We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky, but service remains an issue” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crazy Bear Hotel, Stadhampton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Crazy Bear Hotel, Stadhampton to your Saves list
Crazy Bear Hotel, Stadhampton
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bear Lane, Stadhampton OX44 7UR, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stadhampton
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Quirky, but service remains an issue”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We have visited here numerous times and booked a table for three for a late lunch at 14.30 a few days ago. While enjoying a drink at the bar at 14.50 we were told we needed to order immediately as the kitchen closed at 15.00 This we did but no mention of this made at booking.

We ate in the bar area which can be busy and noisy but our large table for three was in fact laid for two so needed to be rearranged, we had called to advise we would be a party of three not two.

Service is rarely with a smile but the food on this occasion was great, served quickly and generous portions and we all enjoyed our meal. Do be aware when you book a table you will be asked if you want the English or Thai menu on the day, it seems impossible to persuade them to let us choose when we arrive and new visitors would not know what was on the menu anyway.

Our bill for three people, three starters, three mains, four glasses of wine, two glasses of champagne, one beer and one water was £134 We left at 16.45 but we're not out under any pressure to leave or vacate the table. Bar was busy with Xmas parties but atmosphere good.

This place could be so much better than it is. Customer service is poor, and it lives off its, in my opinion, ostentatious reputation and kitsch decor which is not to my taste. It's convenient for us to meet friends there, but it's a better place in the summer when you can sit outside in the garden.

Overall, it could take itself less seriously, stop trying to be elitist (which it isn't) and price their food, drink and rooms more sensibly.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    41
    32
    15
    21
See reviews for
6
128
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Went with a friend for a lunch & few drinks. Very cozy bar area with big open fire, tasty looking menu we had a lobster club sandwich and beef burger both excellent full of flavour with triple cooked chips yum. Not the cheapest place for lunch but worth at least one visit. Service was 10/10 polite well dressed staff, been back twice since top high end place for a few drinks and excellent food. Thank you Crazy Bear

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Regardless of whether you pay full price or get a groupon discount, it is a waste of money. I honestly would have rathered stay in the Holiday Inn!

Once we checked in at reception, we were shown by a young man to our room, from the moment we stepped away from the hotel, down a very wet and heavily puddled dark country lane which led onto a dark busy road with lots of cars, it was so dark the boy was trying to use his iphone to show us the way which was very little help, he had no torch and we were up as close to the side of the road as possible but still on the road, avoiding being hit by a car! We entered the room which was not part of the main building and was an individual outhouse backing onto a T-junction which we had never been made previously aware of, it was clear that this hotel room was not satisfactory from the moment we entered. The actual bedroom was not only very small, but it seemed like we were paying for a huge lounge with cheap, faux leather, black sofas and an empty entertaining space large enough for 15 people, nothing about it was cosy, inviting or enticing not to mention the 20 year old TV with tangled wires coming out of the wall. The bedroom was a terrible design with no bedside tables, a very old television, a small wire framed double bed with the head of the bed right up against the windows facing onto the busy roads. The bathroom had no bath mat, no mirror in front of the sink, no towel rail, very dated facilities, even all the basics were missing. Not only was the master bedroom tiny, however there was an extra single/storage room, which was completely pointless and once again appeared you were paying for everything except a nice, high standard spacious room.

The whole room and property had a terribly odour, smelling of the boys loos at a school – there was no getting away from this smell it was stuck in the velvet walls surrounding the whole building. We read on the website, prior to booking ‘Our dramatic refurbishment was completed in January to offer you an eclectic choice of sixteen individually designed bedrooms’’ – I am confident to say that it appeared Superior Room 10 had not benefitted from the ‘dramatic refurbishment’!

We travelled especially to the Crazy Bear for a celebration and it was an enormous disappointment. All we wanted was a smart, clean, spacious room and even that was too much to ask! DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

We then had to go through the process of Feedback to the 'feedback customer service director' who was un-responsive for over two weeks, which was a very long drawn out process and generally a clear reflection of the hotel and her (Julia's) unwillingness to respond.

I hope this is of help...

Room Tip: DO not stay here and if you have to make sure there is not a wedding and you aren't shoved into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stadhampton hotels

Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Crazy Bear as it was the venue for our staff Christmas party. What a contrast between the two separate elements of our stay.

