We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay before hitting the shops” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bicester Hotel, Golf and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bicester Hotel, Golf and Spa to your Saves list
Bicester Hotel, Golf and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Akeman Street | Bicester, Chesterton OX26 1TE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chesterton
NORWICH
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay before hitting the shops”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Lovely hotel to stay in if you're going to Bicester village. Reception staff very welcoming, our room was really spacious, massive bed, very clean with everything that we needed, beautiful view over the golf course. Ate in the Grays restaurant on the Monday which was very nice, food lovely. Breakfast the next day was very good, plenty of choice whether you wanted hot or cold. will stay here again next time we are down this way.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    163
    78
    36
    19
See reviews for
52
164
12
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Firstly this review is about a friday night and if you are expecting a cozy atmospheric hotel this is not it, it is obvious that golf is a major factor here so please imagine the sports bar as a local golf club bar full of golfers straight from the 18th then you have it including the obligatory no mobile phone or laptop signs. So to the bedroom excellent I could not fault it, however the evening meal started with the booking being taken by someone else our name was crossed out so we had a 40 minute wait just for a table the staff were poor no communication and apparently no manager to sort things or organise, the meal arrived after another 30 minutes at least we were warned it would take some time and the lamb shanks were good, worth the wait? Not really. A visit to the health club, swimming pool, sauna and gym were excellent but my partners visit to the health club for nail treatment was again good but done by uninterested staff.
Breakfast was in what can only be described as a noisy canteen (this is a 4* Hotel is'nt it?) I do wish I had read previous reviews about this, any way you ordered your breakfast and it arrived 20 minutes later farcical really and it was busy with golfers as it is a golf club after all and maybe we were unlucky as some other reviews have said it was lovely quiet and relaxing... If Only. No re-visit for me .. unless I take up golf.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a family wedding. Room large, clean and that's about it. No mini bar, no safe, no atmosphere, dim lighting.

Poor sound insulation, noise can be heard from corridors & next door room. Bathroom cramped & basic. 3 tissues in box, cheap toiletries.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I stayed here as a surprise from my birthday with my partner, it was a perfect base for our visit to Bicester village and we made good use of the v.i.p discount vouchers the hotel gave us. We used the pool area, and the facilities were good. The evening meal and breakfast were both great and the rooms were clean, bright and modern. Overall we we eould definatley return for our next visit to Bicester.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Booked a two night package for myself and my neice over the Jubilee weekend to celebrate the end of her Uni exams and combine with some shopping at Bicester Village.
Included breakfast on both mornings and dinner on the first night and lunch on the middle day.
Upgraded to a superior room. Was really lovely, although didn't see a standard room so don't know the difference! Had a lovely view of the golf course. Room was really big and light, bathroom was really nice too. Tea/Cofffee/biscuits, nice little extras.
We ate in the main restaurant on the first night, it was really really excellent. Couldn't fault it or the service. We also ate in the sports bar twice, once for our 'free' lunch and also lunch on the day we arrived. Was reasonably priced and good food. Drinks were also ok price wise. Note - the paintings on the walls of the sports bars are NOT sporting celebrities but club members. We spent ages trying to work out who was who only for the very amused barman to tell us they weren't famous sports personalities!! Wide choice of cooked breakfast or continental or both. Good service in all bars/restaurants.
Spa facilities - really good. Pool is a really good size compared to a lot of hotels, enormous jacuzzi too. Had kids swimming times which was nice if you wanted a quiet swim. We had two treatments each as part of our package, we could have chosen from several but went for shoulder and back massage and indian head massage - AMAZING! Gym facilities/equipment really good too, loads of different machines, no waiting around.
Overall a really lovely break, really relaxing and managed to do some good shopping too!! Location really good for the shopping outlet, although I did get lost finding it from the hotel, but only because roads were closed for the Jubilee celebrations!
Will go back again without a doubt.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed one night at the Bicester Hotel and it was lovely. The rooms are modern, comfortable and quiet - we slept better than we had in a very long time! We didn't eat at the Hotel, but we did use the bar. The ambience was lovely and there was a good selection of wines - we curled up in some big arm chairs and lingered over a bottle. The staff are very friendly. We would definitely stay here again if we were in this part of the world. The golf course looked good too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

From start to finish service was excellent. We were booked on to the exquisite spa break deal which was £189pp. This included, full use of spa and gym facilities, lunch upon arrival (which was excellent), 1 hour's worth of spa treatments (we had full body deep tissue massage which was so relaxing), 1 hours private use of the outdoor hot tub which was lovely after our massage, then a 3 course meal (with a bottle of wine thrown inn) at their restaurant which the food was also excellent and the portions generous, 1 nights stay in an upgraded room which was lovely, the bed was comfy and room was spacious with tea and coffe making facilities and we had patio doors which lead out on to a terrace area whih was very pretty, then to start the next day they provided full English breakfast cooked and cereal and pastrie buffet with a selection of juices and tea and coffee, we the headed off to Bicester village for some retail therapy whic the hotel provided us with a VIP voucher which entitles you to 10% off mostly everything in the outlet stores. Overall our stay was fabulous and would definately do it again! So relaxing and staff were always helpful and cheerful!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bicester Hotel, Golf and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bicester Hotel, Golf and Spa

Address: Akeman Street | Bicester, Chesterton OX26 1TE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chesterton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chesterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bicester Hotel, Golf and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bicester Hotel offers chic hotel accommodation, a luxury health club and spa, an 18 Hole Golf Course, a comprehensive range of conference & banqueting facilities and equipment, free wi-fi throughout the premises, excellent restaurants to suit every taste and occasion, a sports bar showing all major sporting events and our own OFSTED registered creche. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Bicester Hotel, Golf and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bicester Hotel, Golf Hotel Chesterton
Bicester Country Hotel
Bicester Country Resort
Bicester Hotel, Golf And Spa Chesterton, England, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bicester Hotel, Golf and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.