We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service ...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Swan at Tetsworth

The Swan at Tetsworth
5 High Street, Tetsworth | OX9 7AB, Thame OX9 7AB, England
+44 1844 281182
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Swan at Tetsworth is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 27 Restaurants in Thame
Price range: $19 - $31
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Using only the best ingredients and driven by the seasons, our kitchen shows a dedication to well cooked French dishes where classic recipes simply allow the food to shine. Our Chefs cook with love with the freshest and highest quality ingredients mostly from local produce. Come and taste our fine French cuisine. We are open daily from 10 am - 6 pm, and Fridays and Saturdays in the evening.
oxford
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I have eaten here three times now. The menu is classic french food and everything my companions and I have ordered has been delicious. The croque Monsieur being my stand out dish. I love all the nice touches they do such as the rout being home smoked and the delicious fresh baked crusty bread served with butter and rosemary salt.
The service has always been friendly and flawless and the manager always happy to chat. The garden area is stunning, unfortunately it has rained every time I have visited. Definitely a reason to go back.
The only reason why I have not awarded it five stars is because it is expensive. If they had a cheaper set menu then it would be perfect.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    22
    5
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Great place especialy if you want to have a rummage around in the antiques next door. Well worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Gotta love the atmosphere, friendliness ....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We usually go into Thame for lunch but as the restaurants were full we decided to use trip advisor for a local recommendation - The Swan came up as No 1 - went down with our Labrador and a warm welcome from everyone - what I really liked about the restaurant is that you feel you are in France - from the bar area and restaurant through to Antoine and team making sure you enjoy the whole experience - Great food - try the Sea Bass if you get chance - liked it so much took my Dad back this week...

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Francophile's Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We had a wondrous Sunday lunch at this atmospheric hostelry attached to the huge antiques shop in Tetsworth. Best to be clear this is not your usual 'carvery' 'roast of the day' pub so don't expect to be full to the gunnels with stodge, the menu, cooking and portions are much more finessed than that, all underpinned with strong Gallic influences. An extensive and exciting menu made choosing a challenge. Pleased to see some sharing dishes such as Chateaubriand and suckling pig - would be lovely for a party, and there is a semi-private room for larger tables. Sourcing is exemplary. Children don't get a patronising menu, but can order half-portions of anything on the full menu. And, piece de resistance, they offer real chips. As in chips cut from a real chipping potato on site and fried to order in fresh oil. As the maitre d' said, with French understatement and a shrug, it's very easy to do.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A quality resaurant for Tetsworth to be proud of”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Just had a meal there today...fresh not frozen sea bass the best I have experienced to date.
My wife and I enjoyed three quality courses each ,happy friendly staff and a good atmosphere.
Good value for money ...Will be back soon ...give it a go. .But leave some sea bass for me !

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Swan at Tetsworth also viewed

Thame, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Thame, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Swan at Tetsworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Swan at Tetsworth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.