We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what has happened” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Viceroy Tandoori

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Viceroy Tandoori
19 London Street, Faringdon SN7 7AG, England
01367 241 902
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 25 Restaurants in Faringdon
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Faringdon, United Kingdom
1 review
“what has happened”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

have been coming here for over 10 years will be the last what a shame as could of never faulted you before .... i had a hard bit of plastic from the top of an open bottle of oil in my food i went to bite!! but to top that the curry was swimming in oil it was disgusting could of filled a whole mug with how much oil was in the take away :( yes other half took his back to you are you replaced which was good of you and you were all very sorry but second attempt really no better :(

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    7
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Four of us ate at the Viceroy Tandoori last night and we all thoroughly enjoyed our meals. The service was good and the staff very friendly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Food to keep you Goan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Went to the Viceroy whilst staying in Faringdon on a training course.
What can I say: The usual great service you seem to get at almost every Indian restaurant I've ever been to.
A multitude of choices on the menu. I chose a red Goan curry with pilau rice and a Peshwari naan bread. It was a great choice and could not be faulted.
I recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Faringdon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Made to feel awful for getting a takeaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Having only got viceroy as a takeaway menu and having young child decided wed have a takeaway instead of sit down meal. Rang up and gave order and sent partner to pick up. When he arrived he said it was packed and the person who gave him the takeaway practically shoved it at him - trying to get him to leave quickly. Considering wed just spent £30 its not what you expect!
However was a nice suprise to have been given complimentary food on top for having spent so much. Food was flavoursome and devine and my chicken bhuna was heavenly.
Think we will give saffron a go next time though as although given some extra food (which is becoming norm in indian takeaway) the way partner received food as dampened it. After hearing they are owned by the same family it seems saffron is "meant" as takeaway and vicerot as restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

One of the best indians I have had lately.Great service and great staff.Within walking distance from our hotel

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Viceroy Tandoori also viewed

Faringdon, Oxfordshire
 
Faringdon, Oxfordshire
Faringdon, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Viceroy Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Viceroy Tandoori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.