We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Jack Mytton Inn

The Jack Mytton Inn
Hindford | Whittingham, Oswestry SY11 4NL, England
01691-67-98-61
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 96 Restaurants in Oswestry
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $61
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We recently stopped here whilst on a Canal boat holiday. The Jack Mytton had been highly recommended, and certainly lived up to the recommendation.

The Jack Mytton Inn is set in beautiful countryside alongside the Llangollen Canal, they serve a range of ales and have beautiful gardens. There is also overnight mooring available.

The meals were delicious and the chips had to be the best we have ever tasted. As a Coeliac It is always nice to find somewhere that provides excellent gluten free food.

Well done The Jack Mytton Inn.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    37
    19
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon,UK
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Good food and beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Moored up here at lunchtime for a drink and stayed for dinner. Rather eccentric landlord who became friendlier after a while. Bar very small - outside space lovely (if the weather is good). Two sections in the restaurant - we were unfortunately seated in the large extension which is rather soulless and we were treated to the eclectic mix of music over the speakers. However, that said, the food is good with large portions and served with a smile. We would advise avoiding the kedgeree - we'd describe it as more like vindaloo risotto!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bawdrip
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Jack Myton Inn Hindord”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

A really great place to tie up your boat. Excellent food with a good wine list. A range of local real ales. Outside seating area, very comfortable and sheltered. Pleasant and helpful staff and an interesting. landlord. The Landlady is pretty good to with a brush in hand. (private joke).
More a restaurant than a pub, But the restaurant is kept apart so if one just wants a beer or two, it is still worth calling in.
Now the canal side fence has been painted, it looks even more welcoming.
This September was our fourth visit. over four years.
Roger & Annie Somerset

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
1 review
“alan g”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

It was recommended by the staff of a canal base and we were not disappointed. Not one of these modern busy eating by number pups but a relaxed and warm atmosphere, small touches make a big difference such as the warm subtle lighting with lots of candles adding to the warm glow. Four choices of cast ale and a very warm welcome by the staff. It was a quiet Wednesday when we tied up our canal boat at the pubs own private moorings and noticed a menu on display and offers such as menu of two course meals for 9.95 (Mon to Friday only). As we were on holiday and my wife had cooked on board a few times we decided to blow the budget and go the whole hog, what a feast, fantastic food. A nice touch was when the Landlord had a walk through the restaurant and genuinely asked of our enjoyment and engaged in a friendly banter. I cant say it was the cheapest meal I ever had but I can say it was one of the best.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A hidden gem ... great pub with great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

First came in here on the Shropshire Cider trail, promising ourselves we'd be back to try the delicious sounding food. Today we finally got back there and it was fantastic. Spoilt for choice from the menu it all sounded great. The portion sizes were huge, especially starters and desserts.
My husband had the prawns marie rose (he's from the seventies), and they certainly didn't stint on prawns and the lamb for his lamb henry was nearly a sheep! My pate was excellent and had just the right amount of toast and the mushrooms in a paprika sauce with rice didn't have too much rice and was beautiful. The roulade was creamy and the ice cream also excellent.
The staff were excellent, friendly but not intrusive. My husband worked his way through the real ale on the bar after I drew the short straw and had to just look longingly at the cider, but he drove last time so it was only fair.
The surroundings are stunning, the canal picturesque, and the pub traditional and charming.
A real hidden gem.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jack Mytton Inn also viewed

Oswestry, Shropshire
Oswestry, Shropshire
 
Oswestry, Shropshire
Oswestry, Shropshire
 

Been to The Jack Mytton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jack Mytton Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.