We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly & great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Spread Eagle Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Spread Eagle Hotel to your Saves list
The Spread Eagle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 -17 Cornmarket, Thame OX9 2BW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Thame
New York, New York, United States
1 review
“Friendly & great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Stayed here for a friends wedding in March, staff were very friendly and accomodating even though we checked in after midnight.
Room was modern, well decorated...not overly spacious but fine for the price.
Breakfast the next morning was excellent.
Would reccomend it.

Room Tip: Apparently some of the doubles have not been upgraded so would suggest asking for one of the newer o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    84
    60
    56
    29
See reviews for
46
131
10
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Good location, plenty of car-parking. We enjoyed our one night stay on a Friday night. The reception staff were friendly and welcoming. We were upgraded to a deluxe room that had been recently refurbished. The room was well appointed and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was immaculate, the only disappointment was the shower which was lacking pressure and took an age to get warm water through. We had an excellent meal in their restaurant, but the service was incredibly slow to the point of being irritating - we had to go to the bar to get further drinks. Overall though we were happy with both the quality of our meal and the standard of our accommodation and we would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Stayed here recently for one night due to a business trip. I have been a fairly regular guest at The Spread Eagle and was happy to book again.
Currently, not all of bedrooms in the hotel have been upgraded through a lengthy refurbishment programme. I was assigned Room 5 which was rather tired looking. Wardrobe handle missing, wall discolouring, broken coathangers & very bland en suite bathroom fixtrues and fittings.
The upside was that I had a good night's sleep in a rather comfortable bed with excellent pillows.
Would I book again? Probably but I would ensure that I had a refurbished bedroom.

Room Tip: Insist on a room which had been upgraded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012 via mobile

Great location, comfortable room (although a bit tacky), friendly staff but the restaurant leaves a lot to be desired. I would suggest eating a the 6 bells up the road and avoid the poncey overpriced bland rubbish in the Eagle.

Would I stay again ? Yes, but not on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis !

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

We booked what was suppose to be a luxury room but as others on this site have said the rooms although refurbished are not to the standard they claim, it had been decorated but quite poorly! We had room 20 (above the bar!), with an extremely sloping floor, faulty bathroom light and MDF wardrobe, which for £100 a night is not acceptable. It is clear there has been some good refurbishment in the bar and restaurant, but it hasn't carried on to the rest of the hotel. We found the staff (reception) to be very unhelpful, no pleasentries and did you enjoy your stay, just going through the motions, and I am a wedding photographer and see many hotels and many good staff and some not quite so good, and experience has shown over the years that good staff can make or break a hotel. All in all I probably wouldn't bother going back.

Room Tip: Do not use room 20!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We were booked into a Garden Room which had been refurbished (but not the bathroom). Unfortunately standards in the bathroom were definitely below standard. Poor flow on the shower, cracked toilet seat and crooked as one of the rubbers damaged. No hot water when we came back from our dinner/dance.
Unfortunately, for us there was no heat in the Garden Wing over the weekend, corridors cold, no heat in bathroom and only a plug-in provided in the bedroom. (The Receptionist said the emergency plumber did not turn up but other people said they hadn't had any heat the day before. The door to the garden was locked with no key and in fact looked out on a brick wall. One of the reading lights above the bed was not working. The safe didn't work. Put- you- up beds lining the corridor to our room did not give a good impression. All in all a very disappointing experience and when I tried to leave feedback for the Manager today - he did not call me back.
On the plus side - the room was quiet so we had a good nights sleep (until the maids cleaning the bedrooms down the hall woke us up). We also had a good egg and bacon breakfast in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Dont choose Room 39 until the faults have been rectified. I cant speak for the other rooms although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

The staff were very hlepful but the room was a big dissapointment. The wallpaper was peeling off the wall in the bedroom and bathroom and the entire decor looked old and tired. The shower had no pressure and the temperature of the water can be described as 'tepid' at best. £85 for bed and breakfast appeared reasonable, until you see that there is a surcharge for a full English! The bar is very nice but the room really let the hotel down. Definately not value for money.

Room Tip: rooms next to corridor doors are very noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Spread Eagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spread Eagle Hotel

Address: 16 -17 Cornmarket, Thame OX9 2BW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Thame
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Thame
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Spread Eagle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Spread Eagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Spread Eagle Hotel Thame, Oxfordshire, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Spread Eagle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.