We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Food, Accommodation OK” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Star Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Star Inn to your Saves list
Star Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Watery Lane | Sparsholt, Wantage OX12 9PL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wantage
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Food, Accommodation OK”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed one night mid-week. The Dinner was faultless, as was the service. The accommodation is new and feels unfinished. We stayed in room 3, a ground floor double, clean and well presented, but the view is of a larchlap fence 2 feet from the window. There was no towel rail in the bathroom, and although there was hot water in the evening there was none from the taps in the morning (electric shower OK though).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    16
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
15
22
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

5 of us went for Sunday lunch 3 weeks ago. I venture this place should be Mitchelin 2 star. Service great by the seniors and the youngsters.Best sirloin for months, best gravy EVER. The roasts were tip top as were the veg. Linen napkins, very good espresso. An improvement? Champagne by the glass. A half bottle would do the trick. If we did not live 2 hours drive , it would be most Sundays.

Room Tip: wwe did not stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

The Star Inn is in a small village and not far from Wantage and was an ideal place to stop for one night after working nearby.

The rooms are still a work in progress - we chose the best available (number 8) which is a small suite. There are still a few issues to be sorted as the place is still quite new, for example no soap tray in the shower (which was good), not much embellishment in the bedroom itself but our comments were noted.

The main reason to come though is to eat, the chef has an excellent track record and the menu was interesting and all the dishes we tried worked out well. The let down is the wine list and having looked in advance at the list on-line we asked about BYO which they agreed to. The management are aware the wine list needs improvement and will be taking steps to develop this.

It was a quiet Thursday evening in the restaurant and only two staff on duty at front of house but service was very polished and everybody in the place was very friendly.

This is a place with real potential to improve and the attitude is right to do this. We will certainly return if we are in the area again.

Room Tip: Some rooms have not yet been refurbished so check in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We went to Star Inn on Friday for dinner and wow we were impressed. Its a little hamlet off the beaten track but well worth the effort of getting there. From the moment we arrived we felt most welcome. As we walked to the front door we were greeted by the gentlemen that runs this place and from then on the service continued, very friendly and efficient staff. The food was also excellent not your average menu some different things but everything we had was delicious. The price we paid for the standard of food I think was reasonable £88 for 3 courses and a bottle of wine for 2. Def a talented chef and my main course especially (turbot) was of equal standard to a michelin star resturant I visited in London recently. Only comment on food was they seem to like millett which was in both my dishes and I was not too keen on that but still enjoyed the rest immensely. Def havent had this standard of food in a pub/restaurant around here for a long time, will def make the effort to go back and def worth a visit if you are in this area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We needed somewhere to stay that was local for an event we were attending and came across this online. The room was super, the Staff were great (especially Mike) and breakfast was delicious. All in all a great stay! Thanks for having us Danni & Josh

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

About 2 years ago this was a scruffy pub and now it is a very plain, but tastefully decorated restaurant which is staffed by extremely friendly young people. If you are happy with quite rich food, some combinations were very unusual but certainly worked, and smallish portions then you have found the right place. We had guinea fowl which sort of worked, it had been boned and rolled up to look like a fat pale sausage and sadly was tough and dry but I would say ten out of ten for trying! Their prices are quite toppy and the wine list, although it has to cater for a wide ranging audience, could benefit from some advice from some professional advice!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We were a party of 8 - 4 adults, 4 kids, and managed to get an early evening table at short notice. All our dishes were wonderful - I'd recommend almost any of them. The John Dory was served with millet - very unusual, a little like crunchy cous cous - accompanied with a lemon butter sauce. the smoked eel starter was wonderful, as was the 'crispy pig's head' - not as challenging as it sounds - tender flaked pork in a deep fried coating, a little like spring rolls. Service was very friendly and obliging. The kids' meals were good too. The portions are on the small side, but very stylishly presented and really imaginative. I thought the prices were fair for the quality of cooking.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Star Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Inn

Address: Watery Lane | Sparsholt, Wantage OX12 9PL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Wantage
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wantage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Star Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Star Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Wantage
Star Inn Wantage, Oxfordshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.