We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five mins from the motorway. Perfect.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel to your Saves list
The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rycote Lane, Milton Common OX9 2PU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milton Common
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Five mins from the motorway. Perfect.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We were late checking in but David at reception was so friendly and pleasant. Our room was just lovely, clean and comfortable. We all slept well.
The toiletries and shower were wonderful. One thing however, I locked the bathroom door and was then unable to open it! Luckily hubby was able to open it from the outside. I did mention it at checkout and they noted the hotel room so I'm trusting that they got it sorted.
Staff at breakfast were very welcoming and we had a table overlooking the golf course. I was a little disappointed that there was no fresh fruit salad but I had some lovely Greek yoghurt with seeds. I then ordered boiled eggs with soldiers, hubby had cooked breakfast with poached egg and another member of our party had eggs benedict. Everything was lovely.
Check out was straightforward. We would like to go back to the Oxfordshire.


  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    101
    40
    9
    15
See reviews for
16
117
3
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gwent
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Fantastic hotel and room for disabled perfect Had already asked hotel what rate for cab from oxford station- my daughter was charged £45 Me £30 so get price agreed beforehand Even single rooms booked had king beds and sitting area very spacious would recommend this and stay again

Room Tip: Asked for rooms without stairs really accommodating staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The amazing views make a wonderful back drop for wedding photos. The service at the wedding breakfast was excellent. We were impressed with the waiting team and the maitre d'. Beautiful rooms and a secluded and cosy bar area.
Breakfast, the morning after, was faultless.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warks
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is a superb golf course, extremely tricky if you are not a generally straight hitter but a gem to play all the same. We had a very slow 4 ball and we were a 2 ball. But they refused to let us through and thus we were out there 40 mins longer than necessary. The hotel and staff were very good indeed and the food was exceptional? ( and we were on a package )
Thoroughly recommend this venue for anyone a planning on playing golf in the Cotswolds.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The golf course was in excellent condition and having a fantastic round on 39 points with 1 blob on the card made my day. The Hotel was good the rooms very comfortable and came up to the expectation of a course like this.
I only have 1 criticism and it seems to be with all modern hotels and thats the full english breakfast .. there is only one way to serve this in my book and thats fresh from the kitchen to order and not kept hot in trays! Otherwise my stay was perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was our first time staying here, for one night, to attend a friends party some 10 miles away.

We arrived a few minutes before our check in, but our room was ready. Michael, the pleasant young man on the desk checked us in.

Our room was certainly big enough. The bed was very comfy. We were on the first floor (rooms 200 onwards), with a balcony overlooking the front of the hotel and the car park. Even so, we could hear no noise. In fact, the entire place was a haven of tranquility, even though there was a wedding reception. We heard no noise at all.

Our room ceiling was stained; looks like there may have been a leak from above at some point.
A little paint over this would be good, but you'll only really notice it if you're looking upwards.

One thing we thought the room could do with is an empty mini bar. We brought our own wine and water, to enjoy in the room, and somewhere to chill these would've been perfect, or even some ice in a bucket.

The buffet breakfast next morning was excellent. The poached eggs made a change from the usual fried ones. The breakfast was served in a room overlooking the golf course and the Chiltern hills.

Check out was easy and painless.

We didn't make use of the spa, restaurant or the bar, as we were only here for one night.

Would we stay here again? Yes, most definitely.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. 20 mins drive from Oxford or Bicester. The local village Thame is handy. Not far from the Morse Tv series places of interest and similarly for the Midsummer Murders local places of interest. So, good location. We stayed in an Executive Room. Good size, spotless and ideal. Breakfast room service was reliably on time. All good. Spa facilities handy too.

Would recommend. One very minor issue. Had a balcony but the view was over a car park. As the hotel was adjacent to a golf course seemed odd not to have rooms overlooking the grounds.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel

Address: Rycote Lane, Milton Common OX9 2PU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Milton Common
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milton Common
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oxfordshire's hotel & Spa offers 50 en-suite contemporary guest rooms, 6 flexible conference rooms, accommodating from 4 to 190 guests, the new Sakura restaurant, luxury Tempus health & fitness spa and an 18-hole championship golf course. Located just outside the vibrant historic, university town of Oxford, the hotel is perfectly located for a city break, golf weekend, business or private event and being just off junction 7 of the M40, it is easily accessible from all major airports and local rail links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oxfordshire Golf Club And Hotel
The Oxfordshire Golf Club Hotel Milton Common

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.