We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place, spectacular hosts!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yew Tree House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Yew Tree House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Yew Tree House Bed and Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Lower Frankton, Oswestry SY11 4PB, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Includes Full Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 15 Oswestry B&B and Inns
West Midlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful place, spectacular hosts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Stayed at this stunning B & B for two nights. Jo and Clive were the perfect hosts, friendly and helpful, without being intrusive. On arrival Clive showed us around whilst Jo made us tea and cake which we ate on the patio whilst we adjusted to the peace and quiet and beautiful surroundings. Their garden is fabulous with so much to see, lots of Clive's sculptures and Jo's mosaics, and the most beautiful plants. As you meander through the garden you finally reach their gorgeous summer house - what a tranquil spot to enjoy reading and relaxation, complete with everything you would need to stay for hours, kettle, wine glasses, utensils, binoculars, even a didgeridoo should you like to make your own music! Jo and Clive seem to have thought of everything you might need and more - such as the doorbell we found in the drawer of our room in case we needed to contact them during the night. The rooms are absolutely spotless and no expense has been spared. Jo's breakfasts are delicious and you can even purchase her divine marmalade and jams/chutneys. The breakfast room overlooks the garden where you can enjoys watching the many varieties of birds. It is a great base from which to visit Oswestry and the surrounding countryside. It truly is a beautiful place and I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
65
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

My daughter chose this B and B for our week end stay while the wedding went on in the next village. Jo and Clive were so accomodating for our party of four. Staying there made the week end so perfect. A very big thank you, and will certainly recommend to our friends and stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

...... absolutely fantastic, bedroom, garden, art, summer house and breakfast. Jo & Clive are excellent and even supplied a home cooked evening picnic to eat in their summerhouse, overlooking beautiful countryside. Saved us walking to the pub. Couldn't recommend it highly enough! Andy & Anne

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

we had a lovely stay here the owners are attentive, interesting, informative. room: clean good quality, gardens: beautiful, summer house: nice touch. Breakfast was as great as it sounded. Would suit anyone interested in gardens, art. sculpture, mosaics or just having a lovely break in a fantastic setting with excellent hosts.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We had a lovely two night stay at Clive and Jo's. The rooms and en-suite were excellent and having their own entrance you can come and go without worrying about disturbing anybody.
The owners are very welcoming and helpful and cooked a lovely breakfast.
The gardens and summerhouse is what sets this apart from other B&B's, I can imagine on a summer evening it must be lovely sitting down in the secluded summerhouse with a bottle of wine, alas the weather during our stay was not on our side for this but as the reason for our stay was to visit family in the area i'm sure we'll be back again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I stayed one night in one of the beautiful rooms as I was working nearby. My colleague had the other room available. Both were incredibly clean, nice size, warm and decorated beautifully. The bathroom was lovely too with a great power shower. Every amenity was taken care of, and I really appreciated their guide to local places to eat in the evening. Jo and Clive made us feel incredibly welcome and greeted us with tea and fresh flapjack. It was delicious. Breakfast was also a delight, poached eggs on toast with Jo's homemade compotes and fresh fruit and yoghurt, and their warm hospitality and the odd play of the didgeredoo!!! I bought some of her homemade chutney to take home. I wish them every success and hope either for work or pleasure that I end up staying there again, as it was truly lovely.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Absolutely brilliant B&B. Directions to the B&B were very clear and helpful. We were greeted by a warm welcome & shown around the room, and the delightful garden. The room was lovely, a nice size and decorated in a classy but comfy style; the cleanliness was superb, it had excellent drink making facilities, a torch (it gets very dark outside!) & a comprehensive guide to local restaurants. The hospitality & friendliness was outstanding, the owners were very attentive, providing fresh tea and the most delicious flapjacks upon arrival. One really nice touch that stood out for us, was when the host left us a thermos flask of cold fresh milk outside our door so that we could make a drink first thing in the morning, saying it wouldn't keep in the warm of the room - just one example of the kind of hospitality you get here. The new Summer House (complete with a gas fire, rocking chair and a didgeridoo!) was great and will of course be even better in the summer. The service at breakfast was brilliant & the food was excellent - all locally sourced, from neighbouring farms. One of the best B&B's you could hope to stay in, thanks!

Room Tip: The Red Room has a lovely comfy double bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yew Tree House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yew Tree House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Lower Frankton, Oswestry SY11 4PB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Oswestry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Oswestry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Yew Tree House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast with style. Luxuriously equipped, bed and breakfast rooms with en-suite facilities, each with own entrance and terrace with seating area. Tranquil rural setting within 3 acres of stunning gardens and woodland with sculptures, secret paths and hidden areas. Featured in Alastair Sawday’s B&B for Garden Lovers. The perfect place for a romantic weekend, a relaxing country break or for exploring Shropshire, Cheshire, and Wales. All rooms ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Yew Tree House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yew Tree House Bed And Breakfast Oswestry, Shropshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yew Tree House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.