We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected delight ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bicester Hotel, Golf and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bicester Hotel, Golf and Spa to your Saves list
Bicester Hotel, Golf and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Akeman Street | Bicester, Chesterton OX26 1TE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chesterton
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“Unexpected delight ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Booked a stopover en route elsewhere. Picked it on a whim as the premier inn was a very similar price (late booking)
and had no amenities.

We arrived late, dishevelled and a little stressed- the staff were fantastic. Warm welcomes, big smiles and loads of helpful advice. They even knew exactly how to deal with a 10 year old who'd lost his iPod!

Breakfast was great, the spa was really special (great hydro and very quiet).

In summary great hotel, great rooms, great spa, great brekkie and fantastic staff - we'll be back.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian P, General Manager at Bicester Hotel, Golf and Spa, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear rtqp, thank you for your kind comments on your recent stay with us. Your comments are greatly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back when hopefully you can spend a little more time. Ian Pollock General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    164
    79
    38
    20
See reviews for
54
166
14
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

After deciding to visit Bicester Shopping Village en route to Birmingham, we booked into to Bicester Hotel as the nearest and highest rated hotels that we could find, and was certainly not disappointed. Our room was very large and immaculately clean. We had a ground floor room overlooking the golf course, which even though the hotel was full, was extremely quiet. Breakfast was amazing, the swimming pool/spa was good, and staff very efficient and friendly. We will certainly stay at this hotel again when we next need to be in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian P, General Manager at Bicester Hotel, Golf and Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Paul P, thank you for your kind comments on your recent stay with us. I am very pleased that you found the staff helpful and friendly and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back . Kind Regards Ian Pollock General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We booked a 2 night treat for my wife and couldn't be more pleased with this little gem of a location. The staff were amazing, so friendly and so genuine to want to make your stay the best they could make it. The Spa was just a delight, one of the best experiences we have ever had. Special mention to the Spa Team who were a delight with all the Spa Treatments and a even more special mention to Mile who led by example by providing the best customer service we have experienced.
With a team like this, Bicester Hotel Golf and Spa will go from strength to strength.

Room Tip: Ask for the luxury rooms that overlook the golf course - amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian P, General Manager at Bicester Hotel, Golf and Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Jawaid1, Thank you for the kind comments you placed on trip advisor. Wwe are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and I have passed on your compliments to Mile Smith our Head Receptionist. Ths Spa is a focus area for us as we are determined to provide the best service and experience from a Spa in our area. It is very pleasing to read your comments with regard to the standards and service provided in this area and generally htroughout your stay. Kind Regards Ian Pollock General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I have just joined and it is really enjoyable. The staff are excellent and on the gym and spa side very welcoming. It may be a bit pricey however I joined to get fit and learn to swim all of which I hope to achieve. Would recommend to anyone who doesn't like the posey gyms and likes a relaxed atmosphere

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian P, General Manager at Bicester Hotel, Golf and Spa, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear CHRIStopher 188, thank you for your appreciative remarks on your health and fitness experience and I am sure we will continue ti try to imoress. There is new gym equipment arriving during June and the staff will be organising inductiion for this. Make sure you make the most of it, enjoy the experience. Ian Pollock general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

After staying at a nearby hotel the night before and being very unhappy we were welcomed at this hotel with a smile, professionalism and great attention to detail. The hotel is beautifully appointed and the common areas are lovely, tastefully modern and spotlessly clean. The rooms are similar and everything was of good quality and just worked when you needed it to. We ate in the restaurant in the evening and although it was a little quiet, which did detract from the atmosphere, the food was very good although my main course of cod was a little bland and could have been seasoned better. My only complaint was the bar needs to better stocked, a hotel of this calibre without malt whiskey (a few of them) and quite a limited choice of beverages generally was dissapointing. All in all though this hotel is lovely and clearly the staff training is very, very good at all levels - I will be back as the spa was fully booked so no massage this time around!! Well done to all the management and team.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian P, General Manager at Bicester Hotel, Golf and Spa, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Hopki68, I am very pleased you enjoyued your recent stay with us. Your comments on the staff, food and service in general is greatly appreciated. I must apologise if you found the selection of malts to be lacking and this is something we will look into improving for your next stay with us. Ian Pollock general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Really enjoyed our night away with the family here. Booked on a special offer and had two executive rooms for the 8 of us.

Although I was worried about bringing children to such a up market hotel (and spa) we where made go feel very welcome and that the children weren't a both.
We enjoyed the swimming pool, and duly kept out of the other spa areas which are reserved for the grown ups.

The staff in the restaurant where very accommodating and we loved the children's supper being ready as soon as we sat down in the restaurant (we had chosen our meals whilst sitting in the bar area)
The food was fantastic and the two bottles of wine we had (on advice from our waiter) went down very well!

On the whole we had a great time, and will be back again (maybe just as a couple, to make the most of the spa area)

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian P, General Manager at Bicester Hotel, Golf and Spa, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear EllesG81, I am very pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. I would also like to thank you for your kind comments on the food and the way the children were treated. I hope to welcome you back as a couple in the not too distant future. Ian Pollock general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wall, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

I am staying here at the moment and it is a great experience. On a special deal with a "superior" room. Unfortunately next door to a family of noisy children but as soon as I spoke to the management I was offered a change of room. They didn't have any "superior" rooms available so we accepted a "standard" room. No problems with it as, apart from not having such a good view, it is equally as good as the previous one. The management couldn't have been more helpful.
The main restaurant serves excellent food and there is also a cheaper option if you don't want to splash out.
We don't have our golf clubs with us but the course looks very good and the hotel is close to Blenhiem Palace where we have been today. We'll worth a visit.

Room Tip: The "superior" rooms have a good view over the golf course but there is nothing wrong with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian P, General Manager at Bicester Hotel, Golf and Spa, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Jsefnsr, thank you for completing trip advisor review comments. I am very pleaseed you enjoyed your stay with us and your kind comments on the food are appreciated. It is a shame you did not bring your golf clubs with you as you may have enjoyed the experience. This gives you an excuse to return and we would look forward to welcoming ypou back. Ian Pollock general manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bicester Hotel, Golf and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bicester Hotel, Golf and Spa

Address: Akeman Street | Bicester, Chesterton OX26 1TE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chesterton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chesterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bicester Hotel, Golf and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bicester Hotel offers chic hotel accommodation, a luxury health club and spa, an 18 Hole Golf Course, a comprehensive range of conference & banqueting facilities and equipment, free wi-fi throughout the premises, excellent restaurants to suit every taste and occasion, a sports bar showing all major sporting events and our own OFSTED registered creche. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Bicester Hotel, Golf and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bicester Hotel, Golf Hotel Chesterton
Bicester Country Hotel
Bicester Country Resort
Bicester Hotel, Golf And Spa Chesterton, England, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bicester Hotel, Golf and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.