We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your having a laugh with the bar prices......” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sudbury House

Save Saved
You added Sudbury House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sudbury House
Folly Hill | 56 London Street, Faringdon SN7 8AA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Faringdon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Your having a laugh with the bar prices......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

A warm welcome by the staff on reception, but unfortunately this was the best thing about the hotel, rooms very dated and need massive renovation, peeling paint etc..., 4.60 for a pint of lager in the bar, I thought it was a joke ! It's in a nice location, but hardley central London. Dinner wad not great either,.some awful curry sauce covering the steak, never seen that before. We got the dregs at breakfast also , plus points was the heating, nice warm rooms ! Overall I would rate this hotel like their Christmas decorations in the restaurant, miserable, tired and in need or a lot of work !

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW Sudbury H, Sales Manager at Sudbury House, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for the positive comments regarding our staff.

We would have liked the opportunity to discuss the problems you had with your meals directly with you as we would have recified these during your stay as we pride ourselves on the standard of our food as you will see on many of our other reviews.

The bedrooms are currently being redecorated on a rolling programme, so some of our rooms still require attention, but all of our rooms are large and spacious and some offer views over the landscaped gardens.

We are continually making changes and improvements going forward and will use your comments to improve our products going forward.

Kind Regards

Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    64
    36
    12
    3
See reviews for
23
76
5
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
bristol
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Have stayed in this Hotel a few times now and it never fails to look after us when we are here,staff are brilliant the food on our Retro Night Disco Party was very nice indeed,rooms are nice and clean,Over all 10/10 .
will be back next year .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW Sudbury H, Sales Manager at Sudbury House, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and of course we are delighted that you had such an enjoyable evening.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon, perhaps you would like to do a summer skittles night out as well ?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I have stayed here many times over the years for business and have always enjoyed the hospitality here. On this basis, I booked a weekend here for my elderly parents Christmas treat.
My parents both have mobility problems so I requested disabled facilities. Unfortunately, when my mother went to use the bathroom, she found used toilet paper and faeces sitting in the toilet unflushed. This was really disappointing and the Under Manager Ulrika attended it to it immediately and of course was extremely apologetic. She also put 2 bottles of wine on our table for our evening meal.
As they say, all's well that ends well and Ulrika and her staff were fantastic and we all had a lovely weekend. It was such a shame as I had booked based on previous very good experience. Would I stay here again? Yes, I'm sure with Ulirika's enthusiasm and hard work the details that stop me giving this hotel 5/5 will be rectified.
Just one caveat, had I not stayed here before then I would have scored it lower but I have tried to be fair based on long term experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW Sudbury H, Sales Manager at Sudbury House, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the hotel and for all the positive comments about the hotel. It is always lovely to have guests return to the hotel and says alot about our committment to good standards and service going forward.

Apologies once again for the problem you experienced in your room, which of course does not meet with our usual high standards.

However, we are pleased that you will still be returning to the hotel in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back soon

Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

What a wonderful hotel. The location was great and the sat-nav took us to the door. We stayed with two other couples for a weekend break and all of us loved the hotel. The staff were really friendly and helpful, they really could not do enough for us. The rooms were comfortable and well appointed and we also had the benefit of free wi-fi. Service in the bar and restaurant were excellent and the food was very good. We tok the leisure dinner, bed and breakfast rate which was really good value for money. We are looking forward to returning again soon

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW Sudbury H, Sales Manager at Sudbury House, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about the hotel and for your lovely comments.

We are currently working very hard to improve the standards at the hotel and it would appear that our efforts are beginning to show.

I hope that we will see you again soon

Kind Regards

Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights in a business trip. Staff were very welcoming and polite. My Bedroom was a good size with all the creature comforts one would expect, although the bathroom had signs of mould around the shower area and the veneer around the sink was peeling away from the sink top. I did note that they are refurbishing the rooms at the moment, so maybe this will be taken care of soon. The food was excellent on both nights, though we couldn't eat in the bar as it was full @ 7pm each night! Overall, not a bad stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW Sudbury H, Sales Manager at Sudbury House, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for your comments about the hotel and for taking the time to write a review.

