We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic - am already booked up for two weekends next year!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anvil Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Anvil Lodge to your Saves list
Anvil Lodge
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   22 Aston Road, Shifnal TF11 8DU, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Shifnal B&B and Inns
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic - am already booked up for two weekends next year!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

I recently stayed at the Anvil Lodge on a business trip with my colleague, and we fancied something different to the usual Premier Inn - and this was such a fantastic little gem of a B+B that we are booking up two weekends with Mick and Judy next year! The rooms were spacious, modern and spotless, with lovely big fluffy towels and bathroom toiletries. And breakfast the next morning - well i think we both left a few pounds heavier with large smiles on our faces. Nothing was too much trouble and we were treated like members of the family. An absolute joy, and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
45
4
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

This was one of our best nights away from home for some time. There was nothing that could have been done better. 100 percent for everything. We would stay again and definitely recommend to our friends and family. Shifnal was a little gem with the percent bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

The best B & B my wife & I have stayed in. Judy & Mick welcomed us as if we were friends. We feel we are now. Nothing was too much trouble, the bedroom and bathroom were spacious, very clean and comfortable. Breakfast in the morning left nothing to be desired, it was certainly a hearty one and much enjoyed.
We are already planning our next visit and this time it will be for a longer stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

We stayed at the Anvil Lodge for 2 nights recently & could not find a single fault with either the room or the quality of the food. Our son was competing in an athletics event at RAF Cosford & the location of the guest house was superb. We would thoroughly recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

Excellent, personal service. Rooms are more like mini bungalows, very clean, tidy, fantastic beds and bathroom. Excellent breakfast and a very personal service. Would recommend to anyone, anytime. This is probably the best B&B I have stayed in and that's a lot! Chris

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, Cheshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

A weekend stay to attend the Cosford Air Show. Judy & Mike made us very welcome from the start. They suggested places to eat in the town that evening and we were given a list to choose from for breakfast the following morning (be careful how much you choose). Room was very comfortable, contemporary design & spotlessly clean. Bathroom had big fluffy towels & toiletries. We had a good nights sleep in the very large bed. Whilst room was quite warm, Judy provided a fan within minutes of us mentioning this. Breakfast - it was excellent and there was lots of it, served piping hot and with a smile. A fantastic place to stay, very welcoming and well worth going there.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

We stayed for 2 days at the anvil lodge and i would like to say a big thankyou to
Michael and Judy.[and Colin]They made us very welcome. the rooms are to a very high standard and clean. bathrooms lovely and roomy. Beds big and comfy.
If you like a good english breakfast, then Michaels will take some beating. all in all a great break.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anvil Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anvil Lodge

Address: 22 Aston Road, Shifnal TF11 8DU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shifnal
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Shifnal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Anvil Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Anvil Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anvil Lodge Shifnal, Shropshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anvil Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.