We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“birthday break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Oxford Belfry

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Oxford Belfry to your Saves list
The Oxford Belfry
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   London Road, Milton Common OX9 2JW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Milton Common
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Luton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“birthday break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

lovely location, rooms were lovely, clean, nice bathroom and shower also clean. we went for the spa package, over night stay, 3 course dinner, breakfast and lunch plus a 50 min treatment, great value for money. only down side the spa facilities weren't very good as the steam room wasn't very steamy, not enuough chairs around the pool to relax, not enough towels and robes and the receptionist didn't seem to know what to do. the food was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBjwhite, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear susand628,
Thank you for your comments and I'm pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your spa break. Please be assured I have noted your comments regarding the spa facilities and I hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    377
    157
    74
    42
See reviews for
142
452
26
182
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I arranged a hen do here last weekend. We had the spa package which was great value for money. The total price included the night in the hotel, 3 course dinner, breakfast and lunch. The food was amazing! Everyone enjoyed it and the restaurant was very accommodating with a few allergies that some people had.

Excellent service by all staff and which made the whole say very enjoyable!

Room Tip: The Double Q Star rooms are excellent! We had one for the hen and it was so big that we were all abl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBjwhite, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear ssach85,
I am delighted that you enjoyed your hen weekend with us and that the team looked after you so well; thank you for your kind comments. As you mention, we offer great value all inclusive spa breaks and we do find that these are particularly popular with our hen parties. Best wishes for the wedding!
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights for business meeting. Excellent location, size, amenities (gym can get crowded though). Bedroom was on ground floor - not a problem - but very dark only because there were no ceiling lights only wall and table lamps. Was able to link my tablet to TV with HDMI cable so could view what i had already downloaded. Breakfast day 1 was excellent with black pudding (!) and all meat cut by eye rather than electric slicer. Staff falling over you and really really attentive. Day 2 next to no staff and really dull atmosphere; really really bizarre.

Can't really fault Q Hotels bar the negatives above

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBjwhite, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear shiny653,
Thank you for your comments; I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall but would like to assure you that your comment regarding breakfast has been noted. I hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Set in a great setting, just off the beaten track but close enough to get in to Oxford this place offers full value for money with courteous staff, excellent accommodation and good food. Everyone I met offered was more than friendly, they offered a genuine willingness to talk and interact whilst ensuring that everytihng you wanted could be catered for during our stay.

Room Tip: Higher floor could be slightly more quite but nothing at all wrong with the ground floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBjwhite, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear DavePNE,
I think you've summed us up very well; thank you for your kind comments and I hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on a 2 night spa break with some friends. Paid £200 each for 2 nights - including 2 x 50 minute spa treatments, breakfast, dinner and lunch on one day. This was quite a reasonable price for the quality of food, rooms and treatments (have a look at spaseekers.com for this and similar deals).

First impressions - the reception area looks slightly bland, but this is a minor criticism. The reception staff were efficient and helpful. The rooms were very nice, quiet and cozy (was freezing cold outside when I visited in February!) with comfortable beds, good bathrooms with heated towel rails, and bath robes.

The room service was very good, we ordered bottles of bubbly and snacks and both were delivered promptly.

The spa treatments were excellent. I would recommend the scalp massage- was blissful, and the oil/mud product they use leaves your hair in lovely condition. The treatment rooms were lovely and quiet and relaxing, and both therapists that did my treatments were very good. We did however have a small problem at the spa reception - when we arrived for our first treatments, the receptionist asked if we were all happy with the treatments we had booked. We told her we hadn't booked any! Despite emailing the hotel a couple of times and asking when we should book our individual treatments and times, we never received a response, so can only assume the hotel decided to book us in for random treatments (there were 6 of us)! Very odd! The next morning when we went for our second treatment, the same thing happened....it wasn't a problem, as we were able to choose which ones we wanted, it was just a bit strange that we received no response to our emails sent before arrival with regard to booking treatments and then got booked in for random treatments both times. I think the hotel needs to organise this a bit better, seems a bit haphazard! The pool is quite nice, although I think the area around the pool could do with sprucing up a bit, it looks a bit plain. The steam room and sauna were nice and the heated beds were lovely. Shame they had no jacuzzi ....

The food was very nice, with excellent service from the staff. Our stay included dinner - there were 3 courses with plenty of choice and it was all good quality. Breakfast was good, although the hot food the first morning wasn't very hot - but on the second morning it was ok! Usual choice of hot items, fruit, yoghurt, pastries etc. The lunch buffet was very nice, with quite a lot of choice...baked potatoes, nice chilli, rice, veg etc. the dessert buffet was very nice with meringues , fresh whipped cream, berries and little chocolate butterfly cakes.... All too good to resist!

