We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service and great tasting food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Viceroy Tandoori

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Viceroy Tandoori
19 London Street, Faringdon SN7 7AG, England
01367 241 902
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 25 Restaurants in Faringdon
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Stockport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Friendly service and great tasting food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I am grateful to my friend for taking us to this Indian Restaurant in this small town.

Starting with a warm greeting, a good range of dishes, extremely vegetarian friendly too. The lady that owns/works there is really helpful, why not ask her what she recommends?

The food was very reasonably priced and extremely tasty. The portions are very generous and if we were not travelling on the next day we would have definitely taken the rest home.

I would say that this is one of the best Indian Restaurants I have been in (in the UK)

Enjoy!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    7
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Nice as it should be.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I have eaten here, and had take aways on many occations. This is a consistantly good and solid restaurant.
It does what it says on the label, good quality Indian food.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner at The Viceroy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We were first in the restaurant on Tuesday evening for a birthday dinner with the kids. The service was excellent all night with Jasmine and her crew most attentive. Popadoms were great, a new raita blend excellent and then onto mains served piping hot and really tasty - lamb achar gets 5*, as did ginger chicken (cooked to order, not on the menu - thanks) - and super sag aloo. A variety of Indian beers all served nicely chilled - a pity we had to be home for 9pm. The surroundings are quirky but crisp and clean - and we always feel spoiled by the time comes to leave. Long may this jewel in the heart of Faringdon continue. And good value, four mains with all the trimmings plus three pints & three soft drinks for £65 - okay, no puds, but £16 quid a head is very good value for this level of catering. Really recommend it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Just tried this place following the decent reviews on here and I have to say that they are absolutely spot-on! Really great food and one of the best currys I've had in ages. We went on a Wednesday night and had their £11.95 'happy night' deal and it was superb value! Will be going back for sure.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Try Zardazoo for something different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Speed of service was just right, staff very friendly and the whole restaurant most enjoyable. If you fancy a change from your normal curry choices, try the Zardazoo, it is fantastic, full of flavour and could even be enjoyed by people that do not like curry.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Viceroy Tandoori also viewed

Faringdon, Oxfordshire
 
Faringdon, Oxfordshire
Faringdon, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Viceroy Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Viceroy Tandoori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.