We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Bicester Cherwell Valley M40

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Travelodge Bicester Cherwell Valley M40 to your Saves list
Travelodge Bicester Cherwell Valley M40
Moto Service Area, M40 Motorway, Northampton Road, Ardley OX27 7RD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ardley
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Never again!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

One night; family room for two adults and two children. Entire building and room had very unpleasant odour, beds extremely poor - the sofa bed for the children was unusable...no sleep! The whole complex needs to be completely refurbished!


  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    27
    27
    11
    20
See reviews for
35
32
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed at the hotel whilst on route to Bicester. The hotel was clean and comfortable, and provided everything we needed for the 9 hours we stayed there. The free parking was a bonus also. The reception staff were very polite, the night staff worker was chatty, even at midnight when we arrived!

I would be more than happy to use this hotel again as a place to get some sleep on a long journey.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It's a hotel / motel on a motorway service area. The room was fine. It was clean. It was warm. It had a TV and a shower that worked effectively.

The staff were friendly and we had no issues at all.

For £45 a night it's a great option if you have wheels and want avoid the high prices in Oxford City Centre.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I’ll be honest, if we are travelling and need a quick stop off hotel for a night, then we usually stay at Premier Inns, mainly because they almost always have somewhere attached for an evening meal and a good cooked breakfast. But we were travelling with our dog this time and Travelodge were happy to accept her for an extra charge (I guess to cover the additional cleaning costs), so we opted for this Travelodge. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful, the hotel was typical Travelodge room design apart from where the sofa would normally go it had space for our dogs bed instead, and was generally fine. The bed mattress seemed pretty new and was very comfy, and we all had a good nights sleep despite being close to the M40. Because it was at the services it meant we could get something to eat if we wanted, although we opted to drive the 5 miles down into Bicester in the evening instead, as we are not that keen on service station food.
The big bonus for dog owners though was not only would they happily accept our dog, but there were a couple of really good walks at the services. There were signs advertising dogs walks near the hotel entrance and literally behind the hotel was a large field where the dog could run free, and beyond that a couple of woods with good signposted walks. The smaller wood took about 20 mins to walk round, and we spend nearly 2 hours the following morning exploring the larger wood.
So in future even if we are not staying at the Travelodge, these services are a perfect stop off for anyone travelling on the M40 with a dog.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidwelly, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for Silverstone. The hotel was as you'd expect from a Travelodge. In fact the 1st room we were given stunk of cigarette smoke. The reception team were excellent and swapped our room and were generally very good our whole stay. Handy having they services next door for food.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Typical Travelodge. Comfy bed with no extras but good value for money. Handily situated for local sightseeing and the service station shops etc are a bonus. Could do with a little touch up in some parts.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel was awful. Room was dirty. Bed was like sleeping on wood. Was noisy. No breakfast provided. Just overall terrible. Would never ever book here again. Just absolutely awful. Would not recommend...

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Bicester Cherwell Valley M40, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review Leann. We are truly sorry to learn that you stay with us did not meet with our high standards and we would like to take this opportunity to investigate the issues you have raised. To do so, please provide us with more information by using the contact us section on our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Bicester Cherwell Valley M40? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Bicester Cherwell Valley M40

Address: Moto Service Area, M40 Motorway, Northampton Road, Ardley OX27 7RD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Ardley
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ardley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and LateRooms so you can book your Travelodge Bicester Cherwell Valley M40 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Bicester Cherwell Valley m40 Hotel Ardley
Travelodge Hotel Ardley
Travel Lodge Ardley
Travelodge Ardley
Ardley Travelodge
Ardley Travel Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Bicester Cherwell Valley M40, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.