We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for a flying visit” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Park House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Park House Hotel to your Saves list
Park House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Park Street, Shifnal TF11 9BA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Shifnal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Blackpool
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Ok for a flying visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I stayed here for one night before a business appointment at nearby Weston Park. The hotel is in a beautiful house close to the centre of Shifnal. There is a large car park, a restaurant and bar (open to the public) and a large number of rooms in the main house and in cottages around the building. Amazingly, it was very quiet (maybe less than a dozen guests) and staff outnumbered diners on the Sunday night I was there. Limited expectations may account for the number of items that were not available on the bar menu. However, my room was ok, food was more than acceptable (apart from stale coffee in room - redeemed by home made biscuits) and it looks like a good base if you wanted or needed to spend time in Shifnal or Telford.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heritageproperties, Manager at Park House Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review further to your recent visit to the hotel.

Thank you for all your positive comments; I am sorry to see that the menu selection was slightly liimted and I will personally look into this to ensure it is not repeated.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Park House Hotel in the not too distant future.

Regards

Richard Jones - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    91
    45
    22
    15
See reviews for
47
102
9
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Choppington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights, the staff were wonderful, the rooms were clean and comfortable, requested a cot for the room and one was brought straight away and assembled, really nice stay and the wedding went really well, food add breakfast was really good would stay again if in the area

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heritageproperties, Manager at Park House Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for all your kind comments relating to your recent visit to the Park House Hotel.

I hope the wedding was a day to remember and please be assured I will pass on all your kind comments to the team.

I hope you visit us again when you are next in Shropshire.

Regards

Richard Jones - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

the staff couldnt do more for me the food was exceptional, the service next to none one complaint would be the brekfast it did let the most enjoyable stay down (no eggs on a brekfast when we stated what we wanted) we had eaten the meal before they arrived! also the biggest let down was the leisure facilitys they really need updating the steam room didnt even work and the jacuzzi seemed on its way out!! the deals they have on offer on certain package websites are brilliant!!

Room Tip: room 3 is lovely!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I stay in the Park House quite regularly when on business in Telford, hotels and nightlife in general is not good in Telford, Shifnal is a nice town and only 15 minutes from Telford. The Park House rooms are of a good standard and comfortable. I often have dinner in the Bar and find the food good. Breakfast is of a good standard, a buffet of cereals and pastries is available with table service for a cooked breakfast. Service has in the main been okay, I was over charged on one occasion for my stay and my emails were not replied to, I had to call up to sort it out, however this was a one off when I have stayed here at least a dozen times.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My Husband and I stayed at the Park House Hotel to meet up with friends. We took advantage of the £99, (B,B and EM) deal which was fantastic value. We booked in and were told we were in the cottages. They were beautifully clean and tidy and extremely comfortable. We sat in the gardens whilst waiting for our friends, and the atmosphere was extremely good. We were booked in for dinner at 8pm and this was excellent. The service and food was first class. The following morning we went for breakfast, and again the staff and the food were brilliant.
We would definately stay again and would have no hesitation in recommending this beautiful hotel to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Me and my husband got married on Sunday 25th August and had the Park house hotel as our venue for the wedding breakfast and evening party. The rooms and gardens were beautiful. Everything ran smoothly and the staff were very helpful. The wedding breakfast was delicious, we had 3 choices for our meal and everybody said how nice it was. After the meal and speeches, the staff quickly altered the room for the evening party and the room looked brilliant! Overall we had such an amazing day!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We're having our wedding reception here next December so I took my parents for a little look around. The hotel is beautiful, very grand looking. This is what we fell in love with about the Park House. The group day are very clean and tidy with old plenty of parking spaces for guests and visitors. After having a look around the hotel and suites we decided to stay for afternoon tea. The charge is £9.95 per serving and for that you get a selection of sandwiches, cakes and desserts as well as tea or coffee. As I am a vegetarian I asked about the sandwiches and they made sure that there was a good choice for me. When the food arrived it was beautifully presented and very fresh. I asked about the ingredients in one of the desserts and the staff could not do enough to help. As the dessert I was asking about contained gelatine the chef prepared me a vegetarian alternative without even being g asked! Excellent customer service! As the staff knew I was holding my wedding reception here, they were keen to know about our plans and happily chatted to us for a while. Its felt really nice that they were taking an interest. After tasting the food and seeing the excellent customer service, I can't wait for December 2014. I know that they're going to pull out all the stops to make our day extra special.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Park House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park House Hotel

Address: Park Street, Shifnal TF11 9BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shifnal
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Shifnal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Park House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Park House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Shifnal
Park House Hotel Shifnal, Shropshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.