We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sonnet no. Chinese” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mayflower Chinese Takeaway

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mayflower Chinese Takeaway
28 London St, Faringdon SN7 7AA, England
01367 240284
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 25 Restaurants in Faringdon
Restaurant details
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Sonnet no. Chinese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Shall I compare thee to a summers chow mein
Thou art more tender and more chicken
Rough sauce doth coat the darling noodles of torsion
And Chinese least have all too small a portion

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    4
    0
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stanford in the Vale, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Disgusting!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Ordered from
Here last night, my friend and I ordered omelette. The omelette arrived in 2cm of fat and grease, and the omelettes were green and grey an looks unedible. We ordered a large portion of chips and were given chips that aren't equivalent to a small portion. My other friends ordered various other Chinese meals and apparently we're too salty and tasted vile. Our order came to £40 and the majority of this was thrown in the bin. Absolutely appalling, not even sure why they are still in business.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Local chinese. Amazing food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

The difference between mings and mayflower - the only two chineses in faringdon is uncomparable. Mings is a chip shop/chinese whereas mayflower is chinese only.
Love the owner. She makes you feel more than welcome. We always have duck in lychee (only takeaway ive ever been to which does this) salt and pepper squid, crispy lamb in plum sauce, crispy chilli beef, egg fried rice, pork noodles and pancake roll. This is enough food to feed an army I know but we can never choose between these dishes as they ate so delicious! Dishes never rushed, cooked to order and taste as if cooked with love :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“As it should be”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is what I remember a chinese take away to be. Nowadays they seem to try and be too posh, this one just does good, as it used to be.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“so so bad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

i thought we would try a diffrent takeaway.... would never go here again. chicken balls were dry and rock hard... noodles were hard(ordered chow mein and got rice noodles).. beef over cooked and chewy... all had to go in the bin....STAY AWAY;!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Mayflower Chinese Takeaway also viewed

 
Faringdon, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Mayflower Chinese Takeaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayflower Chinese Takeaway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.