We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food but very poor service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Trout Inn at Tadpole Bridge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Trout Inn at Tadpole Bridge to your Saves list
The Trout Inn at Tadpole Bridge
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Buckland Marsh, Buckland SN7 8RF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Buckland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food but very poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We ate recently at the Trout with friends who were visiting. The food was excellent but the service was very poor indeed. We booked a table for 7.30 p.m. and were served our starters at 8.30 p.m. We had to request menus, drinks that we ordered were forgotten and various serving staff came to ask if we wanted desserts which we had already ordered. Maybe we caught it on a bad night. It won't put us off going back because the quality of the food is great but the evening was spoilt by the poor service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theoldtrout21, Owner at The Trout Inn at Tadpole Bridge, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I think we did not get off to a very auspicious start, we place name plates on the tables that we have reserved. On arriving you went straight to your table and did not let us know you had arrived, this resulted in you having to ask for menus, rather than being escorted to the table and offered drinks and menus.

I am sorry you felt this resulted in poor service and we have endevoured to ensure this does not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    65
    23
    20
    14
See reviews for
39
119
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I went on my first date to the trout around 20 years ago! It was good then and its good now although a lot more airy and fresh, it now has a bigger feel. Fish and chips was very nice last month, proper mushy peas always win my heart! i had a business lunch here and wanted to speak to my client and the staff were accommodating finding us a table to spread documents out on, thanks Trout!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

I've been to the Trout a few times, twice for dinner and both times the food has been sensational, really top class. The staff are friendly and the atmosphere is welcoming.

The only downside is that it's not the cheapest. But with food like that I was happy to part with the money.

When it's sunny the garden is perfect to sit in and it's by the river so perfect to go and enjoy a drink if you aren't looking for a meal

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theoldtrout21, Owner at The Trout Inn at Tadpole Bridge, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We regularly compare our prices with the local competition, we serve top quality ingredients and naturally these some at a price. I am sure that you have seen prices rise in your weekly shop and we have also felt the same, we do choose to offer some expensive items on the menu but feel that we offer value for money.

I hope we will be able to welcome you back to The Trout at Tadpole Bridge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Our son & new daughter in law had their wedding reception at the trout the end of April, the venue was perfect for a spring wedding, the staff worked very hard to make it a very pleasant & enjoyable day, the food was excellent & plentiful, overall a very relaxing & pleasant atmosphere, the manager Helen made sure that we were all looked after & couldn't have been more helpful. We have also eaten here on numerous occasions and have not been disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My husband and I went kayaking this morning at Culham/ Dorchester, what a lovely part of the country. We drove home and thought we'd call in to a pub for a beer and lunch. How horrified we were to pull in to the car park and be accosted by 2 members of staff shouting at us that they didn't allow kayaks to put in to the river in the garden. There was no need for aggression. How arrogant to assume that that's what we were there for! The rude staff ruined what had been a perfect bank holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theoldtrout21, Owner at The Trout Inn at Tadpole Bridge, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
It is very frustrating to get a review like this, when we work so hard to make all our guests feel welcome. I am afraid an over zealous member of staff was officious with this couple, but in her defence, we had struggled all day with guests who felt that they could use our car park without using the pub.
We do not allow Kayakers or canoeists to cross the garden and launch their boats, our garden for guests to relax enjoy a drink or a meal and idle in the peacefulness of being by the river.
If you look at the complaints on this site about us you will find that the majority who complain, complain because they have not been allowed to park in the car park, launch a boat or eat their sandwiches in our garden.
Perhaps all of these people could remember that this is our livelihood and we work very hard to make The Trout at Tadpole Bridge somewhere where we all want to be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merstham, Surrey
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

A Thames-side pub with character and thriving despite it's remote location.We enjoyed a good quality meal with a fine bottle of rosé. First rate service without being pushy, and pleased to find the old fashioned "gratuity at your discretion" for a change. And, yes, I did have the trout!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We have stayed here twice now, with our first visit in May 2012. On that occasion it was as a first night of a five day canoe trip down the River Thames.
So two of us plus the dog arrived damp and dirty, having paddled 13 leisurely and picturesque miles from Lechlade. The owner was wonderfully welcoming, and we secured the boat on the lawn leading down to the river.
Our room was out the back, with easy dog access direct to the garden, a nice neat clean room, pleasantly decorated and furnished. One nice touch was a cafetiere in the room with a jar of ground coffee - no pre-pack or instant here.
And so, after a necessary shower, to dinner and an excellent and much needed local pint.
The food is great - a selection of fresh mostly local ingredients imaginatively cooked and well presented. Desserts to die for - just as well we'd been burning calories all day.
Our second stay there (with dog but no canoe this time) was just as good. We used it as a base for walks up to the upper reaches of the Thames Path, and the nearby Cotswold water park, and sundry other local sights.
My only hesitation in publishing this glowing review is that it might be fully booked next time we want to go there, but praise where praise is due, so we'll have to take our chances...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Trout Inn at Tadpole Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trout Inn at Tadpole Bridge

Address: Buckland Marsh, Buckland SN7 8RF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Buckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Buckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Trout Inn at Tadpole Bridge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trout at Tadpole Bridge is a traditional Country Inn on the banks of the River Thames, an idyllic and peaceful setting with close links to Oxford and the Cotswolds. Each of the six bedrooms has been individually designed and all have en suite bathrooms, flat screen televisions, fluffy bathrobes and towels. We have an excellent reputation for our food, locally sourced using the best ingredients and cooked simply. Ask our locals - they come back time after time! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Trout Inn at Tadpole Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Trout Inn At Tadpole Bridge Hotel Faringdon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Trout Inn at Tadpole Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.