We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hopton House exceeds expectations for these 2 discerning travellers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hopton House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hopton House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Hopton House Bed and Breakfast
Hopton Heath, Craven Arms SY7 0QD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Craven Arms B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bolton England
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Hopton House exceeds expectations for these 2 discerning travellers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

A thick slice of toasted home made granary bread topped with herby mushrooms and two perfectly poached eggs – delicious! This is just one of the cooked options on offer for breakfast at Hopton House. Of course if you prefer a more traditional dish the full English is quite superb. The orange juice is freshly squeezed and the gorgeous breads and marmalade home made. If you enjoy cereals there’s a full range but we couldn’t resist the lightly poached rhubarb with ginger, the fat blueberries and I topped mine with fruit yoghurt. You get to toast your bread as and when you like it and there was always some other baked goods such as rhubarb and orange muffins or spicy fruit buns on offer – home made of course. If this isn’t good enough you have a table for two with a fabulous view of the garden and surrounding countryside – the garden is a haven for the birds. The hens strut their stuff around the garden and of course they provide the eggs with big yellow yolks for your breakfast.

We stayed 4 nights in the Paddock room - its very light and airy with patio doors to one side leading onto your own balcony. There’s a huge window on another wall again with gorgeous views of the countryside. The bed is huge and comfy. We loved the spacious bathroom with its large walk-in shower - there’s a rain shower option if you prefer it. The bath is huge and double ended and everywhere is spotlessly clean. Toiletries are provided and plenty of towels including flannels.

You get home made cake and shortbread biscuits, bottled water and other little extras in your room - all very nice. The weather was nice for our stay and we enjoyed sitting on our balcony (seat pads and table-cloth supplied) with a glass of wine which we chilled in our silent fridge where you will find your fresh milk for your drinks.

In a nutshell Karen Thorne the excellent owner of Hopton House has thought of just about everything that one could wish for in a B&B. It’s fabulous as 100 people before me have already recorded so look no further – book now you won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BramblingTweets, Owner at Hopton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your great review.
I'm very glad you enjoyed your food whilst you were staying with us!
It was a pleasure to welcome & get to know you both over the few days you were here and we hope to see you again.
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
119
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Freeport, Maine
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We met Karen online first, then in person in the US. It was a pleasure to stay with Karen and Rob at Hopton House in Shropshire! Karen is a wonderful and gracious hostess, and a delightful personality. The rooms are lovely and sparkling clean - fitted with all the amenities one could hope for. And the lemon drizzle cake that greets you on arrival - wow!

Breakfast is sumptuous, with choices from full English to other selections, plus home-baked breads, fruits, homemade marmalade, etc., etc. While dining you are entertained by the bevy of birds attracted to the feeders and cover in the garden, and the household chickens in the yard. If you ask nicely, you can also meet the B&B dogs, Mitzi and Murphy!

Karen was extremely helpful with maps and suggestions for walks and sightseeing. Our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BramblingTweets, Owner at Hopton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Scott & Ruth
Thank you so much for your review & congratulations on being Tripadvisor Review no. 100.
It was lovely to see you both again & thank you for making a special effort to come & see us.
I'm glad we lived up to your expectations - always a scary thing when someone has been following us on Twitter for so long :0)
Hope to catch up with you again soon
Karen
x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This was our first time at Hopton House we stayed for two nights in April and we chose The Barn....... superb! we did not know which room to choose..... we were not disappointed very comfortable warm spacious and a homemade lemon drizzle cake to die for!! everything you need in the room and to top it all a superb breakfast in a calm scenic breakfast room. We did not want to leave........a total chill out place to stay, together with beautiful countryside and various places of interest to visit. We were able to buy some eggs from Karen laid by her lovely chuckies and her homemade marmalade delicious!! Would highly recommend Hopton House,Karen is a lovely host.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BramblingTweets, Owner at Hopton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you Lesley for your review
So glad that we met your expectations & that you enjoyed the Barn Room.
We hope to see you again very soon
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This was our return visit, this time for 4 nights in April. We were warmly welcomed back, found the Barn room at least as good as we recalled and were glad we made our decision! The room is wonderful, comfortable, warm and spacious. Breakfast is fantastic; we tried to vary it, but kept returning to Eggs Benedict. The porridge too is superb.

We really cannot recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BramblingTweets, Owner at Hopton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Peter & Brenda
Than you for a great review and for coming back to Hopton House.
It was great to welcome you & your lovely dog back.
So glad you enjoyed the Eggs Benedict!
Thanks again
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed for two nights over the Easter weekend in the Paddock room. Lovely double aspect windows with views of fields and mountains beyond. Speckled chickens roaming in the gardens. A huge comfortable bed, huge bath and great shower. Tea, coffee,water and cake. Breakfast menu included blueberry pancakes with bacon and scrambled eggs with smoked salmon - both delicious plus generous buffet table. A friendly and warm (but not too pushy) welcome . All delightful. HH is near Ludlow and Shrewsbury and there are lovely walks or drives in rolling Shropshire Countryside. Heartily recommend it for a "getting away from it all" weekend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BramblingTweets, Owner at Hopton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Hi Claire
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review.
I'm glad you enjoyed the Paddock room with its lovely views & the breakfasts.
I'm sorry we couldn't arrange better weather for you. Hopefully spring will arrive soon.
All the best
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed with you for New Year's Eve 2012. What a great visit, a very comfortable stay, superb room, every extra imaginable even homemade lemon drizzle cake!! The breakfast was another highlight, such wonderful choice! Very competitive price also especially at this time of year. Highly recommended. Thank you.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BramblingTweets, Owner at Hopton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hi Chris
Thank you for your review. It seems a long time since New Year's Eve! I'm very glad you enjoyed everything that Hopton House has to offer.
I'm glad you liked the homemade cake in your room as well as the breakfasts. We do try & offer lots of breakfast choice.
Kind regards
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

One night at Hopton House just isn't enough to really enjoy the surroundings! We stayed in the Barn Room which is both huge and really cosy, with a wonderful bathroom. It was great just to sit around and enjoy the space and the view, eating home made cake or shortbread.

Breakfast was also a delight with wonderful Eggs Benedict for me, and Haddock with poached eggs for my partner.

All in all it's a great place to go to - just to be there!

Room Tip: We had a nose round all the rooms and all are luxurious with great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BramblingTweets, Manager at Hopton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hi Julia
Many thanks for the TA review. It was great to see you again and I'm glad you enjoyed the Eggs Benedict - it's a bit of a favourite with many of our guests.
Hope to see you again sometime.
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hopton House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hopton House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Hopton Heath, Craven Arms SY7 0QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Craven Arms
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Craven Arms
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly luxury B&B nestled in the Shropshire Hills near Ludlow. With sumptuous breakfasts; the full Shropshire with Ludlow sausage of course but also an extensive special menu with lots of vegetarian options. Enjoy watching the birds and our stunning views from your room with a cup of tea or fresh brewed coffee & a piece of homemade cake. This is the ideal getaway from it all relaxing B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B and Priceline so you can book your Hopton House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hopton House Hotel Craven Arms
Hopton House b&b
Hopton House Bed And Breakfast Craven Arms, Shropshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hopton House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.