We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bicester weekend break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bicester Hotel, Golf and Spa

Save Saved
You added Bicester Hotel, Golf and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bicester Hotel, Golf and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Akeman Street | Bicester, Chesterton OX26 1TE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Chesterton
Cranfield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Bicester weekend break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

My wife and I took a break from our kids (teenage, male - you can probably see what prompted the booking) for two nights at this hotel. In the course of my working life for the past 20 years, I have travelled widely and stayed in a number of five-star luxury hotels: the Carlton Ritz in Doha, the Radisson Blu in Yaz Island, Abu Dhabi, the Intercontinental in Toronto, and many, many others. I can honestly say, that this hotel is as good as any of these in terms of the key aspects of staff friendliness and helpfulness, room cleanliness, food quality (we dined twice at the restaurant as well as having breakfast) and general service. Moreover, the gym and spa are also on a par with Bannatynes MK (if that means anything to anyone), if not better: you get an excellent view of the golfers fluffing their approaches to the 18th. Truly faultless, and with the deal that we secured, tremendous value for money as well. We'll be back.

Room Tip: No comment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    121
    54
    28
    11
See reviews for
42
120
7
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Recently stayed here for two nights. Great spa to relax in after a day shopping at Bicester Village.

We stayed in a standard room which was clean and comfortable, although I found the bed a bit too soft. Tea and coffee in room although there is no fridge. There is also a hairdryer, iron and ironing board.

The food served in the bar was tasty but we did not enjoy the meal we had in the restaurant. Breakfast was freshly cooked and very nice.

I would definitely return as it was nice to spend the day shopping knowing you only had a 5 minute journey and could relax in the spa before dinner.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

We checked in rather late on a Saturday night after attending a local Wedding, and were very pleasantly surprised at how nice this hotel is. Our room (23) was spacious and well appointed with a comfortable bed, modern bathroom and all was presented immaculately. After a great nights sleep we enjoyed fresh coffee with a very decent cooked breakfast in the restaurant, and it was very well done with great service from a friendly waiting team.

We didn't use the spa or play golf due to a throbbing hangover (!) so cannot comment on these!

The two of us paid just £99.00 for the room including the cooked breakfast which was remarkably good value for the quality and we will definitely return and use Bicester Hotel if we are in the area again.

Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Our usual hotel near Bicester is undergoing renovation so we decided to give the Golf and Spa hotel a try. We chose a twin superior room at £115 per room per night including breakfast. The hotel is modern and set in lush countryside. The room was on the ground floor with extensive views over the well laid out golf course. The room was well furnished and large with a well appointed relaxing area close to the double widow. The beds were wide and comfortable. We dined in Gray's Restaurant on site and had a very nice dinner in semi formal surroundings £94 for the two of us two amply proportioned courses and a nice bottle of Cabernet Malbec blend Pre dinner we each had a sherry, and finished with tea and coffee in the lounge. The staff were young and enthusiastic but lacked knowledge of the difference between a fino and an amontillado sherry.
The breakfast next morning, was first class with a two egg full English breakfast.

Room Tip: The best rooms are on the ground floor facing the golf course. Try to park close to the hotel as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoe_court, Guest Relations Manager at Bicester Hotel, Golf and Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for your comments and we are very glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We do fully take your comments on board and will put our staff through some training.

Kind Regards

Zoe Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmir, Turkey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We live in Turkey and went to England for the Olympics. London was so busy and we wanted to find somewhere quite and close to London. My partner loves country side and we chose Bicester because of it. the hotel and the staff there were very friendly. we might go back there one day. one of the staff mentioned the TripAdvisor and she said that they get new customers through TripAdvisor then I decided to open an account with TripAdvisor and thought would be fair to write a comment for this very beautiful hotel that we stayed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoe_court, Guest Relations Manager at Bicester Hotel, Golf and Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for your comment. We are very pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards

Zoe Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I was here for a wedding, staying two nights.

The rooms looked nice but try sleeping with those pillows, no hope! Beds left much to be desired, one thing I can say is with Premier Inn's you always get a decent bed and it's half the price at least.

Pool looks good, spa pool was lovely, unfortunately I didn't have as much time as I'd have liked to enable me to use it much, with check out at 11 they don't let you use the facilities past the point of check out, something I've never had at a hotel before.

Breakfast left a lot to be desired, I'm vegetarian, so on day one ordered a vegetarian breakfast, some 30 mins later the waitress apologised for the delay and said it was because they had to cook the veggie sausage! When it turned up my poached egg was hard boiled and I didn't bother to eat it, for the £12.99 breakfast I really wouldn't bother.

On day two I didn't have a choice and was given two fried eggs, beans and mushrooms, again not worth the money, it was edible, I'm told the normal cooked breakfast really left a lot to be desired too.

Ate in the hotel bar on night one, tables aren't really big enough for eating, food however was good, basic pizza but nice.

Day two, wedding food!

Left something in my room, rang up and was told housekeeping would call me, rang back two day's later to find it hadn't been found, no phone call from the hotel.

In all the stay was decidedly average and really not worth £139.00 per night, shame, a rare weekend away which could have been lovely, it's really missing the extra touches that I would expect from a 4* hotel, potential unfulfilled.

We had one of their superior rooms so I was expecting something a little bit 'more'

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite looked nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoe_court, Guest Relations Manager at Bicester Hotel, Golf and Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I am very sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We take your comments very seriously and we will endeavor to improve on this.

Kind Regards

Zoe Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed at the Bicester Hotel for a few days at the end of July and had a fantastic stay. The staff were all very helpful especially Diana. Every time we wanted something she would sort it out for us. The hotel itself is lovely and the swimming pool and spa facilities are great! Bicester itself is a great place to visit. If you're in the area check out this hotel you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoe_court, Guest Relations Manager at Bicester Hotel, Golf and Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We have taken into consideration your comments with regards to breakfast and we hope to have improved this in time for your next visit.

Kind Regards

Zoe Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bicester Hotel, Golf and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bicester Hotel, Golf and Spa

Address: Akeman Street | Bicester, Chesterton OX26 1TE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chesterton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Chesterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bicester Hotel, Golf and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bicester Hotel offers chic hotel accommodation, a luxury health club and spa, an 18 Hole Golf Course, a comprehensive range of conference & banqueting facilities and equipment, free wi-fi throughout the premises, excellent restaurants to suit every taste and occasion, a sports bar showing all major sporting events and our own OFSTED registered creche. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Bicester Hotel, Golf and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bicester Hotel, Golf Hotel Chesterton
Bicester Country Hotel
Bicester Country Resort
Bicester Hotel, Golf And Spa Chesterton, England, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bicester Hotel, Golf and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.