We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barred for writing a bad review!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Nags Head On The Thames

The Nags Head On The Thames
The Bridge, Abingdon, England
01235524516
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 77 Restaurants in Abingdon
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: English, Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Abingdon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Barred for writing a bad review!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

On May 3rd 2013, I went to The Nags Head and had a horrible experience, so I wrote a review on TripAdvisor.

On Sunday 21st July 2013, I had returned to The Nags to have a few quiet drinks in the pub garden with my friends, when the duty manager came up to me and asked me if my name was Harriet.
When I replied yes, she said:
"We want to thank you for your review and feedback on TripAdvisor, however I am informing you that you are now barred for life from this pub from slagging us off from start to finish."
When I challenged the lady, she was rude back to me, when I said I wrote the review in light of the awful evening, she told me that I "didn't have a terrible evening." I insisted that the owner told me I was barred himself, which he did, and I left.
However - to add insult to injury, as I was leaving the pub, the owner and his friends, who were sat in the garden, applauded me as I left, in front of all the other customers. Incredibly unprofessional, immature, and outrageous behaviour.

I understand my review was critical and strong worded, but does not stand ground to be barred for. However, now they have forcefully lost my custom, and will be losing that from all my friends and family too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    79
    30
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good location.. thats all”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We arrived on a hot Sunday lunch looking for a nice meal by the river. After queuing for 15 minutes we expected the food to be good as it seemed so busy. The location was great sat on the Thames in the sun. However when the 'waiter' arrived with one of the meals and placed it on the side of the table without saying a word and walked off we felt a little invisible. The second meal arrived from a different waiter and she left as quickly as we tried to ask for condiments!
The food was not good, my burger was chewy and I struggled to eat half of it, I managed the chips but that was it. My partners roast dinner was dry and uninspiring, the veg was clearly a few days past it's best.
We both left feeling hungry and wishing we had sat at costa a few doors down for a sandwich at half the price. Poor service and poor food, its a shame a pub with such a great location simply relies on this to fill tables.

I would go again for a drink but thats about it.. the food is overpriced for the poor quality and lack of service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Poor Sunday Roast”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Visited the Nags Head on Sunday lunchtime. Weather was hot but managed to find a nice table in the shade overlooking the Thames. Service was pretty good but was disappointed with the food. Our roast beef was very tough, tasteless & uneatable; we were expecting something a bit better than this for the high price we paid. Could not help but notice other people were not finishing off their meals either. Mentioned to the waitress about the poor quality of the meat & the reply was “let’s just hope it was a one of”. Would return for a drink but would not recommend this place for eating.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Sunday roast in years!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Lovely food, lovely staff, lovely settings!
Great portions, very tender -succulent beef and perfectly cooked veg and Yorkshire.
Sat outside on there large patio.
Weather helped!
I'll be back :0)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Sunday drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We called here as we were staying nearby on an early Sunday afternoon.
Impressive building in a fabulous location by the river,the weather was fine and the garden is huge and the sort of place you could sit for hours.

The food looked and smelled very good though we did not eat here.
Staff are friendly and large selection of beers etc while a really funky jazz band banged out the tunes to a very busy bar.
Had a really enjoyable few hours here with friends and would return to check the food out if in the area again.

People say pubs are in decline,but if well run there are still places ramming the people in and The Nags Head is doing the business - good for them.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Nags Head On The Thames also viewed

Abingdon, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Nags Head On The Thames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nags Head On The Thames, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.