We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not cheap” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The King's Head Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The King's Head Inn to your Saves list
The King's Head Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   The Green, Bledington OX7 6XQ , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Bledington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hampshire, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good but not cheap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2009

Stayed over the weekend as an anniversary weekend away from it all. Bedroom very quant and very clean, we had room over the pub and didn't have any problems with the noise etc.

Only thing that spoilt things was the lack of hot water on Sunday morning and when this was reported the only response was "yes this has a happened a lot lately" and that was it, not the ideal answer. Having said that it didn't spoil the weekend (although if this had happened on Saturday it may have) which was very relaxed and enjoyable.

The food is excellent although it's not cheap, be careful if booking a whole weekend of food and drink to your room it's a bit of a shock when you check out.

Overall enjoyable weekend, slightly spoilt be lack of concern over water problems,

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    67
    29
    10
    3
See reviews for
21
153
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend with some friends. Our intention was to have a luxurious, unpretentious, totally relaxing weekend with friends. We had visions of large glasses of good wine accompanied by good conversation and/or good books while snuggled up in front of an open fire, with the weather was busy freezing outside. We wanted to eat well, and be treated with kindness and respect.

The Inn is beautifully decorated (we both had courtyard rooms), and the beds were very comfortable with lovely bedding (gorgeous aroma - I forgot to ask what laundry products they used!). There was however, nowhere comfortable to sit in the bedrooms (there were two uncomfortable chairs) unless you sat on the bed, which isn't the most comfortable place to sit and chat over fish and chips (our dinner on the second night). The bedrooms also had limestone (or similar) floors which were not accompanied by underfloor heating - freezing! Our friends' room had lovely furry rugs on the floor, but ours sadly did not. The rooms were very well heated though, and despite the sub zero conditions outside, we were actually too hot in the night! The heating was easily controlled and we managed to control the temperature quite well once we realised what the problem was.

Our room had a really tiny bathroom with no shower, just a bath, and although it was beautifully deep, the option of having a shower wasn't there. The rooms were kept very clean though, and were topped up daily with bottles of water for your bedside.

The food in the pub was gorgeous (we ate there the first night), but I do agree with all the other reviewers that there is nowhere to sit in the pub to just have a drink, as all the tables are used for dining, even though the restaurant wasn't full either night we were there. We were most disappointed that we couldn't sit comfortably in front of the fire as we'd envisaged, and although we did find a seat, it was rather uncomfortable. The staff on the whole were lovely and helpful (providing us with an ice bucket and glasses for champagne in our room, and generally being pleasant, kind, polite, and good humoured), but unfortunately on the second night, a lady (possibly South African) with blond hair, was rather rude to us - all night. This really marred our stay, and we were quite unhappy on the second night - what with not being able to sit comfortably in front of the fire, and having this staff member consistently express her contempt for us.

Breakfast was okay. The juice was from concentrate though, and with the prices they charge, I would expect fresh juice. We were seated in the conservatory which was a bit chilly, but the staff in the mornings were very pleasant.

As a base for touring I would recommend this Inn, but I wouldn't recommend it for a comfortable, relaxing break. Based on our experience, and other reviews, I would also choose your room with care.

  • Liked — The gorgeous food in the restaurant
  • Disliked — There was nowhere comfortable to relax
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alsace, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2008

It's not fair to write a review about the King's Head Inn because it really feels like our second home. The rooms above the pub are just what you would expect from a 16th Century coaching Inn......uneven floors and low ceilings but we love 'em...and all the comfort of 21st century fittings. This is all about a genuine English experience with a village green in front of the pub, ducks and period properties all around, in the peace and quiet of one of the loveliest areas in Britain.
The rooms above the pub are smaller than the courtyard rooms but all in keeping with character; the courtyard rooms are bigger and more expensive....your choice depends upon your pocket and your head clearance! Both types are lovely.
The food is fresh, simple and inventive all at once; the steak and ale pie will be your coup de grâce.....you have been warned...and the care and attention given to the traceability of the produce shows the Orr-Ewings' preoccupation with the quality and freshness of the mainly organic fayre. The breakfasts are to die for and cater to everyone's tastes.
The staff consists of more Tanyas than you can shake a stick at, a freak coincidence of names but both ladies are friendly, capable and good-humoured, running a tight ship as far as housekeeping is concerned. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff, for example; running up and downstairs with ice to keep the champagne cold for our friends as a surprise welcome detail (we were delayed for an hour or more in London traffic), or putting a third bed up in a bedroom at a moment's notice to enable a son to stay overnight. All the staff are pleasant, courteous and helpful, ready to help with major or minor details and making guest feel as if it is their home. We have taken family, kids, foreign visitors there and everyone has loved it.
As a result, we keep going back, and back and back....because we feel more at home there than anywhere else. For the very modest price, it is fabulous value. I can't recommend it warmly enough...unless it is to keep you out of our favourite room. You can book the one next door!
PS. bet you can't resist the temptation to go on the wooden see-saw outside on the green!

  • Liked — the character of the place and that of the people
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronfield
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2008

Just had a great weekend at the Kings Head. The staff were so helpful and friendly, food was excellent and the rooms very good value.

The Kings Head is situated perfectly in the centre of the village and it is good to see that it is frequented by locals instead of just visitors.

Lovely courtyard to sit and have a coffee or a glass of wine - yes the sun did shine all weekend!

We will definitely go back - would go back more often if they relaxed the minimum 2 nights at a weekend rule!

Great little place.

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2008

We spent 3 nights there over the BH weekend and there were a few minor issues most of which have been mentioned here before, but for £70 a night it's a great option without breaking the bank. We stayed in room 6 above the kitchen and its giant extractor fan. If you opened the sash windows at the wrong time then the smell of fat was pretty strong, but it just meant opening the window on the other side of the room. This issue isn't helped by the fact that half the menu was accompanied with chips; the only downside of the otherwise excellent food (and service) in the restaraunt. The fish was particularly good. The setting is beautiful and a much better option than the tourist trap villages and towns in the area.

  • Liked — The fish
  • Disliked — The chips
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed for the weekend and we had one of the doubles above the pub which was a smaller room however I thought it was full of character and very comfortable we thought that the food was superb, and the staff made an effort to get to know us during our stay and that made us feel very welcome and they could never do enough for us and gave us many ideas of what to do for the weekend that we didn't have to plan it ourselves!

We had such a wonderful stay and definatley will be returning and cant understand the last few reviews.

  • Liked — the staff and food
  • Disliked — having to go back home
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2008

Stayed here before and eaten here casually also. The bedrooms, though small, retain their rustic charm, although the paintwork was slapdash and the shower a nightmare, with no means of attaching it to the wall, no shower curtain and a lethal floor and heated towel rail.
The restaurant was a real disappointment this time. A very mundane, overpriced menu and not well cooked either.
Will not be coming back in a hurry.

  • Liked — quaint room
  • Disliked — The Food
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The King's Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King's Head Inn

Address: The Green, Bledington OX7 6XQ , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Bledington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bledington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The King's Head Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a 16 th Century Cider House this is the classic Cotswold Inn on the village green that warms the soul as soon as you see it .Excellent food ,well kept Ales and twelve delightful bedrooms combined with a priceless atmosphere give you the complete Cotswold Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The King's Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King`s Head Hotel Bledington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The King's Head Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.