We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money situated in a beautiful location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mill House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mill House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mill House Hotel
Station Road, Kingham OX7 6UH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Kingham B&B and Inns
Peak district
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good value for money situated in a beautiful location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

Situated in beautiful surroundings, close to stow on the wold and BOurton on the water, also near to other local areas. Nicely furnished hotel and restaurant. Staff particularly, Claire and Jayna were very helpful and friendly and welcoming. Room was ok and average for the price, we had beautiful views and it was very quiet. Room could of done with an update however, not too much that it ruins the atmosphere! Bathroom was basic, but reasonable. Duvet on the bed was the only major problem as this was stained. However, comfortable bed, nice lighting and tv, tea supplies etc. Friendly place and warm and cosy, would go again. Didnt go to the restaurant, however breakfast nice and VERY quick service Fresh fruit could do with more variety, but very good choice of juice, toast, jams and cooked breakfast which was cooked well and was quality food. Beautiful location and nice views, we would stay here again and hopefully Claire and Jayna would be there to welcome us!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    81
    34
    23
    22
See reviews for
39
144
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

The hotel staff were rude and unwelcoming, we waited for a lifetime for our mains to arrive and when they did they were cold!
Food was average and over priced.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

We only stayed 1 night thankfully,decor in room awful as was furniture,bathroom clean but very old,bed very hard ,needs a total update as does hotel very 80,s Bedrooms on website not like ours very misleading.Food ok but very over priced for what it was a £35 each not worth it also had to pay extra £3 if wanted tea/coffee at end of meal not on!.Waiting staff good.Breakfast ok but nothing outstanding very bog standard.piped music horrid!.so all in all dont stay here 2 nice pubs in village should have stayed there or read these reviews before we booked!!.Only thing going for it nice grounds and location ok.you have been warned!.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2009

We had planned a one-night romantic break in this hotel and were sorely disappointed. The place is in dire need of refurbishment (eg beige coloured bathroom suite, lino flooring in the bathroom, wooden toilet seat). Corners had been cut everywhere (and I don't just mean the scuffed wallpaper). The superior room was OK in size, but very dusty and the bathroom smelt of drains. The bed was rock hard and left us aching. The worst thing about it was value for money - we paid their rate because the website made it look so much nicer than it is. We would rate the restaurant food and staff a lot higher than the hotel itself. Eat and run. Far and Quickly.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2009

The best thing about the hotel was probably the free wifi, which was reasonably stable, but disconnected after minutes away from the laptop. Also, the setting is very pretty, is a bit dull. There are some good pubs in the local village and pleasant, undemanding walks to be had.

The rooms, as you can see from the photos, are on the twee side, pretty enough if you can get one of the decent sized ones. The beds are as hard as planks. They were the firmest beds I have ever experienced, and what actually compelled me to write the review. Unless you enjoy a firm to sleeping on the floor type mattress, you'll have a tough time here.

Food wasn't at all to my taste. Very stogy, with a lack of salads and fresh vegetables. Also some weird combinations of things posing as creative dishes.

Service was cheerful but average.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2009

we arrived on tues 17th feb 2009 to stay until fri 20th, the reason for the visit for myself and my husband was to celebrate my birthday. on arrival the receptionist was very unwelcoming and took us to our superior room number 19 the churchhill and just said the bathroom is round the corner and left us. we went to check the bathroom quite roomy but the fan which is switched on by the light switch began to make a horrible noise! we went and told the receptionist and she fetched the maintenance quy he said the ball bearings were wearing out, but managed to fix it. we also found that the hairdryer was not working one of the spot lights in the bathroom which had been like that for a while due to the dust on it the headboard was knocking against the wall, had to put a cushion behind it! the bed was twin beds pushed together really uncomfortable, the room was really hot due to the boiler being near to our room and it made a racket when it came on at around five in the morning, we could hear the people unstairs going to the toilet! the curtains was not fitted correctly the furniture had dust on it and we found another ladies knickers in the wardrobe! and little silver fish in the bathroom on the floor at night time. we only had one dinner there on my birthday which we were really looking forward too having read the write up on the web and awaited a real joy of a meal, and at thirty five pounds a head it should have been, i had smoked salmon to start and that was all it was a pile in the middle of the plate surrounded with a blood orange sauce which was so little could not taste it. husband had the terrine and as another member said i think was bought in. we both had the lemon sole which was a real disappointment, very slimy not crisp with really tough crayfish and a load of peas surrounded by potatoes with no taste of saffron, followed by the cheese board, water at three pounds a bottle and wine at sixteen pounds amounted to one hundred pounds which was really not worth it, there is no atmosphere in the restaurant and the waitress was so full on she took my husband's starter plate away as he was still eating the last piece! at breakfast because i only eat fish and vegetarian meals , i asked for the potatoes, tomatoes, mushrooms and the fried bread and the plate was so small, one tomato, one mushroom one small piece of fried bread and a couple of potatoes, my husband had a big plate of food and this happened on the three mornings we had breakfast makes me mad as we pay the same. told the receptionist the next day and she did not seem interested and the bill came to nearly four hundred pounds i feel really disappointed. lots of people seem to go back we will not!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotswolds
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2008

Luckily we only had one night booked at the hotel, which looked great on the website and read like it was full of character and quaintness.....should have read the reviews first!! Beyond the flagstones in the reception area the hotel has no charm whatsoever , the decor is very eighties and the whole place needs an update...personally I would rip the place down and start again.
Saying that, the receptionist was very friendly and helpful and changed our room for us three times until we found one acceptable, with no extra charge for an upgrade, we were lucky to be able to do this though as the hotel was very quiet.
The other staff were also very polite, attentive and professional.
The food was great, we had dinner and breakfast and it was we felt worthy of two AA rosettes, we had stayed in the Bay Tree at Burford the previous night which is much more upmarket but the food was better here!
Don't know if they have changed their domestic staff but the hotel and rooms appeared spotless (and we saw quite a few rooms).

  • Liked — Food and staff
  • Disliked — the accommodation (all of it, terrible, naff, knock it down please...)
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mill House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill House Hotel

Address: Station Road, Kingham OX7 6UH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Kingham
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mill House Hotel is one of the last independent family owned hotels in the Cotswolds. Nestling in 10 acres of lawned gardens this converted flour mill is steeped in history dating back to the Domesday Book of 1086. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mill House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill House Hotel And Restaurant
Mill Hotel Kingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mill House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.