We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WHATEVER'S UP” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Crown At Hopton

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cleobury Mortimer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Crown At Hopton
Save
You added The Crown At Hopton to your Saves list
Hopton Wafers, Cleobury Mortimer DY14 0NB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“WHATEVER'S UP”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My partner and I recently 29th January spent two nights at The Crown.

We were very disturbed !!!!----where on this planet are all those people coming from who write negative comments about The Crown.

We had a wonderful time. Our room was clean and tidy, and warm enough, without the extra heater installed, although we did welcome it initially as we arrived in thick fog and drenching rain.

Only comment we agreed with was the paper thin walls ! --but heh !

The moral of the story is don't expect the staff to control matters they have no control over, and IF you don't like a budget break then don't book one ---try an expensive website!

Dave

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    185
    109
    56
    48
See reviews for
22
368
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pershore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed on a KGB deal last night with friends. Inviting pub with roaring fire, friendly staff, well kept beers and good reasonably priced food in the nice restaurant. Our room was fresh, clean and warm. Breakfast was good, too. There was a large function on Saturday evening, making for a lively atmosphere and plenty of people turning up for Sunday lunch. All in all most enjoyable.

Room Tip: We stayed in a new part of the pub which was very nice. Friends stayed in the older part, still nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Spent a night here on a KGB deal with several friends, so it was always going to be an excellent deal. Sat in the bar for the afternoon with a roaring fire, radiator full on but there was that cold draught others have mentioned - but still with a fleece on I was soon cosy. Great beer and excellent friendly service. Room was very comfortable and full of character in main building so no complaints there. Food served in one of the three eating areas was served well with no waiting, despite the place being quite full and a Beaters Party in full swing. Quantity and quality of food was very good and excellent value for money. The waitresses were efficient and friendly. Breakfast was plentiful and wholesome. On the whole a good stay.

Room Tip: Book a room in the old building full of character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Was due to stay here today for two days for my husbands birthday' booked and made payment early January for our stay which was to be 18th and 19th .
Obviously have had terrible whether today did call before we left on our journey to explain how bad the roads were as the blizzards and roads in and around selly oak area in Birmingham are still dreadful . After leaving and getting stuck and having to abandon our car walking for over 40 minutes on foot till our oldest son could come to a safer place which he could collect us to get us back hone my daughter had called this hotel and spoke to the manager to explain and he was very rude to my daughter as she had asked could we go the following week or when ever convenient for them as we just couldn't get there it was too dangerous. Totally RUDE !!!! To my daughter , no compassion to what was happening , We don't want to cancel just change the day till the weather is better, So have lost out on taking my husband away for his birthday and have lost my money also. Totally gutted ,,,, did not expect to be treated like this........ All I can say is beware .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cleobury Mortimer hotels

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights after the new year and had an absolutey lovely time at the Crown. We just fancied a few nights away for a relaxing break and this was the ideal spot. The cosy bar with big fires was just what we were after. The weather was chilly and there's the odd drafty spot in the old building, so if you're looking for something to complain about that'd proably do, but otherwise you should have a very pleasant time.

We ate dinner twice during our stay and we were very happy with our meal on both occasions, which were also extremely reasonably priced. The service was great and all the staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful.

From reading the other reviews it sounds as though some rooms may be nicer than others, but ours was great, a good size with a big new bathroom.

Would happily recommend the Crown to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We've just returned from an overnight stay at this establishment, having joined a shooting party at Hopton which was very enjoyable. Recent reviews of the Crown read well, but to start with our room was a big disappointment. We were given a room in a converted cottage adjoining the main building, and the room was cold, with no heating on so felt damp and unwelcoming. The room was quite small and the double bed, one chest of drawers beside the bed (no room for bedside cabinets), and a small cabinet holding the tea/coffee and kettle filled the space. The small tv was on a bracket over the tea making supplies, which meant you banged your head on the tv when making a drink. The room also had the original back door to the cottage which was partially covered with a tatty curtain which didn't do much to cut out the draught or road noise and there were also ill-fitting curtains at the window. The bathroom was an improvement, being fairly newly fitted, with a shower, but was again very small. The towels were white, and clean/fairly new.
Having offloaded our bags and turned the radiator on, we headed for the bar. The bar area was welcoming with a big open fire which was enjoyable on a cold, damp evening.
Our next disappointment was the meal. We joined our friends and headed for the dining room, which had another big roaring fire, although we were seated in a window alcove which was dingy as the two light fittings nearest our table didn't seem to be working, and again the radiator under the window was stone cold. The menu seemed promising, we made our choices and the waiter took our order. We had to prompt them to bring our wine order as it seemed to have been forgotten, and we waited for an age (at least 40 minutes) for the first course - whitebait (which was overcooked), prawns in a tomato and garlic sauce (quite nice), and a bruschette with chorizo and roasted red peppers (which was ok). Another long wait brought the second course - steak pie, stuffed pork loin (both very average), a fillet steak (cooked ok) and a ribeye steak which was still semi-frozen in the middle. Not what we had been hoping for at all.
Our room was a little warmer when we returned to go to bed, but the busy road noise was
noticeable.
The final sour note was struck after we waited over 30 minutes to get into the restaurant for breakfast, having requested an 8am breakfast to allow us to be ready for the 8.45am assembly time, no-one appeared until 8.30am which meant we delayed the start. We were rushed to settle our bill, and our rough calculation of the cost fell short of the final bill. Unfortunately they couldn't give us an itemised bill(??), and the manager's agressive attitude when we queries the amount was very unhelpful.
Needless to say we will not be staying at the Crown again when we return to Hopton.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed for 2 days on a KGB deal just after New Year. Our room was in the main building ,loads of Character,room was warm and cosy with all mod cons.Gary and Sarah looked after us like royalty and the food was excellent. Dinner was the highlight.
With Ludlow only 15 minutes down the road it is the ideal location for visiting that area.

We will be back!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Crown At Hopton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown At Hopton

Address: Hopton Wafers, Cleobury Mortimer DY14 0NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Cleobury Mortimer
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cleobury Mortimer
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
The Crown At Hopton Cleobury Mortimer, Shropshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crown At Hopton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.