We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Italian Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lepone's

Lepone's
Salop Road, Oswestry, England
01691 659965
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 92 restaurants in Oswestry
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Llanymynech, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Real Italian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I used to live in Oswestry and have eaten at this place on many occasions, most recently last Saturday. The food is consistently excellent. Paolo makes all his own fresh pasta, pizza dough and bread, you won't find that in any high street Italian chain restaurants. The service is warm, welcoming & friendly, the owners are very family oriented (as most Italians are) and accommodated the my 3 year old twins. The food is authentic and although the menu has changed more recently if you provide enough notice you can still get Melanzane Parmigiana!! It is good value too. I highly recommend spaghetti puttanesca, I cannot get enough of it. Magnifico-Splendido!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    48
    13
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Llanymynech, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely, homemade real Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

A busy restaurant, but the food is exceptionally fresh and tasty. Reasonably priced food and drink.

They also give an Italian Cookery lesson a couple of evenings a year, and it is exceptional value and great fun.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What a nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Very friendly good food meal was really nice and we like the service. The pasta is all freshly made on site

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Authentic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Beautiful italian food, all cooked fresh and is totally authentic. Its definitely worth booking as its quiet small. Good value for money and a nice atmosphere. Excellent service. We will go again when we visit the area.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Real Italian food in a very friendly and traditional Italian environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

Obviously the recent visitiors must have gone to a different restaurant! If you want fresh hand made pasta and true italian dishes this is the place to go in Oswestry. The owners are always on hand to help with your selection and the results are delicious. They don't always have what you want, they don't cook frozen or microwaved food, you can even see the chef in the kitchen, but don't worry what you do chose is always fresh, you taste the individual ingredients. Our pasta and pollo piccatta dishes were great. The home made puddings even better! We will be back.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lepone's also viewed

Oswestry, Shropshire
Oswestry, Shropshire
 
Oswestry, Shropshire
Oswestry, Shropshire
 

Been to Lepone's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lepone's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.