We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mill House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Mill House Hotel to your Saves list
Mill House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Station Road, Kingham OX7 6UH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Kingham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
chipping norton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A lovely meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My parter & I had a lovely meal in the Bar last night excellent service lovely atmosphere friendly staff & fantastic food , Set in a beautiful location & a regular for the locals who are also very friendly & welcoming recommend to anyone !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky L, Marketing Manager at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Many thanks for your review of the Mill House. I'm really glad you enjoyed your meal in our bar. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    90
    38
    23
    24
See reviews for
46
169
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Lovely dinner in the bar at a long oak table which my wife coveted. Freshly cooked mackerel starter followed by lamb shank, washed down with reasonably priced wine from a good wine list. Locals stop by for a chat to add to the atmosphere.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky L, Marketing Manager at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review of our bar. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Where do I start, this is an exceptional hotel, we stayed for a sunny weekend, amazing rooms, exceptional services, food fantastic, very hard working staff, adaptable, great for romantic, family, holidays. Feel part of a family rather than a visitor, cannot recommend this hotel enough !

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky L, Marketing Manager at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review of the Mill House. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Thank you for your very kind words.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice this year and loved it both times. The hotel is just what you want for a weekend break away with friends or family. The staff are fantastic, nothing is too much trouble and the food is very very good. We stayed the first time with friends on a special summer deal with dinner included and it was outstanding value. We were lucky to have wonderful weather both times and so saw the hotel and grounds in a fantastic light but it would be equally lovely in the winter as I can imagine it would be very cosy inside with a roaring fire. Refurbishment is gradually being done, our room was not modern but very clean and comfortable with lovely touches such as home made cookies. It also had great views across the lawns to the stream. Everywhere was spotlessly clean. All in all a fabulous hotel and we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky L, Marketing Manager at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Many thanks for your fabulous review of the Mill House. I am really pleased to hear that you enjoyed you stay with us so much.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is not a cheap hotel and for the price you pay the whole experience is awful. The rooms are out of date and the owners completely out of touch- rude / surly, just terrible. We ate at the Wild rabbit down the road and immeditately regretted staying here. Don't make the same mistake.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky L, Marketing Manager at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
We are very saddened to receive your abrupt review of our hotel, which doesn’t really give us much detail to comment on. We are very surprised to hear that you found the owners quote “out of touch –rude/surly, just terrible”. This seems to be the complete opposite of our more recent reviews.

Our bedrooms & en-suites are in need of refurbishment (never something we have denied since the new owners took over last October) and this work is commencing next month and will continue in to the New Year until the point when all rooms have been completed to a very high standard.

We would encourage travellers who are planning on visiting us at the Mill House, to take the other recent fabulous reviews we have received into account, and therefore see this negative review as a mere aberration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed for the weekend as part of a wedding party and were most impressed. The hotel and grounds were of a high standard and the staff were exceptional, as was the food. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky L, Marketing Manager at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Many thanks for your review of the Mill House. I'm really glad to hear that you enjoyed the Wedding last weekend, and indeed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We enjoyed a very pleasant stay t this hotel. Beautifully refurbished building in well maintained grounds with stream running through. We were able to eat on the terrace in front of the hotel, and also in the restaurant itself. Excellent, well served meals in spite of the restaurant and bar's popularity with the local villagers. This does speak well of the quality/value. The room, though on the small side, was very comfortable with country views from the window, no other house visible. Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky L, Marketing Manager at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review of the Mill House. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mill House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill House Hotel

Address: Station Road, Kingham OX7 6UH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Kingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mill House Hotel is one of the last independent family owned hotels in the Cotswolds. Nestling in 10 acres of lawned gardens this converted flour mill is steeped in history dating back to the Domesday Book of 1086. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Mill House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill House Hotel And Restaurant
Mill Hotel Kingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mill House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.