We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Oxford Belfry

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Oxford Belfry to your Saves list
The Oxford Belfry
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   London Road, Milton Common OX9 2JW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Milton Common
Leeds
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed here for business 21/11/12, checking in went well, the room was finished to good modern standard and the Gym facilities were an added bonus. Unfortunately I thought the bar prices were high and the quality of food was average, I complained about a dinner course not matching the menu but was told the food in the kitchen was correct just the plate I had was missing an ingredient, no apology was received, I signed for dinner and my drinks. The following morning as I checked out I noticed a service charge had been added to my bill "To cover my drinks and food" I think adding this to the bill after you have signed is underhand, I pointed out that I did not wish to pay this charge and it was removed, I will tip if I feel it is appropriate and that the person providing the excellent service will receive some/all of the tip, not always the case when a service charge is added.
Overall average, quality building let down by high prices for average food & drinks.

Room Tip: Check you bill
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBjwhite, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear CADS9
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. I am sorry to read that you felt that our food and drink prices were high but I would like to assure you that these are a reflection of those in the local area. I would also like to clarify the service charge; this is entirely discretionary and, I agree, should only be a reward for excellent service.
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    354
    149
    69
    38
See reviews for
130
429
24
172
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of October,the first room they gave us was lovely and big but unfortunately someone had been smoking in it a quick call to reception and we moved rooms within ten minutes, this room wasn't so big but still very nice, we were on a 2 nights 2 course dinner bed and breakfast deal. The food was good ,both at dinner and breakfast lots of choices. Just be aware there is a service charge added to your bill each time you use the restaurant.We would stay her again as it is a lovely hotel in a good location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBjwhite, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear oggyoggy,
Thank you for your comments; I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Just to clarify, the service charge is discretionary and is designed as a way for our guests to reward members of the team for their excellent service, only if they wish to do so and feel that it is deserved.
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth, Herts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is the first time I have ever written a review but just had to about the Oxford Belfry........My friend and I have just returned from this fab hotel and cannot praise it enough. From start to finish we had an amazing time. The staff are a credit to the Hotel Manger and everyone single one of them from the reception, the bar, the restaurant and even the cleaners were the friendliest, politest and most helpful staff we have ever come across. Nothing was too much trouble for them. We spent two nights at The Belfry and must have had two of the best rooms in the hotel which were extremely large and comfortable (even had a walk-in wardrobe), with biggest bathroom and shower. We had breakfast, lunch and dinner and the food was very, very good in presentation, variety and was delicious. Everywhere we went was exceptionally clean including the Spa which we used all the time. Special thanks to Joanne and Tammy in the Spa who treated us like royalty and gave us such wonderful treatments. We cannot recommend this Hotel enough. The pictures on the web site do not do it justice but you really, really must try it. We will definitely be back with our husbands so they can play golf at the many golf courses in the area and we can chill out at the spa again. A HUGE THANK YOU TO ALL THE STAFF at the Belfry for such a lovely time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBjwhite, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Mandy J,
Wow what a fabulous review! Thank you so much and I am of course delighted that you had such a great time with us. If you do book to return with your husbands, please do email me and we will ensure that you are looked after equally well on your return.
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Had a great stay, excellent value for a english hotel too. Rooms are adequate in size, maybe a little dated but clean and well equipped. Breakfast was good quality and included in our room price. Located a few miles outside Oxford but only a 10 minute drive from the park and ride.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBjwhite, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear paulsnutter,
We pride ourselves on our value for money breaks and I am delighted that you had a good stay with us. Thank you for your comments and we hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My wife and myself use Q Hotels regular and we found this hotel to be in a very handy location for Oxford and surrounding areas. Within a couple of miles there are 2 first class golf courses, good walks around Thame and easy access to Oxford. If traveling to Oxford use Park and Ride at Thornehill.

The hotel is in nice surroundings, the staff very helpful and polite.
The room was clean and tidy and decor was of an acceptable condition.
Notice that on a number of occasions trays with dirty plates and cutlery were left in corridors and at the bottom of the stairs from our room. (more than 12 hrs).

The restaurant staff were helpful. The food was good except for the Stakes that had to be sent back as we were unable to chew them.

As we were on a set menu we received no refund for the bad meal.

We are Breakaway members and stated in the conditions it says there is a reduction for Sunday night stays but we did not get one and payed the same price for each night.

This may be a problem when booking on line, the reception was not able to tell us why.
We were told on departure that all drinks left in the fridge are complementary so if you do use this Hotel ensure you are aware of this so they can be used. Our room was number 253.

Room Tip: Some Low floor rooms have access to the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBjwhite, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Keith P,
Thank you for your review; I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your weekend stay and will investigate the couple of issues you mention. Just a note to clarify regarding the fridge/drinks in your room - these are included as part of your break in the QStar rooms only; on your next visit to QHotels, please do ask for these rooms if you'd like this facility again. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I have just enjoyed our honeymoon weekend at this hotel. As everyone seems to be saying, the staff here are first class! Whether it was reception, the bar, at breakfast or the chambermaids, they were all so friendly, polite and helpful. It really did make a difference to our stay. Our room was very clean and comfortable as was the rest of the hotel. Breakfast had everything we wanted and a bit more on top. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We originally had a room on the top floor which was very nice but we had a toddler and needed a bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBjwhite, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear julie j,
Thank you so much for your comments, I am delighted that you and your new husband were so well looked after. May I take this opportunity to offer my congratulations to you both and wish you all lots of happiness in the future.
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Just returned from a weekend here with my husband and two friends. Very quick checkin - reception staff exceptionally friendly and courteous. We stayed right at the top in a standard double, but our room was very large as was in the roof - so had 2 extra velux type windows, so plenty of room to chill out - small table and chairs as well as separate desk area to double up as dressing table! Enjoyed a lovely meal in the restaurant and on our second night went into Thame and had a lovely meal at the indian restaurant in the high street.

We used the spa area quite a lot - kept very clean, and amentities good although lack of a jacuzzi was a shame, very unusual for a spa hotel not to have one.

Good value stay as we had a 2 night break at 40% with dinner on the first night - breakfast very enjoyable, although it was very busy on Sunday morning and we had to wait for our table to be relaid. All the staff should be given a pat on the back for their polite and courteous manner - nothing was too much trouble from anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBjwhite, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear NorthantsAquababe,
Thank you so much for your comments; I am thrilled that you were able to make the most of our spa and dining facilities especially and that you and your husband and friends were so well looked after by the team here. I hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oxford Belfry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxford Belfry

Address: London Road, Milton Common OX9 2JW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Milton Common
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Milton Common
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oxford Belfry 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 17 acres of beautiful Oxfordshire countryside, yet within minutes of the M40, The Oxford Belfry, with 154 luxury bedrooms, is the perfect venue from which to explore Oxford and the surrounding area. The hotel offers bright, modern public areas including Terrace Bar, Restaurant and Lounges, Leisure Club and Spa with indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room, 7 spa treatment rooms, tennis courts, and outstanding conference and banqueting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Oxford Belfry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Oxford
The Oxford Belfry Oxfordshire/Milton Common

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oxford Belfry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.