We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Spa experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel to your Saves list
The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rycote Lane, Milton Common OX9 2PU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milton Common
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing Spa experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

I had booked the tranquility spa package and had expected high standards having seen pictures on the website. I sent an email to the hotel following the telephone booking but received a response. Upon arrival we were informed that a booking hand not been made and given that we driven from london we we clearly disappointed. We were told that someone had blocked treatments for 2 hours but nothing else. It was assumed that whoever booked this had intended this booking to be for us and so we were offered a 45 minute treatment instead of the 4 treatments we were expecting.

I was however very pleased with the massage. The treatment rooms were relaxing but there were too few treatment rooms for any real group package.

The facilities were very basic and I had expected them to be better for the price paid. The swimming area, sauna and steam room were very basic and the changing rooms were simple, as if you were at a normal gym instead a luxury hotel.

We had lunch at the restaurant and paid £18. The food choice was limited and there was nothing special about the food. The price of the food was too expensive as the quality of food was standard. However the dessert menu was more impressive and more enjoyable.

We had intended to stay overnight but were happy that we decided against this. There is nothing surrounding the hotel apart from tr golf course and we are not keen on the golf. The spa facilities are also not enough I keep you entertained for more than half a day.

During our half day the spa there was not enough staff. We were in a rush to visit Oxford at the of the day but had to wait for 20 minutes to make payment as no was was at the reception. We were required to call the main reception who had to find an employee to assist.

Overall my experience was poor. The spa did not respond to my email prior to booking and there as no conformation I booking. although the spa had tried to fit us in there was no subsequent client care. I will not be returning and would not recommend this for a spa day/retreat!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    101
    40
    9
    15
See reviews for
16
117
3
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has excellent facilities. The staff were all very friendly, and polite on all occasions. I had a executive room, which had everything that I would expect, very clean, excellent facilities, lots of little extras. The only problem that I had was the private balcony had two cigarette stubs on the floor, and a large cobweb that looked as if it had been there sometime, by the amount of flies and bugs on it.
I would strongly recommend this hotel, and as it is a very high standard, the drinks are expensive with a small bottle of beer at £4.40.
The golf course is in excellent condition, is very well designed. The green keepers are a credit to the the Oxfordshire, with some very challenging holes, the 17th is a very special.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire,England
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

No complaints. Friendly efficient staff, food in restaurant good. Good sized exec bedroom with comfortable bed and soft pillows. Pool deep and spar and gym very clean. Cool in gym as air conditioned, as was the room, which is unusual for
This price of 4 star.
Will stay here again

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

we were one of 4 couples that stayed here for one night recently. there is a nice spikes bar for use before and after playing on a good golf course, which the 4 guys played. the women could not have any spa treatments as they were full due to a wedding-although we did not see one on the Friday. we had contacted the spa some weeks previous and this is what we were informed.the restaurant food was good for dinner and the buffet breakfast was more than adequate. the staff for both meals were very good. it was the reception check in that was a carry on. first we were given one room, so that we could charge items to the room on behalf of all of us. several items that we all had before and after golf were never accepted by the cash register. our room was still not ready after 3pm so we were given another room. 2 of the other couples were given the same room! needless to say that when we came to check out, it was confusion all round. some items were on our invoice and some were on others. just as well that the Friday reception staff were not on duty Saturday as Rachel was a star in sorting it all out for us.

Room Tip: most rooms appear to have a car park outlook but you could always ask for something better-if there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We were late checking in but David at reception was so friendly and pleasant. Our room was just lovely, clean and comfortable. We all slept well.
The toiletries and shower were wonderful. One thing however, I locked the bathroom door and was then unable to open it! Luckily hubby was able to open it from the outside. I did mention it at checkout and they noted the hotel room so I'm trusting that they got it sorted.
Staff at breakfast were very welcoming and we had a table overlooking the golf course. I was a little disappointed that there was no fresh fruit salad but I had some lovely Greek yoghurt with seeds. I then ordered boiled eggs with soldiers, hubby had cooked breakfast with poached egg and another member of our party had eggs benedict. Everything was lovely.
Check out was straightforward. We would like to go back to the Oxfordshire.


  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwent
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Fantastic hotel and room for disabled perfect Had already asked hotel what rate for cab from oxford station- my daughter was charged £45 Me £30 so get price agreed beforehand Even single rooms booked had king beds and sitting area very spacious would recommend this and stay again

Room Tip: Asked for rooms without stairs really accommodating staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The amazing views make a wonderful back drop for wedding photos. The service at the wedding breakfast was excellent. We were impressed with the waiting team and the maitre d'. Beautiful rooms and a secluded and cosy bar area.
Breakfast, the morning after, was faultless.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel

Address: Rycote Lane, Milton Common OX9 2PU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Milton Common
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milton Common
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oxfordshire's hotel & Spa offers 50 en-suite contemporary guest rooms, 6 flexible conference rooms, accommodating from 4 to 190 guests, the new Sakura restaurant, luxury Tempus health & fitness spa and an 18-hole championship golf course. Located just outside the vibrant historic, university town of Oxford, the hotel is perfectly located for a city break, golf weekend, business or private event and being just off junction 7 of the M40, it is easily accessible from all major airports and local rail links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oxfordshire Golf Club And Hotel
The Oxfordshire Golf Club Hotel Milton Common

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.