We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“noisy dirty and shabby dont be mistaken by the photos” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Smithfield Hotel

The Smithfield Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oswestry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Smithfield Hotel
Save
You added The Smithfield Hotel to your Saves list
1 Salop Road, Oswestry SY11 2NR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Oswestry
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“noisy dirty and shabby dont be mistaken by the photos”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Hotel was dirty, in need of a good clean and total refurbishment in actual fact they should gut the place from top to bottom. unless you have a good drink it is impossible to sleep before 1am and then your wakened at 6am because of the locals who have an infatuation with stupid cars with big exhaust's. and then you are awakened by lorry's and buses in the early hours right outside single glazed ancient windows. the rooms are small and dirty the bed and bed linen should be thrown out , the pillows are thinner than my laptop, carpets are filthy anyone who likes this place must be filthy themselves. I am sure that the homeless must have a better and more comfortable nights sleep. the dining room is also in need of a good clean. apart from that the food was good and staff were very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: go some where else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    11
    10
    5
    8
See reviews for
8
13
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed here just one night to visit friends in Oswestry. We were given the family room which is on the top floor in the attic. Room was fairly basic but clean, it’s not going to win any design awards but was more than adequate and pleasant. Really good location right the in centre of Oswestry, free on site parking is a bonus. Although central the room was fairly quiet. Breakfast was ok if a little greasy and although the full English had plenty of bean juice on the plate there were only a couple of beans, sausages were the value variety certainly no quality local produce being used which is a shame. Also no fruit available or a ‘healthy’ alternative to the full English. Staff were pleasant and helpful.
Overall this was fine for our purpose of visiting friends but wouldn’t be making a trip specially to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We arrived here late afternoon after walking all day. Our rooms lacked towels and toilet paper and when we informed the staff they said they would be up to replenish but never appeared. We complained again only to be told that they had been full the day before and all the towels were in the wash!!
We had a very noisy night due to revellers outside in the street until 5AM.
The owner was very apologetic the next morning saying that we should have asked to speak to her but I think her staff are poorly trained in basic skills.

Room Tip: We stayed at the very top of the hotel but even that was noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Waited an hour for food, only two other tables of people there. Orders arrived wrong and waitress unsure of what each meal was. She was also attending the bar inbetween serving meals. She was however very polite and smiley. I was also assured that the menu was going to change soon to include a vegetarian meal (it was a bit embarrassing having to order a panini as an evening meal, whilst my party ordered full meals). When it came to desserts we were informed that only three desserts were available then left for 25 minutes with empty glasses and no dessert. We paid the bill and left. This booking had been made a week earlier for a party of twelve, but the restaurant seemed very unprepared and low stocked on food!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The hotel is situated right in the centre of the border town of Oswestry and has a free car park.
It is a local's pub with accommodation and provides visitors with a comfortable and friendly stay.
I stayed there for two nights while visiting friends in the town and The Smithfield gave me value for money delivered by very friendly staff.
I arrived quite late and didn't really want a full "pub grub" meal - I had a round of ham & mustard sandwiches with LOADS of garnish, a generous bowl of chunky chips plus a pint of the local brewery's bitter (superb) all for six pounds!
Breakfast was as substantial as you wanted - up to the huge "full English" - served very promptly...setting me up nicely for the day.
The hotel is unpretentious, the clientele are very sociable locals and, as I have said, the staff are very accommodating.
Rooms are clean and have all the usual facilities.......I have noting negative to say about the hotel.

Room Tip: Given the hotel's proximity to the very centre of the town, light sleepers may be disturbed by t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here after getting stranded in the snow. Could not have received a nicer welcome had i been staying with friends. Had the ribs for dinner and they were amazing. Great value - a brilliant find.
Def would stay again

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The hotel offered everything we wanted for our two nights stay. The manageress and the staff are extreemly welcoming and helpful. Some good beers, friendly clientel and excellent breakfast. Very good eveing meal..! good value for money. The hotel is situated in the middle of town which suited us very well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Smithfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Smithfield Hotel

Address: 1 Salop Road, Oswestry SY11 2NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Oswestry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Oswestry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
the smithfield Hotel lies at the centre of the charming Shropshire town of Oswestry which nestles on the border of Mid Wales and has excellent links to the North West and the Midlands there are many places to visit and attractions to see from the historic towns of Chester and Shrewsbury to the tallest waterfall in England and Wales. Oswestry is a vibrant market town and is surrounded by some of the finest scenery in the country.the smithfield hotel has a warm friendly welcome from all the staff. we offer a great grill menu also a great selection good home cooked specials!the bullring bar has pool tables and dart bards for some evening entertainment.come along and meet us all! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Smithfield Hotel Oswestry, Shropshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Smithfield Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.