With regard to the rooms, you are quite right of course. The rooms are currently being redecorated on a rolling programme, so some of the rooms have been completeted and some are still to be done. However all our rooms are spacious, well equipped and clean and some of them do have views accross the landscaped gardens.

I hope that we will have the pleasure of looking after you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This hotel was extremely hard to find- turned out the contact info listed was incorrect ( wrong address and disconnected phone number). So when we put the address in the GPS and arrived to our destination, we were a bit concerned, as it was no where to be found. We drove around the quaint little town numerous times and were totally stumped. We stopped to ask locals and they didnt know the hotel, but said to try up the hill, and finally with much relief we found it. From the look of the outside, we were impressed and quickly forgot the trouble we had finding it. But when we stepped inside, the scene and energy changed. It was dated- the check-in desk, the carpets, the elevator, maybe even the staff. However, the small room was surprisingly comfortable. The bed was very soft and the view was nice. But it was also dated. The bathroom was pretty rundown- the sink with the separate hot and cold spouts, the cheap shower head and the bad lighting. We only stayed one night while we explored Oxford ( which ended up not being as close as we thought), so we weren't too concerned, as we wouldn't be there long. But I wouldn't have wanted to stay more than 1 or 2 nights in the condition it is in. With a full upgrade/make-over, this place would have been excellent. Even though it was a bit rundown, it was reasonably priced and we did get a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW Sudbury H, Sales Manager at Sudbury House, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the hotel. It would be interesting to know where your contact details for the hotel were found so we can update the records to ensure future guests can reach us without a problem.

The rooms are currently being redecorated on a rolling programme, so some of the rooms have been completeted and some are still to be done. However all our rooms are spacious, well equipped and clean and some of them do have views accross the landscaped gardens.

We are pleased that you had a good nights sleep and enjoyed your visit to Oxford and perhaps if you are in the area again, you will re-visit the hotel and try out one of re-decorated rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I stayed here for a while whilst on business at Brize Norton,Only a 20 min drive away. For the deal I got I found the overall experience really good, the staff friendly and helpful, the room comfy,warm and a decent size. A powerful shower in the en-suite was most welcome.
I did not use the bar as I tended to walk into the town,( a short walk 3-4 mins), but used the restaurant a couple of times and had no problems with the food or service.
The breakfast was,as has been said in other reviews is typical buffet fayre, a good choice, and at 7am piping hot, which does not happen in many other hotels. A nice touch is that from 6 am a basic continental breakfast can be ordered, either at reception the night before or by hanging out a request card on your door, which I used on a few mornings and apart from cold toast( which I actually prefer!) was very welcome.
All in all I would recommend this place,either for long or short term visits.

Room Tip: Try and get a cheaper deal than the one advertised. They are willing to do deals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW Sudbury H, Sales Manager at Sudbury House, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for your postive comments about the hotel, food and staff. We all work very hard to ensure each and every one of our guests has an enjoyable experience at the hotel and we are delighted that you had a good stay.

I hope that we will have the pleasure of seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sudbury House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudbury House

Address: Folly Hill | 56 London Street, Faringdon SN7 8AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Faringdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Faringdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once a fine Regency residence, the hotel is situated in the beautiful market town of Faringdon, close to Oxford, Shrivenham and Swindon. Surrounded by nine acres of landscaped gardens,Sudbury House can offer a quiet break away from it all, yet still being close to local businesses and towns,including RAF Brize Norton, Cranfield University and the Defence Academy.Close to the main Swindon to Oxford Road, the A420, the hotel is within easy access of the M4 and M40. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sudbury House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Faringdon
Faringdon Best Western
Sudbury House Faringdon, England - Oxfordshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sudbury House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.