eaten with all guests at one long dining table, and whilst this may appeal to some, it was not our choice. But that comment is minor!

Overall the establishment is simply superb and high quality and excceeds expectations. We would not hesitate in recommending it.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyr Ysgol
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

I have stayed at Dolffanog Fawer many times under varying circumstances and have found Alex and lorraine to be the perfect hosts .The Food is great, and I know that they source the ingredients for the meals locally where possible ,they will also go out of their way to cater for your Individual needs. The Tal-y-Llyn valley is out of this world and Cader Idris is one of the most spectacular Mountains in the Snowdonia National park.There is also a great variety of countryside activities available in the area fishing, walking ,Nature watching,Mountain biking etc ,or you could just go to the beach! Dolffanog Fawer is great you will love it and you will keep going back for more!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dolffanog Fawr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolffanog Fawr

Address: Tal-y-llyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Tal-y-llyn
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Tal-y-llyn
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the stunning Tal-y-llyn valley - one of the most beautiful spots in Wales. With the slopes of Cader Idris virtually rising from the back garden to the north and the less explored Tarren hills to the south, the house also enjoys excellent views across sheep pasture to Tal-y-llyn lake. We welcome you to our warm and comfortable home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dolffanog Fawr Tal-y-Llyn, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolffanog Fawr, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dolffanog Fawr to your Saves list