We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel to your Saves list
The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rycote Lane, Milton Common OX9 2PU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milton Common
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Spa break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Excellent stay, coffee on arrival was followed by a visit to the pool for a swim and a spell in the jacuzzi. Fully relaxed, two hours were spent having a wonderful facial, massage and pedicure. A three course dinner overlooking the golf course was amazing, punctuated by watching the local wildlife (a pair of kites and a barn owl) out hunting. A full english breakfast was the crowning glory to a wonderful stay that ended too soon. Excellent service and value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    102
    40
    9
    15
See reviews for
16
118
3
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

A grand entrance via the long driveway is impressive. Rooms are large, spacious and spotlessly clean, they have a large bathroom with separate bath and shower. Pool was very clean and relaxing. The view from our room wasn't good, it was facing a wall. However when we return we will request a room on an upper floor on the other side so as to get a better view. The bar and restaurant was lacking in atmosphere but the food was very good, and the gentleman serving us in the restaurant couldn't have been more helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor looking out towards the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIGAN
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

As you arrive the hotel is very impressive, very grand and loads of marble. Unfortunately the reception staff are not so welcoming. The rooms are very good both in size and comfort, the only problem is that, in golfing terms they are a drive and a wedge away from reception. In fact all the faciities are a long way apart and when you reach them they are unwelcoming because of their vastness. We only had breakfast but found that disappointing in the quality and choice of the ingredients.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Overall
Major room booking mistake by reservations. Room 226 Booking 1/10
Hotel room, breakfast and facilities v good 9/10
Reception staff, poor 2/10

See below for details

After researching on tripadvisor I made a booking a month in advance and clearly stated to the reservation lady that I didn't want a room with a view of the car park. She agreed and said she has booked us in a room with a lovely view.
Found the hotel easily and Guess what room they put us in! 226 see pic I've uploaded.
This was a romantic relaxing weekend and neither of us wanted to be moved after travelling over 100 miles to the hotel.
This was the third weekend in march it snowed and the hotel was extremely quiet, we counted about 15 guests so there was plenty of rooms available!

Room lovely and clean, we had breakfast in our room and was great, jacuzzi and steam/sauna were excellent and clean.

Now the reception staff really did let it down. I tried connecting to the wifi. It wasn't working so I called reception. She talked me thru instructions and still didn't work. She didn't understand so she asked me to come down to reception, she didn't offer to come to our room as that was the location problem! Unbelievable - as I've stated above the hotel was not busy at all. Went thru the problem with her In reception and she still had no answer. Ok she's a receptionist not an IT expert. But she had no plan B. 'Computer says no'
I returned to my room and after fiddling with settings managed to log on to wifi, only to get 1/2 bar signal. See screen grab uploaded. Useless wifi signal. So as well as a rubbish view room 226 has v weak wifi.

Shame really as I think certain staff let this place down.

Won't return or recommend.

4 star hotel with 2 star staff.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Modern hotel, lovely setting on a golf course and beyond endless countryside, great pool and spa area, decent gym and really spacious and comfortable rooms - I slept very well in their bed. And, a yummy breakfast too. Overall, would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Within easy drive of Oxford, this is a great hotel to stay if your doing business and prefer a quieter hotel out of a city centre.
The rooms are really great, well proportioned, all the facilities you might want and have a balcony for those time that the sun does shine.
The food is good, breakfast spread is a little basic though, if your going to do poached eggs, they need to be freshly prepared or they will turn into hard poached. Again my top tip for coffee lovers is to ask for a Latte or similar as its freshly prepared.
Wifi is free and has good coverage throughout the hotel.
The Spa is really nice for a steam, swim or sauna
The staff are very friendly and keen to help
The result is a really good stay, wish I could come back with my clubs next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOxfordshireGM, General Manager at The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thnaks for the nice review and for the constructive feedback. Bring your clubs next time and enjoy the course!
Tim Pettifer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We gad a Groupon offer to stay here so the mrs and I went to have a break for the weekend.
The room was brilliant, well equipped, clean and tidy. The en-suite had a seperte double shower and bath tub which was quite refreshing considering most establishments are happy to have the shower/ bath combo. The bed was really spacious with a comfortable mattress had a really good nights sleep, the rooms darkness was fantastic, completely pitch black with the lights off and curtains drawn.
We had our evening meal in the Sakura restaurant, the staff were very attentive and the food was fabulous, I personally found the portion size quite large - and I do enjoy a large portion, however this is a plus as there is nothing worse than having dinner then feeling hungry a couple of hours later. Restaurant price was reasonable for a hotel, the two of us had dinner with drinks and dessert for £55. I had the carbonara which was absolutely delicious and the ice cream for dessert- the chocolate ice cream they serve is amazing and well worth the price tag. Breakfast was included in the package, the usual affair with hotel breakfast buffet, however the standard of the food was far superior to the usual premier inn-esque quantity over quality.
We both had the back and beyond massage from the on site spa which was really relaxing. The spa staff member was very engaging and made the experience quite nice.
Highly recommended hotel to get away from the world for a bit. Cannot comment on the golf as neither my wife or myself follow or play.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOxfordshireGM, General Manager at The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thanks for taking the time and trouble to write such a detailed review. Mucha prreciated.
Tim Pettifer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel

Address: Rycote Lane, Milton Common OX9 2PU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Milton Common
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milton Common
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oxfordshire's hotel & Spa offers 50 en-suite contemporary guest rooms, 6 flexible conference rooms, accommodating from 4 to 190 guests, the new Sakura restaurant, luxury Tempus health & fitness spa and an 18-hole championship golf course. Located just outside the vibrant historic, university town of Oxford, the hotel is perfectly located for a city break, golf weekend, business or private event and being just off junction 7 of the M40, it is easily accessible from all major airports and local rail links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oxfordshire Golf Club And Hotel
The Oxfordshire Golf Club Hotel Milton Common

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.