Overall, I would recommend the hotel - there is not a lot to do nearby except shopping at Bicester Village, or Oxford, but if you just want to enjoy a quiet pampering spa break with good food and comfortable rooms, you can't go wrong!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBjwhite, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Helen K,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your stay; I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your spa break and would recommend us to others! I will follow up the point you make regarding the spa booking procedure with the Spa Manager. I would like to add that we are an ideal location from which to explore lots of tourist destinations including historic houses like Blenheim and Waddesdon Manor, charming Oxfordshire villages and towns including Thame and Tetsworth, and if you've got children, Legoland and Cotswold Wildlife Park aren't too far away either, to name but a few! I hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future.
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed here following a business meeting and dinner with a client who lives nearby (hence the choice of this hotel). I was a bit concerned following a disastrous check-in experience (45 minutes due to an IT failure) but this was made up for by the excellent room, dinner and general facilities and relaxed ambience offered by this hotel. The room was good value for money and the all-important breakfast was more than satisfactory! Very well located for M40 travel. Recommended.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms at the back of the hotel (overlooking fields and farmland) are very pleasant and qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBjwhite, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear RugbyRaccy,
Thank you for your review; I am pleased that your meeting with your colleague who lives nearby went well and that we offered you the facilities and service you required, all near the M40! We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This was my second stay at The Belfry, my fourth at a Q hotel, as friends and I have made what was originally my hen do an annual event, and we’ve stuck with Q hotels as they represented good value for money and we liked the spa. However, the Belfry has introduced “children’s splash time” between 9 – 11am and 3 – 6pm every day, so the spa is anything but peaceful now! This is on their website, but as we’d never seen any children in the spa previously (and I had thought from past years that it was a child-free zone) and as it wasn’t pointed out when we booked, we didn’t realise.

We checked in at 3pm on Saturday, waited for friends and arrived in the spa around 4pm to find several children screaming loudly, running around the edge of the pool and jumping in every few seconds, making having a decent swim quite a dangerous activity if you wanted to avoid being hit by a leaping child. This is despite the signs clearly saying no jumping. As we had a table booked for dinner for 8pm, we left the pool just after 6 to shower in our rooms, get ready and have a drink. Sadly, this was the only time we were there that the spa was actually quiet.

On Sunday morning, two of us decided to have a swim before breakfast, and arrived at about 9 to find children’s swimming classes going on (and a great deal of noise). We were told that we could still swim, but it’s quite a small pool, and therefore we felt unable to do so. Later, I did see a small notice in the changing room about a timetable for the year, indicating swimming at that time for children, but it was hidden away in a corner.

I do not believe that a spa, which is a place people go to relax and unwind, is a suitable place for children to be running around and screaming. If you are looking for a peaceful spa break – avoid Q hotels until they remove the children’s splash time from Saturday afternoons at the very least.

The rest of the stay was lovely. The beds were very comfortable, the rooms a good size (though quite hot– we turned the radiator off, and slept with the window open, though it was near freezing at night, and it was still very warm!), the hotel staff lovely, the food in the restaurant good (and a good choice for vegetarians) and the breakfast buffet well stocked. The stay was very good value. It’s just a real shame that we won’t be using them again due to the domination of in the spa facilities by noisy children.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBjwhite, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear LavenderLouise,
Thank you for your review of your stay. We introduced the children's swimming times some years ago in response to comments from our guests that they would like child-free times in the pool. Therefore, I would consider these as a positive aspect to our facilities in that guests know when children will be in the pool and therefore are able to go at all the other times that the pool is open if they wish to avoid being there at the same time as our younger guests. The pool is generally open from 6.30am to 10pm and the children's swimming times are a fraction of these opening hours. In this way, we are proud to say that most of our guests are happy that this arrangement caters for the different requirements of our guests. I am sorry that you felt that this did not suit you and your party, but I hope that you can see that we are doing our utmost to ensure that all our guests are happy with the leisure facilities we offer.
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oxford Belfry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxford Belfry

Address: London Road, Milton Common OX9 2JW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Milton Common
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Milton Common
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oxford Belfry 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 17 acres of beautiful Oxfordshire countryside, yet within minutes of the M40, The Oxford Belfry, with 154 luxury bedrooms, is the perfect venue from which to explore Oxford and the surrounding area. The hotel offers bright, modern public areas including Terrace Bar, Restaurant and Lounges, Leisure Club and Spa with indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room, 7 spa treatment rooms, tennis courts, and outstanding conference and banqueting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Oxford Belfry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Oxford
The Oxford Belfry Oxfordshire/Milton Common

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oxford Belfry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.