We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Spread Eagle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Spread Eagle Hotel to your Saves list
The Spread Eagle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 -17 Cornmarket, Thame OX9 2BW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Thame
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Really lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed after escaping the madness and traffic of Oxford... Such warmth and genuine kindness by the receptionist was much appreciated the room was lovely quite charming very clean and comfortable the feather quilts are a real bonus. Would recommend it !

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    84
    60
    56
    30
See reviews for
47
132
10
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed recently with my partner as we were visiting family in the local area. Absolutely charming hotel. The whole feeling is of quaint luxury with bags of charm. Room was beautifully decorated and spacious- impressive given the historic nature of the building, and had all the facilities you'd expect/need. Breakfast was delicious, with staff friendly and eager to help. We had some car trouble whilst we were there and a member of the management went out of his way to help us out. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: We paid the (very) slightly higher rate for a luxury room and couldn't fault it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Our wedding was nearby so we chose this hotel for our accommodation, the staff were very friendly and helpful and really went out of their way for us even putting my flowers in the fridge for me so they stayed fresh overnight. The room was one of the refurbished ones and was really beautifully finished, with lots of character and clean with a very comfy bed. Breakfast was a well stocked usual affair of English breakfast and pastries which was all very good and all our guests had a pleasant stay. My only negative which I really must mention would be the car park, where you have to pay and get a ticket which meant we had people trying to remember to put tickets on their cars at 2am or something silly like that so they wouldn't have run out by the time they woke up. I'm sure it was free for guests when we first went there to look at the place. Anyway apart from that I thought it was a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished one if they haven't all already been done yet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This old coaching Inn is definitely in need of the planned makeover. The restaurant has had such treatment with excellent interior design work, but unfortunately the restaurant food did not live up to the décor and our room had not yet had the required refurbishment.

The hotel breakfast price is very high if it is not included in the room rate. Since there are delightful little coffee shops doing breakfast near by, we went to one near Waitrose.

A lot of the logic of such an Inn in Thame is rather lost now the M40 bypasses it and one wonders what the future holds for this kind of business. Thame itself is a delight. This is a quintessentially English traditional market town with great walks (information office in centre offers leaflets for at least 6 such walks), nice pubs and historic buildings. It was a pleasure to stroll around and as a base for touring the location offers easy drives to Oxford, Blenheim, Waddesdon Manor and indeed Windsor. The hotel car park (at rear) provides more than ample parking and I can imagine it would be a great tourist base for this part of the country.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerThame, Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Sir

Thank you for your review of our hotel. As mentioned in previous replies, since your stay in May 2013 our hotel as progressed further with its refurbishment. This has given us very positive feedback from the guests who have stayed with us. I hope you will visit us again soon and experience all the Spread Eagle has to offer now that the renovations are nearing completion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We came here in February and loved the hotel, with it's quaint charm and history. The bar and restaurant area is stunning and the refurbished room was lovely, had a great nights sleep. Breakfast was delicious with a good selection and the staff were really friendly and helpful too. Would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Tatty carpets; badly-cooked breakfast; broken toilet seat; broken camp bed - struggling to find something positive to say about our stay here in a family room. I can only assume that the photos on their site are taken in an entirely different part of the hotel......
Won't ever stay here again; nor would I recommend to others.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms in our experience of having booked 2 family rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerThame, Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear SSpeake

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay at The Spread Eagle. Whilst there is no excuse for the problems you have outlined I can only assure you that we are currently 70% complete on the refurbishment of our 16th Century Hotel. Our newly refurbished rooms are proving to be very popular with guests who have recently stayed in them and they have all provided positive feedback, not only to us, but have also recommended us to their friends and family. I hope the next time you are in Thame you will visit the hotel so I can personally show you the improvements that have been made throughout the Hotel and restore your confidence in us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitstable
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

visiting son in nearby village, unable to book in at usual place (luxury manor house) were won over by description of Spread Eagle. Arrived late evening Difficult to locate car park. Room 30 up several flights of stairs. Small, dinghy room. Broken window panes. Hot so had to open window and secure with sawn off chunk of wood. No toiletries, no glasses for water, no fridge, poor lighting, dodgy shower. Comfortable bed. OK breakfast, good coffee, okish staff. Next time for the same cost we'll return to the luxury Manor House.

Room Tip: wish I could but we were thankfully there for just one night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Spread Eagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spread Eagle Hotel

Address: 16 -17 Cornmarket, Thame OX9 2BW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Thame
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Thame
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Spread Eagle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Spread Eagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Spread Eagle Hotel Thame, Oxfordshire, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Spread Eagle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.