We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oxford Witney Four Pillars Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Oxford Witney Four Pillars Hotel to your Saves list
Oxford Witney Four Pillars Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ducklington Lane, Witney OX28 4EX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Witney
lincoln
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“very good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

we booked this hotel very last minute on laterooms.com and was blown away with dinner, bed and breakfast for two for £70. the hotel staff were very professional and polite. the rooms clean and comfortable. Very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    138
    88
    21
    14
See reviews for
48
132
16
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

For the 3rd rear running we spent New Year at a Four Pillars and the second one in a run at Witney. We had a brilliant time, it's value for money, the service is excellent, the food though mass produced was of a superb quality and the staff can't do enough for you without being in your face all the time. Anna (GM) and her team are to be commended for their attention to detail, thanks to Alex and the serving team, the chefs and Kitchen staff and Kelly and the bar team - we had a great time as usual.

Rooms were great value, bathrooms could so with modernising but overall an excellent stay and a hotel I would definatley reccomend to travellers passing through this beautiful part of the country.

Room Tip: Go high, it's quiet (apart from the planes - not commercial ones though) and the rooms are lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Arrived at the hotel and was told that because our original room (standard double) was near the bar area and there were Christmas parties we were being moved to a quieter room. However when we got in the quieter room (1st floor, no lift/ elevator) it had 3 single beds. Went back down to reception to get the room changed, however when we got into it we were called by reception to say we had to change rooms again! Final room- was upgraded to a 'Connoisseur' room- room was fine; that's about it- nothing especially fancy! Staff were polite and apologetic about the room mix up etc, we ordered room service and this was also fine but really I don't understand why this hotel has had such rave reviews- it really is nothing special & for the price I was expecting more.

Room Tip: If you have luggage and don't fancy taking the stairs I'd ask for a ground floor room if pos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I stayed at this hotel last weekend. Check in was straight forward and friendly enough. I was allocated a downstairs room quite close to the bar. The room was clean and functional, although the bath was quite tight which meant that my feet sloped inwards when having a shower.
Breakfast was delicious with plenty to chose from. It was quite busy in the morning but the staff coped very well and all the food was kept topped up.
The hotel is situated outside of town so you will need to drive the 5 or so minutes into Witney itself

Room Tip: Rooms 1-16 are quite close to the bar and opposite reception, so avoid if you want a quieter stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alloa
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I stayed their for two days, the hotel in general is good for a modern no real issues food good location next to A40 so a bit of road noise but that was not to bad.

I was placed in room 3 in the block of room’s facing the party suit and bar exit, I would say the rooms numbering 1 to 19 are best to be avoided due to the noise from people leaving the bar and function rooms.

Otherwise a good modern hotel I personally prefer a place with more history to it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

we arrived at the hotel a little early and the room was ready quick check in and told how to get to the room and off we went.
we had paid for a superior room but when we entered we realised quite quickly we had a free further upgrade to top of the shop the room(suite) was enormas sette and 2 arm chairs dining table 2 bottles of wine complimentry we were well impressed.

we were informed after that we had the bridal suite

went for a swim and sauna with a sit in the jacuzzi that was an experience.

our price included 3 course meal and breakfast and it has been a long time since i have tasted food of that great quality
the staff in all areas were very well turned out and did an excellent job

all in all we would highly reccomend this hotel and already lookin to re book for another weekend

i did try and find something which nwas not up to standerd ...but i couldnt weel don Four pillars

Room Tip: upgrade to superior room or ask for room 102
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Originally booked for one night but on arrival reception were able to accommodate our request for second night. Booked a special offer of bed, breakfast and evening meal package. Hotel easy to find, although it is right next to busy road. Receptionists were extremely helpful and polite and again were able to accommodate my request to move room away from the road as I am a light sleeper.

Stayed in a Coniseur room which was very large, with very comfortable kingside bed. Lovely furnishings. Bathroom modern and clean although a little on the small size compared to the size of the room. Bathroom the same size as the smaller bedrooms.

Expected more toiletries considering we had upgraded to the larger room. Hotel was very clean. Gym was small but functional as was the swimming pool.

Had some trouble with the wifi connection which was frustrating when trying to work. Also had trouble booking beauty treatments at the Spa contained within the hotel, although this was no fault of the hotel as bookings had to be made direct to the Spa, who unfortunately had a sign on the door saying do not disturb for all of my stay plus didn't answer their phone.

Thursday night in restaurant had a great menu selection with outstanding service from Josh Jones who was in charge of the restaurant that night. He is a credit to the Hotel. Food was outstanding, and the breakfast had a great selection. Second night we attended restaurant only to be told there was a sudden change of menu that day, leaving only a choice of four items from each course. We had not been informed of this when booking and the duty manager on the night did not seem to understand our annoyance and was a little flippant in his answer.

He did however eventually allow us to choose from the full menu, although due to his attitude this did spoil our evening a little.

Hotel was perfectly situated for our needs and We would definitely book again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oxford Witney Four Pillars Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Witney Four Pillars Hotel

Address: Ducklington Lane, Witney OX28 4EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Witney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Witney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oxford Witney Four Pillars Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We do not accept pets at the hotel as described in hotel policies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Oxford Witney Four Pillars Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Witney 4 Pillars Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oxford Witney Four Pillars Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.