We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel - just didn't cope very well with the hot weather” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oxford Witney Four Pillars Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Oxford Witney Four Pillars Hotel to your Saves list
Oxford Witney Four Pillars Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ducklington Lane, Witney OX28 4EX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Witney
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel - just didn't cope very well with the hot weather”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed here with two of my colleagues on a business trip. This was during the very hot weather.
Found the receptionist on check-in very helpful and to the point.
Then we went for dinner - the waiter was confused by our booking, since we were all in different rooms (and didn't speak particularly good English). Though the food was very good. Just a pity there were flies all over the place (largely due to windows being open and the weather being hot).
The rooms were hot all night, with no air conditoning. Thankfully I was on the upper floor (but my colleagues were on the ground floor). So I could open my window. While this cooled the room down a bit, there was the noise of bins being moved outside, and the occasion smell of cigarette smoke beneath.
Breakfast was good in the morning as well.
Overall, I really like this hotel, and would recommend. It is unfortunately just not able to cope very well with the unusually hot weather we had at the time.

Room Tip: Get a room on the upper floor (if you don't mind climbing one flight of stairs).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    138
    88
    21
    14
See reviews for
48
132
16
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed in this hotel during a heat wave. There is no fridge in the room and also no A/C, only a fan, which helped a bit but was not adequate to cool the room down. I had room on the ground floor, next to the car park, so keeping the windows open during the night was no option. The A/C in the dining room was broken, and the heat there was almost intolerable !
The hotel is very clean, and the staff very helpfull , no complaints there.
The hotel boasts a French chef, the food is okay but I've had better. Breakfast buffet was okay but a bit more cheese would be welcome
Overall, a pleasant stay, would go back in a cooler period of the year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights as we were attending a wedding locally. Beware if you are sleeping near the road or the car park if a wedding / party is being held. It was very warm when we stayed and guests of the 2 weddings on the fri and sat were outside in the car park ( as no gardens for guests to go in) until 1am , also we could hear the road all night as well as cars coming and going from the hotel. The room itself was nice , plenty big enough and very clean. The reception staff were helpful . All the bar /restaurant/ cleaning staff were the best thing about this place . My sister had to have her vital medical supplies stored in fridges in the kitchen , as there was no mini bar fridge in the room( for a 4 star I was surprised ) the staff day and night were always happy to get everything for her even if they were busy. The pool and changing areas were very dated and need a revamp. I did not use the gym, so cannot comment. If this place had been around 80/90 a night then a fair price . Normal price was 120. We had a deal for one night which made one night a fair price and wedding price of 105 for the other night. However meeting up with family and friends for a wedding was great and we had a good time . But not having any garden to speak of and having to sit drinking at tables in a car park is more 2/3 star then 4 star. As I say the Staff were excellent .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southsea, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very cleverly placed for access to town and A40. Its very pleasant to the eye on arrival and the room we had on the 1st floor was very clean. The staff were very friendly. Food was of a very good std. Would use this hotel again

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights on June 21-23rd on the connoisuer package cost £120 per night,we had room 73, which was clean had a view over the allotments, the room felt small because of the sloping roof, complimentary red & white wine be it on the small size & toiletories which were somewhat lacking & so we requested more which were soon forthcoming,& the tea & coffee facilities were fine & the air con was very good,

Used the swimming pool,sauna & steam room the latter being the hottest i have ever been in.
Breakfast was superb & a good spread of the usual,but the toaster was on a go slow.
Overall this hotel borders on average only because it is a bit samey as i have stayed in so many hotels, however the staff in particular those on reception, the bar staff, & the breakfast staff should all be commended for their approach to customer care well done. One last thing Scott duty manager on Saturday night,shame on you for shutting the bar just as a coach load of us arrived back from a wedding, you missed a golden opportunity.

Room Tip: Do not think the package deals are worth paying the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We used an online site to get a deal for £100 for the night reduced by a measly £20, however any reduction is a bonus. Upon arrival we were greeted by friendly staff and checked in before 2pm. The rooms are small, a little tired but clean. The water takes a while at times, to flow hot and the shower head was tiny and lacking any force behind the flow. Its no Centerparcs.
The bed was cosy and comfortable and all the neccessary amenities are there. The pool is quite small and the changing facilities are one toiet, one prvate booth and one communal shower. There are lockers for your clothes for £1 and you do not need to take a towel, they are provided as you enter the spa. The pool is clean but has a grime line around the tiling so I tried not to look at it! the jacuzzi was quite large and the are 4 loungers which are comfy. we didnt use the gym. Steam room was lovely and the sauna was not too hot. Room service is through the night. The food was slightly expensive at £6 for a small bowl of nachos, cheese and dip but it was very tasty so this compensated for what was essentially, the price of a bowl of crisps. Excellent location for A 40 and Oxford. Overall, we would return however it isnt a 4 star hotel, more of a 3. The staff were all friendly and polite and all made the effort to make you feel welcome.

Room Tip: If there is a function, ask not to have a room on the first floor above the Sheraton Suite. It is ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This hotel is in need of updating, looking tired and dark. The most uncomfortable bed we have slept in for a long time, mattress has had it. Staff are helpful and friendly but food is bait hit and miss.

Room Tip: Suggest you go for a twin as double beds are small
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oxford Witney Four Pillars Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Witney Four Pillars Hotel

Address: Ducklington Lane, Witney OX28 4EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Witney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Witney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oxford Witney Four Pillars Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We do not accept pets at the hotel as described in hotel policies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Oxford Witney Four Pillars Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Witney 4 Pillars Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oxford Witney Four Pillars Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.