We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wynnstay Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Wynnstay Restaurant
Church Street, Best Western Wynnstay Hotel,, Oswestry SY11 2SZ, England
+44 (0)1691 655261
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 97 Restaurants in Oswestry
Price range: $74 - $74
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Corwen
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good for Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

We've had lunch at the Wynnstay quite a few times. There is a good choice on the menu but our favourite snack is Brie, bacon and cranberry on ciabatta. The wines are rather expensive but the Chilean Sauvignon Blanc is excellent. The staff give good service and the restaurant is conveniently situated. When we are next in Oswestry we will eat at the Wynnstay again.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    12
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mobberley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for our family meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Nine of us plus one young child met for a family meal following the remembrance service at the local church. The bar was busy as was the restaurant but the manager of the restaurant came through with menus and attended to us with absolute aplomb. I agree with the previous writer that the staff have been really well trained. The food was extremely good as was the wine, we were very satisfied with the price. Thanks to all who served us.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This is how you impress”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I, together with my wife and a long standing family friend, came to the Four Seasons restaurant at the Wynnstay Hotel for dinner on Saturday 31 August. When we arrived we went to the hotel bar to have a drink, and I told the gentleman behind the bar I had a reservation. I was told that someone would be right out with the menus, and that we would be called to our table when it was ready. - That is exactly what happened. All of the staff throughout our visit were most attentive and left us with the feeling that we were really important to them. The food was absolutely first class, cooked to perfection and served to the same standard. The only disappointment I have is that as the restaurant is around 250 miles from home I will not be able to use it regularly.
To sum up; First Class food; First Class service; First Class attention to detail and everything requested by us. - FIRST CLASS EVENING.
The staff there have obviously been trained well, and care about what they do to ensure customers treated correctly.

Thank you all

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good lunch with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Went with work friends for lunch lovely choice on menu I had steak ciabatta with salad and chips very filling lovely presentation but service a little slow although we were in no rush so didn't matter would go again

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Popular with coach parties - but fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stopped in for a bite to eat and a few beers and the dog was allowed. Food was very good - typical pub grub but very tasty. We were considering leaving when we realised that there was a hen party in the back room singing away! Shortly after a coach party turned up with what was clearly a fancy dress party! They all looked great and were loud but just having fun! Once these parties had gone another coach party of lads arrived - all dressed as WWF fighters! There were at least 4 dressed as Hulk Hogan. We stayed much longer than first intended as we were enjoyed the madness so much! Go if you like lively Saturday nights.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wynnstay Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Wynnstay Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wynnstay Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.