We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used to be great but it is slipping” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Kingham Plough

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Kingham Plough
Save
You added The Kingham Plough to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Kingham OX7 6YD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Kingham B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Used to be great but it is slipping”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I have been coming to this pub for years and raved about the food, the seared scallops on a jerusalem artichoke puree, the scotch quail eggs, the puddings...but four of us went this past weekend and it seems to have slipped a few notches. Whilst the Sunday roast was lovely, the cheese board was fantastic, there was a fair bit of over salting and the service was not as attentive. We went back for brunch later in the week and it was more dissapointing...a burger the size of a postage stamp for 14 pounds, a limp salad albeit with excellent chips. But again, all prepared with a heavy hand on the salt front. And the prices have gone up....I can understand if this is due to raw material price increases but it seems excessive..after all, this is still a pub in the country, not central London.
Some additional fun, however, is the Guernsey milk dispenser in glass bottles outside the pub, which dispenses the most decadent Guernsey milk in glass bottles...that is worth the trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    42
    16
    22
    15
See reviews for
23
88
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
murcot
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Sunday lunch at The Kingham Plough - inflated prices for average, unexciting food served on cold plates (and we did order hot food!). The restaurant area was ok - very rustic/basic. The only thing that my husband would rate as good was the cheeseboard - but it was pricey. We don't mind paying almost 3 figures for 4 people to have a 2 course Sunday lunch (no wine) when it is a good experience, but unfortunately on this occasion it was not.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ploughman08, Public Relations Manager at The Kingham Plough, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
We are always sorry to hear of any experience at the Kingham Plough which does not meet the customer’s expectation and do take feedback very seriously. We hope that you also raised your concerns with us at the time as we are always keen to improve in all areas and value customer opinion.

We have noted your comments regarding the pricing of the cheese board, however we do feel that our cheese board is priced fairly as it offers a selection of homemade oatcakes, homemade fruit bread and homemade apple chutney alongside carefully sourced cheeses from local artisan cheese makers. We hope this helps to clarify our pricing but please do feel free to contact us directly should you have any futher issues.

We do appreciate your comments and hope you will try us again in the future.

Kind regards
The Kingham Plough Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Having stayed at the Kingham Plough last weekend, I can honestly say that I'm confused by some of the negative reviews below!
In a word....fantastic! We can not recommend this place enough. I don't want to bore you with all the details as that would ruin the surprise of going there yourselves, but it is a wonderful set-up that is beautifully run. The food and service were exceptional, with particular thanks to Miles and Bella, who could not have looked after us any better. It has a really lovely feel to the place and we would be chuffed to visit again.
Expensive? If you're not willing to pay for excellent service, food and standards, go elsewhere. If you believe, like ourselves, that you really do get what you pay for and you appreciate a little something special, then you should visit!
Well done and many thanks!

Room Tip: Annex rooms are small with no bath, shower only. Bring eye shades for the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We had a drive over to the Kingham Plough after reading good things in the press. The restaurant is comfortable and inviting and the staff were very charming. The menu didn't have a great deal of choice which I don't usually have a problem with but on this occasion there really wasn't anything that took my fancy. I settled for the chicken terrine and parfait for starters and the skirt steak for main. The terrine tasted nice but was served at room temperature and I would have expected a dish of this kind served cooler. The steak was served medium rare ( I would have said it was more rare than medium - even blue) with a huge pile of leaves which were tasty but maybe a bit of an overload. The following day I had a terrible upset stomach which I am not suggesting was a result of the food I had eaten at the plough but there is a possibility. With this in mind I wouldn't be in a hurry to return for food but would call in if passing for a drink.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

3 ladies for lunch.
Asked to order drinks at the bar then sit and wait for your table.
We placed our order and at the suggestion of the waitress all ordered the Local Lamb pudding which we had never heard of but might be fun.
What we were served was suet pudding with a few small pieces of lamb in a ragu sauce enclosed within. There were some slender pieces of almost raw Broccoli served on the plate.
The plate was cold as was the food. We told the waitress who apologised and we had to get up from the table to find a salt and pepper mill.
Sweets were 2 portions of Peach mousse with no taste at all and a bowl of mixed ice cream which was delicious.
On leaving the waitress said " I am not charging you for coffee as your meal wasn't satisfactory"
One last point was that we were not offered the bar menu although we were seated in the bar and were not aware of it until we were seated having ordered whilst waiting and the al a carte menu is very limited. Even without the coffe but a glass of wine each the bill was £ 86 - Ridiculas

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We had booked this restaurant after hearing so many good things about it, and even planned a trip through the Cotswolds to ensure we could dine their. The setting was very pretty, but his it where if frankly ended for my wife, my son and I. Our starter came quickly, twice baked goats cheese souffle, too quickly, it was ice cold inside and had to be sent back. The man course was good but not outstanding and again warm not hot. The service that night was poor, I had to ask a the bar for someone to remove our finished dinner plates, it had sat in front of us for ten minutes and the staff were invisible almost. We waited for our deserts, quickly paid and left. The waiter who had earlier looked after us apologised and told us that they were swamped that night, we had booked almost five weeks in advance for dinner, and driven a good 30 miles out of our way, we not be going back.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We so enjoyed the Kingham Plough that we ate there three times in the week we were in the area.Lovely ambience and pleasant service.The food was exceptional,perhaps a little pricey,but then we have paid these prices before for inferior food in more pretentious places.We will certainly go back when we return to this beautiful area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kingham Plough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kingham Plough

Address: Kingham OX7 6YD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Kingham
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kingham Plough 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Kingham Plough Hotel Chipping Norton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kingham Plough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.