We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with fantastic food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Raven Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Raven Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Barrow St, Much Wenlock TF13 6EN, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Much Wenlock
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bolton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel with fantastic food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We went on a living social 2 night break inclusive of the seven course gourmet dinner. Everything was perfect-friendly staff, comfortable room, excellent food (I've not tasted beef that good for a long time), great location. Much Wenlock is very pretty and the numerous pubs within a couple of minutes were much appreciated especially as the weather was so hot and we needed regular refreshment! All in all a fantastic relaxing break.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    106
    21
    5
    4
See reviews for
21
179
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Like a number, stayed on the Living Social 2 day deal. Much Wenlock is very pretty and there is little hotel competition for The Raven. We had room 2 in The Forge annexe. Pros and cons of our stay:
Pros:
Convenient free parking
Free wifi generally worked well although it dropped at an important time when I was undertaking some work related emails.
Room of a good size, some good furnishings, clean and tidy
Comfy bed but too hot to sleep! (abnormal weather conditions not the hotel's fault!)
Superb views from our room
Food at dinner was well cooked
Breakfast of a good standard
Staff very friendly and helpful

Cons:
Room F2 in need of some tlc. Cracks in plaster on wall, cracked tiles in bathroom and grouting needs redoing. Walls need repainting
Dinner wasn't always as described with one of the puddings not available and no rosemary mash with the beef as advertised
The idea of a gourmet menu is that it is designed around availability - if you know you have run out of something before service and you have an alternative, it takes only 2 mins to retype the menu rather than spending the evening apologising - no one would be any the wiser.

We overheard a conversation by a staff member saying that the chef had only been there a few days. The restaurant plaudits on this site are therefore attributable to the previous chef. Having said that, the cooking was of a good standard.

Overall a pleasant experience but, if I'm honest, whilst paying more elsewhere, I have had better VFM in other hotels.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Booked the offer through 'Living Social' which was a two day bed & breakfast with seven course meal stay. The whole experience was excellent from check in to check out ! This is a super base to explore the region especially Ironbridge & Bridgenorth. The Severn Valley Railway is a must, as is Blists Hill museum.Much Wenlock is also worth the trip !

Room Tip: There are ground floor rooms available, so no stairs to climb !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Arrival and parking was easy. Spacious clean room and comfy bed. Good WiFi speed.
Staff very friendly and helpful. We had the seven course gourmet meal which was excellent in all courses.
Good size full English breakfast (other options available) was had which was very nice with plenty of tea to go with it.
We thought the accommodation, food and service was excellent all round.
Much Wenlock is a pretty village with local shops and a couple of pubs a two minute walk away.
The location is ideal for the museums in the Ironbridge area.
We would definitely return to stay again and recommend you try it.

Room Tip: We had room 9 which is on the shady side of the building which was ideal as it was a very hot weeken...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We also went on a Living Social deal and it exceeded our expectations. Hotel met our 5 fundamental requirements: easy on-site parking, spacious room, comfortable bed, fully functioning shower, nice and quiet.

Located right in the centre of this charming little town and close to Ironbridge.

Breakfast was of a high quality. 7-course tasting menu included in the deal was excellent.

Some staff were a little cool and distant but by no means unpleasant. On check-in we were asked if we wanted a newspaper and we would have appreciated being told at that stage that it would be available for us to pick up from Reception. Instead, it sat on the Reception desk all day as we assumed it would be left outside our door and thought it had been overlooked. Alternatively, a quick call to our room, or mentioning it when we had cause to 'phone down, wouldn't have gone amiss. Staff were rather defensive and a bit 'hard-nosed' about this, we felt, as we didn't object to collecting it ourselves but we are not psychic!

A minor detail, though. We had a very pleasant stay and would return, which tells you all you need to know, doesn't it?

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have only used the Restaurant at the Raven but would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone. The food is superb, the service attentive but not too much. If Kurt the owner is in, he takes a personal interest in you. It really is a good old fashioned style of hotel and restaurant.
An added plus is the Olympic connection with William Penny Brookes.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We were in Much Wenlock for a sporting event and stayed overnight at the Raven. The staff were very accommodating as our room requirements changed several times. They added a spare bed into our room. Also we booked for dinner for 6 and ended up being 13! Despite it being a relatively busy Saturday evening, they managed to seat us all and dinner was good. Some of our party stayed in a big chain hotel in Telford and joined us for dinner and I know we made the better choice. Our room was a decent size and clean / tidy. Nice and quiet too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Raven Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raven Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Barrow St, Much Wenlock TF13 6EN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Much Wenlock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Much Wenlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Raven Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Raven Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raven Hotel And Restaurant
Raven Hotel Much Wenlock
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant Much Wenlock, Shropshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Raven Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.