We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent enjoyable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sudbury House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sudbury House to your Saves list
Sudbury House
Folly Hill | 56 London Street, Faringdon SN7 8AA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Faringdon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Went to this hotel as part of a group on a bowling tour. Rooms were large, clean & comfortable. All the staff were happy to help and polite at all times. Breakfast was excellent and evening meals a delight. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury H, Sales Manager at Sudbury House, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your five star rating. We of course are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we will have the pleasure of having your bowls group stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    69
    40
    14
    3
See reviews for
23
82
6
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I recently spent a week at the Sudbury House Hotel on business and had a very pleasant and enjoyable stay. The whole experience was very good from the friendly welcome and efficient check in through to checking out at the end of the week.
I ate breakfast every day in the restaurant and found that the buffet was fresh with a good choice of foods. Other items were also available upon request from the kitchen like poached eggs. Evening meals in the lounge were also of good quality with a particular favourite of mine being the feather blade of beef which was cooked to perfection.
I found all members of staff I encountered to be friendly, efficient and keen to provide good customer service. The room whilst being a little bit dated was comfortable and there were a good choice of channels on the TV.
I travel a lot with work and frequently stay at hotels and will have no hesitation in staying at this hotel again.
A really good place to stay I heartily recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury H, Sales Manager at Sudbury House, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time out to write a review and for the five star rating that you have given us.

As you will see from my previous responses we are spending time training our team and improving our standards both with the food and service in preparation for the complete refurbishment of the hotel that will begin to take place over the coming months.

We of course are delighted that your stay with us met all your requirements and we hope that when you are next in the area that we will see you again.

Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The initial impression is of a tired and tatty building. It doesn't look like much money or attention have been spent on the upkeep of this nicely located hotel for a good number of years. The hotel design and appointment are very dated and the rooms desperately need an update. One of the more helpful and attentive staff members told us that the Hotel has just changed hands and that the new owners have ambitious plans to bring the hotel up to a reasonable standard, I hope that ambition is realised, soon. Our first room on the ground floor was rejected as the mattress had seen better days but long ago. It sagged and was made crunching noises when we lay on it. The hard won replacement, was much better but was on the 2nd (top) floor and the current warm weather rendered it very uncomfortable, even when a fan was eventually found. Too many of the staff we met and dealt with had a defeated, demoralised way about them, struggling to make eye contact. Judging by what we saw and heard as we passed through the hotel over the couple of days we stayed and from our own experience, this was probably because they had a lot of problems to deal with. On the plus side, the breakfast was excellent with a good selection of items. Our use of the restaurant was limited to a single evening meal which was a mixed experience. I had a steak which was OK and my partner had a salmon dish which was poorly described as we were both surprised when it turned up as a salad. Later we heard another couple express their disappointment and surprise after they were similarly fooled by the description on the menu. Strangely I might, but only might give this hotel another go in 6 to 12 months as there are signs that the new owners are making an effort. On the morning we left A staff fire safety training session was being run for off duty staff, some new furniture and cutlery was noted in the canteen and we told of ambitious plans. Hopefully these will include some customer service training.

Room Tip: A Newly refurbished one if there are any
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW Sudbury H, Sales Manager at Sudbury House, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, although we of course are very disappointed with the content and the fact that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

The hotel is indeed set to have a major refurbishment over the coming months which will include the purchase of new beds and bedding and the redecoration of all the bedrooms and new bathrooms. In addition to these important areas we are also adding a fine dining restaurant, a brassiere style restaurant and the hotel grounds are going to be landscaped with additional patio space and new outdoor furniture.

That said we do pride ourselves on excellent customer service and quality food as you will see from previous reviews but it would appear that we fell considerably short of our own expectations on the weekend of your stay.

I can assure you that the General Manager is personally addressing these issues with the team both on duty and off duty that weekend to reiterate our values going forward and I sincerely hope that you will consider a return visit so that we can show you what the team of Sudbury House are really capable of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Sudbury House Hotel (Where was Basil)

Having travelled constantly for the last 4 weeks a relaxing break with my Wife over the weekend whilst visiting our daughter was a nice treat.

Upon checking in to Sudbury House I was a little concerned about the general atmosphere in reception something was not right. After getting rid of the bags we asked where we could get afternoon tea, and the senior person directed us to the Bar.

