We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mill House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Mill House Hotel to your Saves list
Mill House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Station Road, Kingham OX7 6UH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Kingham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London England
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is an excellent location for seeing the Cotswolds. The hotel is set in lovely grounds and everywhere was green and lush. The staff were all very friendly and welcoming which was nice. We had Dinner in the Restaurant the dishes were beautifully presented and to a gourmet standard well done to the chef. The only downside food wise were the scones we had with the cream tea. They were quite large and probably because of this were under cooked, doughy and wet underneath. The room we were in was a good size but very shabby. There were NO bedside lights just wall lights halfway up the wall consequently reading in bed was not easy because the lighting was so dim. The headboards were very loose and creaked and groaned loudly when you moved about which made for somewhat disturbed sleep. The bathroom had a towel rail that was pulling out of the wall and at one point fell off towels and all. The rooms were spotlessly clean. A note on the garden there is an awful lot of bindweed which is smothering and killing the shrubs around the building especially the back. This is such a shame as establishing a good garden does take time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millhousesales, Owner at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Many thanks for your review. I'm very glad that you enjoyed the most part of your stay at the Mill House. The hotel will be under new ownership as from 31st October and all the bedrooms are being refurbished. Thank you for your comments, which we will take into consideration when working on the bedrooms. Good lighting from a lamp to enable reading in bed is very important.

I will pass on the comments to Chef about the scones, I am sorry to hear that they weren't to the usual high standard, they are usually very well received.

Finally, I will speak with our Gardener regarding the bindweed, thank you for pointing this out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    90
    38
    23
    24
See reviews for
46
169
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed for two nights. The hotel staff are polite friendly and very welcoming. The room yes it was a bit tired but spotless big and comfortable. The hotel is currently in the process of refurbishment so this should improve.
We dined at the hotel the first night and found the food to be first class. The breakfast was not a dissapointment either with locally sourced produce.
We look forward to returning for another stay next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millhousesales, Owner at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Many thanks for your review of the Mill House Hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we do look forward to welcoming you again so you can see the improvements from the refurbishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I booked this hotel via a package deal and as such was expecting all right but not much else. What a surprise! The Mill House Hotel is a lovely small hotel with 23 bedrooms set in a central position in the Cotswolds with easy access to Stow in the Wold, Bourton on the Water and Moreton in Marsh. The staff were very friendly and cheerful and nothing was too much. The bedroom was huge and clean. We had dinner at the hotel on both nights of our stay and enjoyed the food enormously which was to a high standard. I didn't ask if the hotel did a la carte but am assuming the set menu we were given is changed regularly, particularly for visitors who stay more than 3 days. The wonderful experience we had at the hotel more than made up for the dismal weather.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millhousesales, Owner at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Many thanks for your lovely review of the Mill House Hotel. I'm very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, despite the unpredictable weather! We do look forward to welcoming you back to the Mill House in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed at the hotel night of 29th September to celebrate a friend's 50th. A lovely hotel in amazing surrounds, greeted well, lovely ambiance. We had exceptional canapes with champagne and the breakfast in the morning was super. However, the rooms were seriously below expected standard. The pictures on web site gave us the opinion there were modern and really in good nick but they turned out to be dreadfully tired. Definitely past their overhaul due date in all respects - bathroom, general room softs and bed. All party members had the same feedback. Expectations were definitely not met from this respect.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millhousesales, Owner at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Many thanks for your review of the Mill House Hotel. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us but am sorry to hear of your disappointment with your room.
The Hotel is having some refurbishments done after Christmas, this is to include all of the bedrooms. We do hope you will consider staying with us again the the future so see the improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a weekend away at the Mill House Hotel. The weekend break was very good value for money and included a cotswolds cream tea with a glass of prosecco, dinner, bed and breakfast. Firstly the staff are amazing. The most helpful, cheerful and efficient staff I have come across in any hotel we have stayed in. The waitresses working in the bar and restaurant should be highly commended. The reception staff were also friendly and helpful. The hotel is comfortable with a nice lounge area. Rooms are ok. Decor, furnishings and bathroom are very dated and the shower is a trickle. I was disappointed with the room initially but we slept well (although it was a little noisy) and didn't spend a great deal of time there. The main features of the hotel are the staff, the quality of the food which, in the main was very good. Breakfast was very delicious and cooked to order. The dining room is quaint and the service is very good (considering they seemed slightly understaffed). The hotel location is excellent and is close by the pretty villages of moreton-in-marsh, chipping campden and broadway. It is also only 45 mins drive from Bicester Village so all very convenient. There are lovely grounds to walk in although we didn't have time to enjoy this.I would recommend this hotel however it DOES need refurbishing as it is dated in many areas. I must stress however, that it is comfortable, the waitresses are wonderful and I would definitely return. Nothing was too much trouble for them and we were made to feel very welcome indeed.

