We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They take care of you!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fleece

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Fleece to your Saves list
The Fleece
11 Church Green, Witney OX28 4AZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Witney
Antigua, Guatemala
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“They take care of you!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

The rooms are comfortable and have all amenities you need!
In the restaurant we had a very tasty dinner and a nice cold beer. But the best is the customer service- very personal, warm and friendly.
They organized taxis for us and when i asked for a shop to buy a toothbrush the lady at the reception just handed me one over as the shops were a bit far...
Thank you and keep doing what you're doing- its working!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    62
    24
    13
    5
See reviews for
28
77
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Having lived in the vicinity for 20 years, The Fleece has been a place which I have grown very accustomed to visiting. In general the welcome is friendly at the bar, with my usual being served with a smile. It is very hit and miss as to how busy The Fleece can be and it must be difficult to staff accordingly. ( Its not a job I would want, in hospitality) However, being a regular drinker and occasional restaurant visiter, I have no complaints as I generally think a good job is done by all the staff. The food has always been, in general of a high quality.
My one little grumble is the removal of the spinning wheel, which after you ordered a round was spun by the barman and you had a chance of a discount, or indeed a free round. Over time I did very well on a friday night with that wheel. (Probably why it was removed)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Used to love this place but was a bit disappointed on this occasion.

Food was good, but not good enough for the prices. Definitely more expensive than before. A T-bone steak on the menu for £35 and you had to pay and extra £3 if you wanted onion rings and half a tomato!

I don't mind paying over for the odds for something exceptional but this wasn't quite up to it. Just as good quality available in Witney at a more reasonable value, sorry.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Booked a table for 2 for a birthday meal.. Ordered 2 stakes witch were so nice but portions are small for the price. Waited for an hour after our main to be given pudding menu but then no one came back to take order waited another half an hour and still no service only got offered one drink throughout our meal didnt even get asked how our food was terrible service witch is a shame as food was okay just a shame our bill was £45 and we were still hungry after leaving

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nick s, General Manager at The Fleece, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hi there, I am sorry to hear about your birthday experience. There are no comments on the room, I do hope this was to your liking.

I'm afraid I can't comment or offer explanation for your visit, it sounds like we have really let you down on what should have been a memorable and enjoyable experience.

I'm glad you enjoyed our Aubrey Allen steaks, they are all 8oz rib eyes so size should not vary but the cost obviously reflects that they are 28 day dry aged Aubrey rib eyes. We won't compromise on quality but perhaps if the service had been up to par then it would have not contributed so heavily and negatively to your evening.

Your comments have been noted and shared with the team. Your comments will undoubtedly go towards helping us develop our offer and make sure that it's delivered with professionalism and care.

Thanks again

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caversham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent two nights at The Fleece. We were staying in one of the annex rooms. At initial glance the room looked nice and modern but at closer inspection we found it to be a little tired. The bed was very comfy (which is a big plus) but our bathroom shower door fell off on the first day. We did let the staff know and it was repaired by housekeeping. The breakfast was alright - nothing special. We ate dinner at the pub one of the nights. Again, the food was good but I though a bit pricey for what we got.

All in all - it was an average place - good for an overnight stay but nothing longer.

Room Tip: The annex rooms are quieter than the upstairs pub rooms. Our friends stayed in the pub and were wok...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northwich
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

As a contractor I was shown to the rooms opposite the hotel restaurant.I was told these would be quiet-not so! Noise was pretty bad,no slow springs on door closures resulted in loud bangs of people coming and going.Breakfast was very poor,the full english was rather tired and the tea and coffee resulted in many complaints.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The place is OK nice location and the décor is typical gastro pub although looking a bit dog eared. Its a very popular place and always seems busy. Food it's OK but I feel over priced for type of food offering. I felt the place and staff are getting complacent as there is little competition for good food venues in Witney. Its OK but could with a bit of effort be Great!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fleece? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fleece

Address: 11 Church Green, Witney OX28 4AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Witney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Witney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Fleece reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fleece Hotel Witney
Fleece Hotel Witney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fleece, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.