We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Price is (not always) Right!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oxford Witney Four Pillars Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Oxford Witney Four Pillars Hotel to your Saves list
Oxford Witney Four Pillars Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ducklington Lane, Witney OX28 4EX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Witney
Wales
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The Price is (not always) Right!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This hotel is well placed to visit Oxford and the Cotswolds. The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are comfortable and they provide free wi-fi. The breakfast is average and your timing as to when you start your day is important! The meal in the restaurant has the feeling of 'one I prepared earlier' and is full of supplements and additional side orders. Unfortunately, I feel that this hotel's pricing policy lets it down. For example, they have a 'special mid week break' but only some rooms are allocated. They have special offers which can be more expensive than agencies and on a personal note they tried to charge us for a course which we had not ordered. Sorry to appear to be a moaner but the knowledge you are paying over £100 more than the next table for exactly the same does rather spoil your enjoyment...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    138
    88
    21
    14
See reviews for
48
132
16
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Excellent 4 star hotel in cotswolds - i had a room in the eves but was very good. Evening meal was ok but prtions could be bigger.Breakfast was the usual excellent english fare. Plenty of parking and a very helpful reception

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This was a bit of a guess, paying long in advance for a 3 nt Easter package inc. meals for a family room but, despite it being freezing outside we had a really good time. They put the families down the end of the room for meals - good idea - and apart from one really disjointed dinner service that was beyond bad (the adjoining table, arriving after us, finished their enire meal before our starters had been cleared - this with 2 children), the whole thing went fine. The menu was comprehensive enough to have something different each night, the children (and parents) enjoyed the pool/spa and the room was sizeable even with the extra beds. It's a really pleasant place to stay, good spec, in a pleasant corner of England. We'd certainly look at staying at their other hotels.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

we surprised my son and his girlfriend to a nights stay so this is what they told us. They both really enjoyed it they are both fitness fanatics so made full use of leisure facilities which they both loved.
The room was immaculate staff courteous and for two teenagers first experince of four star rated hotel they were not disappointed they ate in the hotel as we had booked them d,b,b. they both said dinner was delicious and staff were great and really friendly.
when we settled the bill at reception the young man behind the desk was extremely polite chatty and courteous.
my son would definately go again and we are now going to book a room for ourselves too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here in a last minute change of plan situation and was again disappointed after a previous stay.
The hotel is clean as one would hope but its the staff once again who let the venue down
BADLY
There is little attention to detail either in their service delivery or personal appearance and some came across as hating their job and guests equally.
Not good enough
There's better to be had locally
Four pillars need to retrain their staff pronto

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helston
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stay at this hotel at regular intervals for my job.I can honestly say that i have had no complaints,accomadation,food,service is second to none.I do not use the spa to tired.I would reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We are regulars to the hotel as we are leisure club members. Thought it would be nice to have the the occasional drink and bar meal. We stay in hotels all round the country, making comparinson, just seems that staff lack that extra edge expected of hotels. Dont order the £10 burger if you dont like it well done and dried out as this is the only way its cooked. Staff are a bit take it or leave it.
No one thought to sort out the fowl mouthed drunk workman still in his fluorescents dirty work boots in the bar amongst the guests, better suited to a spit and sawdust pub. The family who waited an hour to be seated finally got their table. Not many customers in the bar or restaraunt so is 30mins a reasonable time to wait for a bar snack?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oxford Witney Four Pillars Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Witney Four Pillars Hotel

Address: Ducklington Lane, Witney OX28 4EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Witney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Witney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oxford Witney Four Pillars Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We do not accept pets at the hotel as described in hotel policies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Oxford Witney Four Pillars Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Witney 4 Pillars Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oxford Witney Four Pillars Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.