We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can`t get any better for this price in this location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Upper Reaches Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Upper Reaches Hotel to your Saves list
The Upper Reaches Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thames Street, Abingdon OX14 3JA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Abingdon
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Can`t get any better for this price in this location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Me and my husband stayed at Upper Reaches last week as we wanted to visit Oxford. We decided to stay in their 4 poster bed room also used as wedding couple room. We got the room with the package with 3 course meal for £130 (only) for 2 people. I thought it can`t be that great for this price but I was wrong. Since we walked in to the hotel you could feel good atmosphere. Lots of people enjoying their drinks at the bar and outside in the lovely surrounding garden as weather was beautiful. Everybody from the staff was smiling and you could see they just happy to work there! Check in was excellent and very informal about Oxford and local area. We didnt want to waste our time and enjoy this weather so quickly dropped our bags in the room. I was so impressed about the size of our room and what came as extra and I didn`t k now about was the patio access and view on the Thames river! I thought we got the barging! evening meal was great with full of people restaurant. Lovely to meet new people. I could write a lot more about this place but to just end that was one of my best city breaks and highly recommend to visit this place. Also Oxford is amazing but expensive itself. For the price we got at Upper Reaches in Abingdon we would not afford to stay even in worst B&B in Oxford. The bus from Upper Reaches will take you in 20 min to the heart of Oxford. Book room 42 with dinner package!!! Thank you Upper Reaches for lovely weekend!

Room Tip: Room 42 is great!! Massive!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    46
    47
    31
    27
See reviews for
23
75
11
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paphos District, Cyprus
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I saw Sunday lunch advertised on the hotels webs site at £14.95 for 3 courses plus coffee.

When we arrived we were presented with the menu and it said £16.95 !!! The waitresses were unhelpful in helping sort out the price.

At lunchtime on a Sunday its very difficult to find alternative venue restaurant. So we stayed hoping to be pleasantly surprise, sadly we were disappointed.

The meal was mediocre at best and lacked taste. There guests on only 3 other tables.

The following week I phoned the hotel and asked to speak to the manager.

I explained that the hotel website said £14.95, he said it that was mistake but even at £16.95 it was still very good value!!! Well with an attitude like that, I did not progress the matter further.

By the lack of other guests in the restaurant other people are voting with their feet and so will we.

There is far better value and much better Sunday lunches available in Abingdon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnishjohnson, General Manager at The Upper Reaches Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear kathekas,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience during your visit with us.

I am disappointed to hear that you and your guests did not enjoy your Sunday Lunch with us.

Unfortunately our website does not show a prices for Sunday Lunch, as you did not stay on the phone when my colleague asked you where you saw the information I have have checked the website myself and there is no advertisement for Sunday Lunch. So I'm not sure who's website you were associating with ours.

However, I do believe that £16.95 for a 3 course meal and coffee to be a very reasonable price. The constant compliments from our other guests indicate they are very happy with the quality of the meals and the price we charge.

Thank you for coming to visit with us and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed two nigts as part of a wedding party. Walking into room 46 was like walking into a dingy dungeon. We paid the same as others with much larger rooms and tables and armchairs. Our had a dek and one desk chair. The room only had two uncleaned small windows facing into a covered courtyard. The lighting provided by a central 3 spot had one bulb missing. The bulb was changed quickly.
The food and breakfast was good. The special offer of a three course meal with tea or coffee for £15 was good value but a sting in the tail. Many guests opted for only two courses and paid about £3.50 more for less. The offer only applies if you have all three courses.
Overall it was the seeming lack of interest about our concerns on the part of the hotel management that really lets this place down.

Room Tip: Avoid room 46 choose 44, 43 or 41 all of which have space and face out onto the river, if you dont m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

I've never eaten in The Stream restaurant in the hotel before, but people from work stay there quite often. To celebrate our wedding anniversary we booked a dinner for two to see what it was like.

