We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner on the road” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Navigation Inn & Warehouse Restaurant

Navigation Inn & Warehouse Restaurant
Maesbury Marsh, Oswestry SY10 8JB, England
+44 (0)1691 672958
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 92 restaurants in Oswestry
Price range: $9 - $39
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Checkendon, null, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Dinner on the road”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Had dinner at the pub when staying at a B&B up the road. Main course (Chef's special) and pudding were great though starter (Thai prawns) had a rather odd, indistinct flavour.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    52
    26
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
oswestry, england
Top Contributor
276 reviews 276 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Excellent food wonderful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We ate here after a walk along the canal, and first impressions on the place when entering the restaurant are "wow". The old warehouse has been transformed into a wonderful roomy restaurant with loads of brickwork and tasteful decorations.

We had two large glases of reasonably priced decent shiraz. I had a prawn starter with a very mild thai sauce with the chefs special chicken dish, my wife had two starters, bruschetta and a tower of peppers. All the food was tasty and really well presented, the chicken was the highlight, in a moroccoan stew with olives and we ate every morsel of everything.

Service was perfect and the whole thing was about £40 for two courses with wine - it was an excellent meal.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a lovely environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Arrived without booking at 8 pm on a Tuesday evening but the helpful young man found us a table in a lovely refurbished warehouse. Food was excellent and beautifully presented. Service was attentive without being intrusive. All in all,a very pleasant evening - dining as it should be.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Menu-brilliant setting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We had been to Oswestry to see a brilliant art exhibition with our friends. They go to the Navigation regularly as they live nearby so they suggested a 'light lunch' at the Inn. What a wonderful choice! The setting is brilliant-right on the Montgomery Canal and in set in beautiful Shrophsire countryside. The staff are so attentive and the menu was extensive. My husband and friends went for the 'Golden Menu' available on Wednesday lunch time (12-2pm) and paid £7.50 for a two course lunch. I had to pay an extra £2, not having reached the magic 60. It was great value for money. So much food and brilliantly cooked. A good choice of drinks too.
One of the owners was a waiter for today and was so careful to ensure we all had what we needed. Vegetarians catered for too (a real bonus in a country Inn).
After the meal we walked across the bridge and would have loved to wander along the canal path-but the rain prevented a perfect end to a perfect experience. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great place for food and a drink in unusual setting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Great food with a good selection on the menu, good selection of local brew.
Unusual setting on the canal, visit to find out why!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Navigation Inn & Warehouse Restaurant also viewed

Oswestry, Shropshire
Oswestry, Shropshire
 
Oswestry, Shropshire
Oswestry, Shropshire
 

Been to Navigation Inn & Warehouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Navigation Inn & Warehouse Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.