We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst cocktails ever!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Boar

The Blue Boar
28 Market Square, Witney OX28 6BH, England
01993 776353
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 90 Restaurants in Witney
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Carterton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Worst cocktails ever!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Been here before for cocktails abd thought it was nice even though very expensive. So we popped in for cocktails. ... however was the worst thing I had ever tasted! Obviously the expert cocktail maker was off duty.... theres cocktails were undrinkable and cost and arm and a leg... won't be visiting again! Very disappointing.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    64
    39
    31
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“After reading the reviews and studying in the hotel, slightly disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Firstly, they double booked our reserved table and didnt even apologise for it. The menu looked good, almost too much choice, value wise not great-£19 for a ribeye is 5* London prices...and £15 for a cottage pie, you would expect the best, I nearly asked for salt and pepper but didnt want to make a fuss...during starters, I asked for a rocket salad to add to mains, I got it mid starters....and it wasn't even dressed, asked for olive oil to dress it myself. The portions were so big I couldn't even try the desserts...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The Blue Boar excels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

After reading some mixed reviews I decided that everyone deserves the benefit of the doubt. We all have off days and leave some negative posts. Our food was just excellent. Started with calamari which was perfectly cooked and mouth wateringly tender.To follow was aged beef ribs cooked slowly which were to die for, probably the best I have ever tasted. The service was attentive and timely. All in all a great dining experience and would highly recommend this establishment.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This pub, in a small country town serves the best food at reasonable prices. Don't miss it. The courtyard area is great in summer but I think you may have to book in winter as the space inside seems smaller.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable meal.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We read some awful reviews but trusted a good friend's recommendation. We weren't disappointed. Good service and very nice food led to us having 3 courses, rare for us! No room for coffee!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Boar also viewed

Witney, Oxfordshire
Witney, Oxfordshire
 
Witney, Oxfordshire
Witney, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Blue Boar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Boar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.