We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful relaxing stay - "Far from the madding crowd"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Birches Mill

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Craven Arms
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Birches Mill
Clun, Craven Arms SY7 8NL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Craven Arms B&B and Inns
wareham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful relaxing stay - "Far from the madding crowd"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Delightful accommodation tucked away in the south Shropshire countryside and yet within easy reach of many attractions and spectacular walking routes. Indeed, there is great walking country right on the doorstep. We stayed seven nights bed and breakfast. Our room was splendidly comfortable and decorated to a high standard with attention to detail regarding linen and supplied toiletries. The visitors' sitting room and the garden, accessed through french windows, provided further space to chat or read and relax. The breakfast menu provided a great selection of dishes which were perfectly cooked (to personal requirements) and served in the delightful breakfast room. (Of especial note was the home-made apricot jam but I may have eaten it all!) Overall, the renovation and furnishing of the mill is very tasteful and reflects the artistic backgrounds of the hosts, Gill and Andrew - who made us very welcome and supplied much useful information on the locality. The local pubs (especially the local in Clun) provided us with some very happy evenings with good home-cooked pub-grub and locally brewed beer, as well as plenty of shropshire conversation! Overall, the perfect stay for what we wanted. (See below for ratings.)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
26
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Spent 3 nights here in July. It was a delightful place to stay....really comfortable and beautifully decorated. Gill and Andrew were delightful hosts and looked after us so well. Lovely to be able to walk out of the front door and go for wonderful walks nearby on the Shropshire Way. Plenty to see and do locally so it is a great centre for seeing Shropshire and the Welsh Borders. Would love to return.

Room Tip: We had the famous roll top bath in our bathroom..... had been rescued and lovingly restored. A real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Birches Mill is tucked away in a quiet Shropshire valley close to Clun. The setting is idyllic - by a stream and overlooking the countryside with great walking country on your doorstep. Pubs are available in both Clun and Bishops Castle - both just a couple of minutes drive.

The interior has been renovated to the highest standard of comfort and style and is maintained to perfection. The attention to detail is of a boutique hotel standard - more toiletries than usual and lovely towels etc.

The breakfasts are excellent. Fresh orange juice to start. Fresh fruit salad complements the cereals and the cooked breakfasts are delicious. One morning we thoroughly enjoyed a compote of rhubarb (from the garden) and ginger. Quite the best rhubarb I've eaten. The table is laid beautifully - white linen and everything sparkling.

The garden is also a delight and obviously tended with care.

Andrew and Gill are charming hosts - attentive and thoughtful, good fun and intelligent. They are keen to ensure you have everything you need and make the most of the area while respecting your privacy.

Tea and coffee facilities in the room are much appreciated when one likes a cup of tea first thing! Our room was the double ensuite overlooking the river. We loved the view and the huge bathroom. The other ensuite room is larger if that is preferable to you. Superbly decorated and furnished.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotswolds
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Having had such a delightful stay at this beautiful B & B a few weeks ago we booked again as our base to stay while walking the Shropshire Way. Giill and Andrew are so welcoming and their attention to detail from the luxurious bed linen and toileteries to the prettily furnished rooms make their B & B stand out from the crowd! Afternoon tea in their lovely garden on our arrival was much appreciated and the delicious breakfasts kept us fortified for the rest of the day! We hope to have the opportunity to return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

As part of our planning to do the Coast to Coast walk, I'd rung and booked one night at Birches Mill well ahead of time, paid the deposit, and finally we were there. Hey, it was a little hard to find in the early afternoon as the Tourist Information people were closed, and the people we stopped to ask for directions didn't seem to know anything....or maybe they were regular guests and didn't want to share the information!

We were greeted in the carpark and shown inside by Gill who proudly told us of about Birches Mill 1647 origins and the great renovations/additions of 1740! We had a twin upstairs room of a nice size, beautifully furnished, comfortable, clean and with a giant ensuite with bath and shower. Not believing our luck after an ordinary B&B experience the night before, we then went downstairs and into the garden to enjoy tea and cake. Beautifully manicured lawns, an almost babbling brook, trees and....peace! Yes, the peace.....

On Gill's recommendation we went to The Castle in Bishops Castle for dinner. It was absolutely fine, but the highlight was returning "home" to a welcoming guest lounge with small bottles of wine, comfortable couches and the chance to talk and relax before bed.

The beds were comfortable, the serenity complete and one of those great nights of deep undisturbed sleep followed.....

We were the only two guests that night and so we had the dining room to ourselves. Breakfast was terrific(even had Greengage jam!), but what completed the experience was the chance to just chat with Gill and Andrew who gave every appearance of being truly interested in their guests, of being knowledgeable about the area, and genuinely interested in excelling at what they do.

This is a place to which I will definitely return....

Room Tip: just come,relax, let the stresses of the world go and enjoy genuine hospitality!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

This was a wedding anniversary weekend. From the moment of our arrival Gill and Andrew were very welcomingl Nothing was too much trouble and the peaceful setting and fantastic breakfasts made this a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alsager
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

If you want charm and tranquility, look no further than Birches Mill. Gill and Andrew are excellent hosts and serve up delightful breakfasts and made our 2 day visit to this part of Shropshire extra special. We dined at the the White Horse in Clun and The Castle at Bishops Castle on their recommendation and were not disappointed. We will definately return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room with the roll top bath lovely room that overlooks the garden and the River Unk
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Birches Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birches Mill

Address: Clun, Craven Arms SY7 8NL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Craven Arms
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Craven Arms
Also Known As:
Birches Mill Craven Arms, Shropshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birches Mill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Birches Mill to your Saves list