We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent palce to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Waterdine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Waterdine to your Saves list
The Waterdine
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Nr Knighton, Llanfair Waterdine LD7 1TU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“An excellent palce to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We returned here recently for a short break for our 42nd wedding anniversary. Great food and hospitality, a comfortable bed and quiet surroundings characterises this restaurant-with-rooms. The local walking is also excellent on Offa’s Dyke, wonderful views on the days we were there. Ken and Isabel are still the hosts as they have been for over 12 years. A wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
uk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I had visited many years ago when this was a local pub at the very heart of the community. The restaurant did wonderful food, they did bed and breakfast and you could still just pop into the bar for a drink. I am sure the new owners think they have turned this into a wonderful foodie paradise but to he honest they just seemed to have ruined a tradition that was 100s of years old. When I returned I was told that the locals do not go there any more and it is just people travelling through. A real shame as it was such a nice establishment.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterdine, Owner at The Waterdine, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for your interesting comment especially considering the restaurant still does wonderful food, we still do bed and breakfast and you can still just pop into the bar for a drink. One salient point, we are not the new owners we have been here for 12 years.

With so many village pubs closing due to lack of trade at least we have so far managed to stay open, however the pub of your memories was long gone before we took over.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shrewsbury
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

Spent a night at the Waterdine early December and had an excellent welcome, friendly hospitality and a wonderfull meal in the evening. Hope to go back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterdine, Owner at The Waterdine, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for you comment we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbles
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

This is a wonderful place to stay and an even better place to eat. Afternoon tea came with delicious home made scones and dinner was as good as you'd find in a 5* restaurant. The only improvement my husband would like is draught beer in the bar. Good wine list. By the way the portions are generous, how anyone could say they are small is a mystery.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterdine, Owner at The Waterdine, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful review, both Isabel and I are please that you enjoyed your visit. We regret that we had to discontinue draught beers in order to control the quality on low turnover. I know that the alternative bottled local ales will not meet the expectations of a real draught ale aficionados.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

I don't normally write reviews, but I can' believe that anyone could leave this place hungry or find the food unsatisfactory. The portions are plenty big enough and the food is fabulous. This is an independently owned hotel in an old building and so it's quirky. I'ts not going to be the same as every boring chain hotel you walk into, but therein lies it's charm.
This is a lovely place to stay and I go back there whenever I can.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterdine, Owner at The Waterdine, responded to this review, September 24, 2011
Thank you for your review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you can return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

Loved every minute of our relaxing break. Great for relaxing, walking or running. Food is excellent and a very warm welcoming atmosphere!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterdine, Owner at The Waterdine, responded to this review, September 24, 2011
Thank you for your review I am glad you managed to relax and enjoyed the food, we do try to make our guests as comfortable as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

Don't arrive with a healthy appetite, the quality of the food is very good but the portions small to border line mean by most standards. Disappointingly few vegetables, especially as the website features a productive garden, and there is no option to purchase more as a side dish. The overall atmosphere is more akin to a country pub than a quality restaurant. Staff were friendly but few, not professional and seldom seen during the meal. Having ordered a bottle of champagne we were told that the wine list we had been given was actually 10 year old an that the prices were higher - why would there be a 10 year old wine list at hand that could be so easily confused with a current one! The wine list overall was very poor, limited, and approximately 95% of wines new world. All bottles, three in total, were presented open, not usual, and not properly served at the table. Wine prices are marked up by 300% to 400% . Overall a disappointing experience and not value for money.

What we had was well cooked and delicious but the quantites were mean.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterdine, Owner at The Waterdine, responded to this review, September 24, 2011
Thank you for your review, we do try to meet the expectations of our guests, in your case we obviously failed, for this I must apologies.

I am happy you thought the food was good even though the portions were too small for you, it is not a matter of cost, but rather what we believe is enough, something we do not in every case get right, often people tell us us the portions are too big.

There is no option to buy separate portions of vegetables as we would not make a charge for this should a guest wish for more. Thank you, having seen your comment I will put an appropriate mention on the menu to make this clear.

That evening we had called in a waitress who had not worked with us before, unfortunately she picked up the old wine list we had been checking for the details of a particular wine and gave that to you by mistake. Of course ten years ago all prices were much lower than today.

We do try to keep our wine list relatively small with 60 wines in total, we also change it quite often, although we do offer some new world wines, we also carry the more traditional French, Italian, Spanish and Alsace wines, even one from the Lebanon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Waterdine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterdine

Address: Nr Knighton, Llanfair Waterdine LD7 1TU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Llanfair Waterdine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Llanfair Waterdine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterdine 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterdine is a 15th-century Welsh long house originally built as a drovers Inn, and extended 100 years later. It still retains many of its original features leaded windows, slate floors, the original brick floor in the old tap room, open fire places - now with wood burners installed. Each of our bedrooms is individually decorated and furnished, to create a warm and welcoming cottage style atmosphere. Every room has en-suite bathroom or shower room Satellite television tea and coffee making facilities etc. All have views of the surrounding countryside. Ken, who is in charge of the kitchen, is an internationally renowned chef - he was the first chef to open a restaurant in Ludlow in 1994, gaining international recognition and many prestigious awards for his cooking at the Oaks. Our menus, based as they are on home grown (from Isabel’s garden) and local or organic produce, evolve with the seasons as the produce becomes available, seafood is delivered fresh off Cornish day boats. The restaurant is open to non-residents as well as house guests offering lunches and dinners throughout the year - please note bookings only. The Waterdine is set in mature gardens, which during the summer make a wonderful place to sit with your pre-dinner drinks whilst you choose you dinner from our seasonal menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Waterdine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waterdine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.