We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good and busy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Thatch

The Thatch
29 - 30 | High Street, Thame OX9 2AA, England
01844 214 340
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Thatch is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 30 Restaurants in Thame
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $23 - $39
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Home Style
Transit: Bus to Oxford / Aylesbury from out side the Pub. Nearest railway station is Haddenham and Thame.
Description: The Thatch is run by the award-winning Peach Pub Company. Founder, Lee Cash, was one of Raymond Blanc's inspectors on the TV show and, with co-founder Hamish Stoddart, was recently named in the Observer's Future 500 survey as one of the UK's Top 50 Talents in food. Peach's other Oxfordshire pubs, The Fishes in North Hinksey & The Fleece in Witney both feature in the Michelin Guide 2008.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very good and busy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Went for dinner sat 23rd march about 8:30pm, we didn't book which was a mistake as it was v busy.
We had a drink at the bar and was seated in 45 mins.
Nice bottle of prosecco and we chose two mains from the board which was nicely presented and explained.
We had the Salmon and the Pork which were divine, 10/10.
For desserts a valrhona chocolate tart a disappointment and a creme brûlée which was enjoyed 7/10
Atmosphere was v good and lively, 9/10
Overall v good and would recommend to friends and family.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    88
    48
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Excellent food & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

From an impressively diverse menu (including specials board) our group of 4 chose a wide variety of 3 course options between us. All were enjoyed immensely by everyone, which says a lot for the quality of the cooking and ingredients. We even asked for a side order not on the menu, and this was delivered without any difficulty, with a friendly and accommodating attitude.

Service was very pleasant throughout the evening and the restaurant area had a relaxed and welcoming atmosphere. Next time I'm in the area I will be heading straight back to this lovely spot.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was my first visit to the Thatch. It was a family Sunday lunch party, which was held in the private dining room. Be aware, that this room has a very low ceiling and some members of our party are quite tall - bruises are just fading... Parking is limited at the back of the pub, with on-street parking but most of that was taken.

The group sat in the bar on arrival. There were a lot of people in what seems to be a very popular pub/restaurant, which meant we were a bit squashed up but the atmosphere was pleasant. When we were finally taken into the room, I noticed there were no table napkins but a young lad brought a pile of paper ones when I asked. There was a menu and a blackboard of specials, which the waitress read from. It would have been better to have seen the board and menus when we were waiting for the table. The starters we shared were OK but we needed more and had to go in search of waiting staff and then wait some time. We didn't see too much of the staff as they seemed to be run off their feet but when we did see them, they were all very pleasant and helpful. The food was to a reasonably good pub standard but portions weren't very generous.

If I were to visit this place again, I would avoid weekends and instead try a mid-week lunch in the hope that I would get speedier, more relaxed service and an opportunity to discuss the food on offer. I accept that good food is worth the wait but had I known it would take so long I would have had breakfast that morning.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Made our day so special !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My son and daughter in law got married on Saturday 9th March. They wanted a small, intimate and relaxed day so chose The Thatch for their wedding luncheon. We booked the private dining room which was absolutely beautiful, nothing was too much trouble for the staff.
The food was, as always of a very high standard and the kitchen had accommodated an off menu request for a guest with dietary requirements with no trouble, we had pre booked this request.
The staff ensured there was a parking space for the bridal car and 1 other. The day was everything they had hoped for and more and The Thatch played a big part in that. A day we will never forget. Thank you to all the staff.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere with really good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I would describe this as a gastro pub, but done to a very good standard. There were 5 of us and everyone was very happy with their food, except for one desert which had obviously been left on the side too long and was a bit cold. However that was a minor blip and everyone else really enjoyed their meals. My main was the tuna steak, which was the special of the day, and I thought was perfectly cooked. The waitress was very friendly and efficient, and this combined with the food makes this a good place to eat. An added bonus was that it was not over the top expensive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Thatch also viewed

 
Thame, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Thatch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Thatch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.