First the good. The hotel.
Fab, quirky, unusual, different, welcoming. From the moment we arrived to check in at the old London red bus reception area we were made very welcome. Check in was fast and efficient but then there was a short delay waiting for someone to take us to our room. "please have a glass of Champagne whilst you're waiting". Don't mind if I do! The room was very unusual. Velvet walls and ceiling, Zebra print carpet and one wall studded and padded leather! The bathroom was a floor to ceiling tiled wet room which was very nice. Breakfast in the morning was excellent. Where possible the produce comes from their own farm next door. The bacon and ducks eggs were fab.

Now the bad. The event.
DO NOT BOTHER. This is just a money making exercise for the owners. The number of people was double what would have been an acceptable level. We were crammed in like sardines. The dance floor was a postage stamp so very few people were up and dancing, this ruined the atmosphere. We did not see any entertainment from where our table was so this was a waste of time. The food was awful. We had to wait so long before we were called to the buffet area that the most popular dishes were gone and were not being replenished. Further, the food that was available was luke warm and I cannot bear food that is not piping hot. I had some cold salad dishes, saw no entertainment and could not dance. And all this for £120 for my wife and I. So, what a contrast between the hotel and the event.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I went to one of the organised Christmas parties and would caution anyone against doing so in future. I went two years ago and had a really nice time, so was eagerly anticipating a festive night out with colleagues (our party was around 50 people, so not a small number). However, on arrival it became apparent that this was a real moneymaking extravaganza by the owners. There were way too many people packed into the glasshouse area which serves as the party venue, with virtually no standing room for socialising. The drink prices were scandalous, with cocktails at £12.95, a single shot of any spirit at £7.95 and even soft drinks costing £3.95. The buffet was delicious, but when it started serving at 8pm and the tables furthest away didn't get called to get their meals until 9:45pm, much of the enjoyment was removed, particularly as this also meant that those with less advantageous seating were unable to enjoy the entertainment. The 'dance floor' was laughably small for the amount of people packed in too and thus I left, having been miserably hungry for half of the evening, missed the entertainment and unable to let my hair down with a dance. I won't be back for any events, this was horribly overpriced for the quality of experience. I would still return for food, as the standard is high.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didcot, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been to the crazy bear a few times and the food is always great. The decor is lovely and the staff are great! I would say it over priced for what you get as have better food for a lot less but is a nice place to go for an occasion. They do have some good deals on groupon which are usually two meals for £49.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked the Crazy Bear for an anniversary night away with my gf. I didnt want somewhere too far from London and just fancied something a bit different; the CB definitley ticks those boxes (50mins from W London fyi).

On arrival (in the dark) we felt the signposting to the car park could be a little better and most if you havent been before you'd probably head for the green light as opposed to the rear car park.

The reception bus is a great quirky feature and makes you feel like you are arriving somewhere that bit different.

We stayed in the purple suite (room 6 i think) and were a bit dissapointed it is 150m away down a dark lane from the main building. We felt this shoudl really be noted on the website as you feel like you are staying at a b&b with a seperate dining room / bar complex as opposed to a self contained hotel.

The room was great and just a bit of fun. The bath is a great feature and overall were happy with what we had.

We dined at the English restaurant but had some pre drinks and a couple of Thai starters to begin with. The bar is fitted out really well and has a great atmosphere (we were there on a Sunday eve). The Thai starters were excellent too!

We had the signature menu in the restaurant and were really pleased with the meal; some great dishes (particularly the Pork) and left feeling very satisfied.

The bar is open as long as you want for residents and we decided to havea few more drinks before retiring, this did mean trying a few of their home brewed vodka's.... Mars, horseradish to name a few and a nice quirk to the evening.

The staff were all very attentive and accommodating.

Overall a good experience but we wouldnt go back to stay at the cost. I think it is a great place to be a local of and would reccomend it hugely for lunch / dinner / few drinks.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crazy Bear Hotel, Stadhampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crazy Bear Hotel, Stadhampton

Address: Bear Lane, Stadhampton OX44 7UR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Stadhampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stadhampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crazy Bear Hotel, Stadhampton 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original Crazy Bear has been entertaining guests since its creation in 1993. Abundant gardens, eclectic design, award winning dining and inventive facilities, within eighty acres of working farmland all contribute to its distinctive personality. The Crazy Bear Stadhampton is a unique oasis in a countryside setting, and is the foundation for our Crazy Bear culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crazy Bear Hotel, Stadhampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crazy Bear Stadhampton
Hotel Crazy Bear
Crazy Bear Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crazy Bear Hotel, Stadhampton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.