Room Tip: Make sure to book a room in the main part of the hotel and not the annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millhousesales, Owner at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Many thanks for your glowing review of the Mill House, it is much appreciated. Room refurbishments are being scheduled after Christmas so we do hope you will come back and visit us again to see the improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel - what makes it is the warm welcome and outstanding service. We were very well looked after even though we only stayed one night.., we were in the area for a wedding and were helped very generously to get taxis between places, given a front door key so we didn't wake anybody, and generally made to feel welcomed. Breakfast was also very nice (I had salmon and scrambled eggs). Would definitely return. Only minor criticism would be that the room decor is a bit dated and could do with refreshing.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millhousesales, Owner at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Mill House and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Hi just got back from a 3 night W/E stay. Firstly we asked for a upper floor room, but could only be offered one downstairs (Classic Double). The room it self was clean, but as mentioned in other reviews looked a little tired, the double bed, was two beds put togeather, duvet lumpy & the pillows were completely flat. I did ask for a firm pillow, which took 2 days to arrive. The biggest problem was the position of the room, just overlooking a sitting area outside, so 'no' nice views of the countryside, & the noise from the creaking floorboards from upstairs as people moved around was really loud. Plus you could actually hear everything from a cough to a burp. Also I found my bed extremely hard. We didn't mind the old furniture, but for the price it certainly needs a few extra touches. There isn't any net curtains so most of the time you have to keep the curtains & windows closed due to the noise.

Now the positives are that all the staff are extremely friendly & helpful (even though I had to ask twice for a pillow) & the food in the restaurant & breakfast is excellent. I would go as far to say its one of the best breakfasts we have had in a hotel. Although on Saturday with a kitchen problem, guests were left for a long while, even walking out, because they hadn't been properly informed of the situation once they had given their order. If staff had informed them & simply just offered the cold buffet, meats, salmon, 'am sure everyone would have understood.
We soon realised something was wrong after we gave our order & had to ask how long it would take, the young man sheepishly said we don't know. So we suggested could we just have a plate of cold meats, salmon, cheese etc Half an hour later after asking 'is it on its way?',when we said to the waiter can you not just provide the cold plate? he said the chef won't let them. So it was very badly organised all round. We did get some meats etc that looked thrown on the plate, so I guess the waiter did so behind chefs back. If this was your first breakfast experience, I guess you wouldn't return. Luckily we knew how good it was & normality was resumed the next morning. Also it would be nice to have a selection of breads, rolls etc
The hotel as stunning grounds, great location. Shame the room we had wasn't as first class, perhaps a refurb is in order.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millhousesales, Owner at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry to hear that the room you stayed in didn't meet your expectations. All the rooms are due to be re-furbished which is scheduled for the New Year.

I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed the food in our Restaurant and the service from our staff. Thank you for your kind comments.

Unfortunately, on the morning that you mention, our Breakfast Chef was involved in an incident on his way to work. Our Restaurant and Housekeeping staff tried their best to manage the breakfast service in his absence until a replacement Chef came in at 10:00am. I'm very sorry for any inconvenience that this caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mill House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill House Hotel

Address: Station Road, Kingham OX7 6UH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Kingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mill House Hotel is one of the last independent family owned hotels in the Cotswolds. Nestling in 10 acres of lawned gardens this converted flour mill is steeped in history dating back to the Domesday Book of 1086. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Mill House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill House Hotel And Restaurant
Mill Hotel Kingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mill House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.