The 3 course menu had enough variety and options for both a vegetarian and non vegetarian (meat eater) dinner. We picked a table next to the water wheel and tucked in to some very tasty food.

The staff were very friendly and the pace of service was just right for a very rare escape out without the children.

Given the quality of the food, the price was very good with the restaurant doing 3 courses and coffee for £15 per person.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedfordshire, UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

There is a lovely feel to this place and our room was very cosy, but the general carpeting around the hotel is a little worn, the food was good - excellent value, but very limited choice and very basic - my steak was cooked to perfection if a little tough (quality of steak not cooking), but only served with fries and a tomato - no veg, onion rings, mushrooms? To be fair it was only £20 for a 3 course meal, and a wonderful wine selection, but they could improve with better quality and choice and up the price for food a little.

Staff were very friendly and the location is lovely - a little attention needed outside, some loose steps could be dangerous.

The worse bit was our bed - broken. I slept almost sideways rolling into the middle of the bed, otherwise it would have been very comfy as the pillows were lovely for a change and the room was pretty. The cleaning and presentation could be slightly better - a few fingerprints on the side table and the massive wire under the desk for a laptop could be taken away.

another tip for the hotel - leave 2 of everything in the drinks tray, we only had 1 hot choc, mint tea and biscuits. Didn't use them but all the same 2 of each would be good and some other tea selections would be nice, not everyone drinks caffeine these days.

I doubt I'd return, but it is a nice place, good value and wonderful art work around the walls. Watermill in the dining area was special.

Room Tip: not room 12 unless they've mended the bed - but it was quiet and faced the courtyard at the fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed at the Upper Reaches as a base for Oxford, a short drive to the Park and Ride and a quick bus trip into the centre of Oxford.
Stayed just before Easter during unusually cold weather. Our room was warm, clean and comfortable. The staff were very helpful and friendly making our stay very enjoyable. Breakfasts were fine. We dined there one evening and had an excellent meal at a bargain price.(further reduced for the month of March!).
The only problem was the place was virtually empty! We dined out on our second night as we did not want to be the only people in the restaurant again!. (as good as the service and meal were).
It's a brilliant location and would imagine it being far busier in the summer months.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My wife and I recently spent 4 days at this hotel over the Easter bank holiday weekend.
The surroundings were delightful. Picturesque, quiet and relaxing and yet only a 5 minute walk from the town centre.
The hotel itself is olde world in appearance with all the modern facilities that could be wished for.
It is located on a small island in a fork of the River Thames at Abingdon.
Each room has tea and coffe making facilities, a microwave oven, ironing board and steam iron together with trouser press and of course television facilities.
For those requiring IT connectivity, broadband is available in both cable and wi fi as required.
The restaurant is exquisite. ALL the meals were exceptional and I had to make comment to the staff how good I considered everything, including themselves to be.
Unfortunately our stay was overshadowed by serious family illness but in a way this brought out the best in the everything. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. NOTHING is too much trouble.
The cost of the stay was extremely reasonable, I would go as far as to say surprisingly so. We actually extended our stay by a day because of the pleasant ambience and friendly staff.
We shall be returning at a later date to enjoy a purely holiday experience at this most pleasant of establishments.
Excellent acces to nearby major towns and cities such as Oxford, Newbury, Reading etc.
Thank you all at The Upper Reaches Hotel!

Tina & Bob Rouse

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the River Thames and come complete with opeining door giving personal access to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Upper Reaches Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Upper Reaches Hotel

Address: Thames Street, Abingdon OX14 3JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Abingdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Abingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Upper Reaches Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 star Hotel in Abingdon, Oxfordshire. With 31 well-appointed rooms in both Classic and Contemporary style. Stream Bar & Restaurant serving Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Located on the banks of the River Thames, with private moorings and terrace area over looking the Thames and Patio over looking the Mill Pond. Restaurant features a water wheel, encased in floor to ceiling glass. Free on-site car parking for Hotel Guests and Restaurant Patrons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Upper Reaches Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Upper Reaches Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.