She then walked in a served another group, then she departed to reception, after a while my daughter walked through to reception to ask if we could order drinks, to hear the senior lady ask the receptionists could she go behind the bar, the receptionist said she was not trained. A few profanities were said and then she realized that she had not done the tea for the other customers.

When the senior lady arrived at the bar (very uptight) I ordered drinks and a few sandwiches to be told the chef is not in until 6, then I asked do you have any crisps? No crisps either…as we sat down the other group were smiling; they had sent someone of for cakes from a shop down the road!

Our room was decorated in 1990, and the bathroom was tired, in fairness the room was clean, but for the price we paid it was hardly worth it.

At Breakfast this morning the wonderful uptight lady was at it again, how to create a negative atmosphere. The buffet was nice, the pastries looked very sorry for themselves, almost like they had been wheeled out many times before.

We understand that the Hotel is going to receive a full make over, well get better staff who understand customer service and to make a guest feel welcome, this was a real farce of a weekend.

Room Tip: My only tip is book somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW Sudbury H, Sales Manager at Sudbury House, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Firstly thank you for taking the time to write a review because comments from our customers and guests whether they are positive or negative are very important to us and can highlight weaknesses in our team, service or quality that we can then address and work on for the future.

We are of course are very disappointed to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations and most certainly did not meet the high standards that we all strive so hard to achieve here.

At this stage the whole team would like to convey our sincere apologies to you and your family and would like to assure you that our General Manager is addressing the service issues that you experienced this weekend personally.

The hotel itself is indeed going to benefit from a complete refurbishment later in the year including the hotel bedrooms and bathrooms that you mentioned.

Our General Manager will be in touch with your personally to discuss your comments in person and I hope that you will consider returning, perhaps when we have completed our refurbishment to allow us to show you that we are able to look after our guests at the highest level.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepperton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

A perfect hotel for our bowling trip.The rooms very clean and comfortable,the food excellent and the staff very welcoming and friendly.The hotel is situated in a very beautiful part of our country,with easy access to the six bowling greens that we visited.We hope in the future the refurbishment will keep the hotels charm.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW Sudbury H, Sales Manager at Sudbury House, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for writing a review and for the five star review you gave the hotel and our team.

We of course are delighted that you all had a great week both in the hotel and on your bowls tour and we hope that you will visit us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex UK
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We were a party of 21 bowlers from Surrey and have recently returned from a 6 day tour staying at the Sudbury House Hotel. We all agreed it was a great hotel. Rooms large and comfortable: food excellent and the staff were very pleasant and helpful. .Did not find pool or spa.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW Sudbury H, Sales Manager at Sudbury House, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for the five star rating you have given us.
We of course are delighted that you all enjoyed your time with us and the weather was beautiful for you too !

Unfortunately we do not have a pool and spa just yet but watch this space, subject to planning permission we have some exciting plans for the hotel going forward.

If you are touring in the area again next year be sure to book early to make sure we have space for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We've just returned from a very pleasant three day break at this hotel - the period covered my birthday and the staff really made me feel very special. It would be impossible to fault anything about our stay - the staff, without exception - were all very helpful and their immediate friendly greetings and smiles made us feel very welcome. The food was delicious and served very attractively - we know major refurbishment is needed and is on the cards and we would love to visit when the work is completed. The grounds of the hotel are very attractive and there are many interesting and 'photographic' towns and villages within easy driving distance of Faringdon. We hope that the lovely staff remain in place in the new Sudbury House - which they all seem very excited about. Thank you all for making our stay such a pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW Sudbury H, Sales Manager at Sudbury House, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out to write a trip advisor review and for your excellent feedback. We of course will pass on your comments to all the staff who will be delighted to hear that your enjoyed your stay so much.

Perhaps you can come back for your birthday next year and see all the improvements we have made and see what you think. It would be good to get your feedback then as well.

Look forward to seeing you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sudbury House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudbury House

Address: Folly Hill | 56 London Street, Faringdon SN7 8AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Faringdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Faringdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once a fine Regency residence, the hotel is situated in the beautiful market town of Faringdon, close to Oxford, Shrivenham and Swindon. Surrounded by nine acres of landscaped gardens,Sudbury House can offer a quiet break away from it all, yet still being close to local businesses and towns,including RAF Brize Norton, Cranfield University and the Defence Academy.Close to the main Swindon to Oxford Road, the A420, the hotel is within easy access of the M4 and M40. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Sudbury House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Faringdon
Faringdon Best Western
Sudbury House Faringdon, England - Oxfordshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sudbury House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.