We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful if you book a twin room!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Thame Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Travelodge Thame Hotel to your Saves list
Travelodge Thame Hotel
A418 Long Crendon Road, Thame OX9 3SB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Thame
Kings Langley, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Be careful if you book a twin room!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Be careful if you book a twin room as you will either get a double or a double with a very uncomfortable zed-bed next to it. I checked and double-checked when I booked, and before we arrived, and they still got it wrong. They didn't seem to care much when I raised it as an issue when we checked in. Poor customer service. I will avoid Travelodge in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge Thame Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Toby H, we’re really sorry to hear that you were not allocated the room you were expecting. We would like to be able to look into this for you. In order for us to do this please could you visit our website and use the Contact Us button to tell us more and when doing so please indicate you have followed this link from Tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    41
    21
    5
    13
See reviews for
38
27
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed in a number of Travelodge's in Oxfordshire recently [Peartree, Bicester] and Thame has got to be my favourite. A lovely refurbished quiet room, with a very comfortable bed. Staff were very lovely, and a 'Little Chef' next door for a decent hot meal. Note: if you cant sleep in complete darkness like myself bring a night light! Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We decided to stay at this Travelodge for a friends wedding as it was close & convenient. We were greeted by a room full of flies & despite complaining to reception this was never rectified. Terrible stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge Thame Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
We are sorry to learn of the cleanliness issues you encountered during your stay Jennifer D. When you enter a room we expect it to be cleaned to a specific, high standard. Our housekeeping team follow a regular routine in the cleaning and preparation of a room. We are sorry to learn about the issues with your room and will let our hotel staff know so they are able to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed here for one night before moving on to a family wedding and i have to say i was impressed. I booked 3 rooms at the travelodge purely for cheapness and i was very sceptical as in the past i have stayed in some bad ones and normally wont entertain them, however i had a pleasant surprise at how nice this one was.
It had recently been refurbished so that probably made the difference, the room was large, airy and well equipped, the bed was very comfortable and it was a pleasure getting ready for the wedding in the morning.
Check in was easy and the Receptionist very welcoming and helpful. Also plenty of parking on site too.
There is a Little Chef next door which again i wouldnt normally go to but it was reasonably priced and did a great breakfast choice and was run by a very helpful, welcoming man who made sure our breakfasts were ready quick as we didnt have too much time.
I would recommend this Travelodge and would certainly use it again if needed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Thame was great, the hotel was very comfy, there is a little Chef across the carpark,. I know people say about little Chef being expensive but we didnt think it was. we had breakfast and dinner there. We stayed in Thame for 2 nights. The room was clean and large as usual. The bathroom was fine. This hotel is a new look hotel, and that is a good thing. I would look for travelodge with an updated look.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed here for one night on Thursday 16th May. Last time we stayed it was in the process of being spruced up. We said at the time we wouldn't stay again as the bed was so uncomfortable.

However, what a difference and had a good night's sleep.

We had a late arrival due to road problems, but we were made very welcome. So when we are in the area again we know where we will be staying so I don't think you can get a better recommendation than that.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Good location, very spacious room, comfortable accommodation with friendly staff, get room near the front car park opposite the Little Chef and pick up free Wifi. Would recommend although tea and coffee a little sparse

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Travelodge Thame Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Thame Hotel

Address: A418 Long Crendon Road, Thame OX9 3SB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Thame
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Thame
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Travelodge Thame Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Lodge Oxford
Travelodge Oxford
Oxford Travelodge
Travelodge Thame Hotel Oxfordshire, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Thame Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.