We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sebastians

Sebastians
45 Willow Street, Oswestry SY11 1AQ, England
(01691) 655444
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 92 restaurants in Oswestry
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Ellesmere, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Before children, Simon and I used to eat here at least once per month, and we became personal firends with Mark and Michelle. Then it became less frequent, and now it is for special occasions. It's not cheap, but worth every penny. You don't just go for a meal, you go for a whole night out and a lovely experience. Michelle is the most accomplished, polite, yet friendly Front of house you could wish for, whether with business guests, family, friends, or just the two of us. The food - cooked by Mark is exquisite, and we enjoy every mouthful. Everything is handmade from the bread to the pasta to the pudds and even the chocolates and truffles.
The toilets are lovely with all the products a girl could wish to use or need, including even hairspray!
Mark and Michelle have worked so hard and deserve the success they have gained.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    90
    6
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tenterden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Never disappoints”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We tend to dine there on special occasions 3 or 4 times per year. This was our 7th visit. Excellent food served with a smile. Monthly change of menu. There is a need to pre-book well in advance for a Friday/Saturday evening. Will return again in October.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

Amazing 5* food Great flavours and textures would definatly recommend menu is changed every month this place is a must for Special occasions :):):)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
2 reviews
“Last Minute Booking/Just Turn Up/Booking in the Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Visited Brooks restaurant in Oswestry as last minute lunch time 50th birthday treat for my partner. The restaurant, the service the meal top rate. They were able to do us a three course meal with special dietary requirements being no problem to them. It was so good to receive such good attentive quality service. Would definately recommend a visit to this place!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent one night stay & dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Yesterday morning I booked by phone after seeing positive reviews - very glad that I did.

Stayed last night - 19th of June.

Super experience - excellent room in a courtyard with a good bed / sofa and a nice bathroom.

The food was outstanding and it was warm enough to eat in the courtyard - I had the market menu with a starter from the more expensive main menu - I would have had this but had allready had a heavy lunch.

Good canapes and fresh bread followed by an excellent starter of puy lentils, cherries and cheese followed by a main course of sea bass and tomato confit (I think) with fennel and pudding of a very nice brownie + a bottle of Gavi.

In the morning I had a great breakfast of haddock and poached egg in the very nice restaurant.

The service was excellent and everybody was very friendly.

Total cost under £120 - superb value and worth a lot more!

I normally write as jumba66 but for some reason can't get online - the experince was so good I couldn't wait.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sebastians also viewed

Oswestry, Shropshire
Oswestry, Shropshire
 
Oswestry, Shropshire
 

Been to Sebastians? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sebastians, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.