We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent foot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Six Bells

The Six Bells
44 Lower High Street, Thame OX9 2AD, England
01844 212 088
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 27 Restaurants in Thame
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Excellent foot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I had a meal at the Six Bells, one evening a couple of weeks ago and then today for lunch. The food is superb, very tasty and well presented. Service was excellent, staff very friendly. We were informed that the wait for food may be 30mins today but actually was served much sooner than this. Home made condiments were delicious. Although a short walk from the main center, definitely worth walking that little bit further! Failing that, there does also appear to be a reasonable sized car park. Can highly recommend the food at the Six Bells and will definitely be returning.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    35
    14
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

A decent beer garden and consistently good food in a beautiful building. The service can be a little slow at times, but the quality is always pleasing.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Food was ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

service was generally good but they forgot to bring us our bread that we ordered as a starter and then when i mentioned it on the way out to check it had not been added to the bill the waitress just confirmed she had not added it to the bill and no apology or remark as to why we didn't receive it.

Homemade burger was huge and very nice , a spicy or garlic version would be nice to see on the menu,-

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good pub and garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The Six Bells is a little way out of the centre of Thame and on a recent Saturday lunchtime it was quieter than other pubs in town so we stopped there for lunch. Good choice of beers and wines by the glass. We both had sandwiches which were freshly prepared, well-filled and came with a small side order of fries which was fine for lunch in our opinion.

The beer garden out back is very nicely decorated although unfortunately it started raining quite unexpectedly and the staff had to dash out and remove all of the cushions etc to prevent them being drenched. Luckily we had finished eating before the rain so ducked inside the pub to finish our drinks. Will certainly return if in Thame in future.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

hi all me and my family went there for a birthday dinner the food was very good the staff very helpful .the menu is new as they said they have a new chef we booked to eat in the restaurant but as it was hot we had our food outside .we would defiantly go back they even make there own ice cream

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Six Bells also viewed

Thame, Oxfordshire
Thame, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Six Bells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Six Bells, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.